We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, food and environment”
Review of Au Plaisir Ambre

Au Plaisir Ambre
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Briancon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: welcome to Nancy et Michael's restaurant .French cuisine revisited et front house lovely and cosy discribe our restaurant .After work in france , switzerland ,england ,we have stopped to briançon for the happyness to our future custumers .Hope to see you soon in our restaurant .Nancy and Michael ,Au Plaisir Ambré .
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, food and environment”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We searched for places on a Sunday night in Briancon and found this..what a delight.food was superb, service was brilliant and the cost reasonable.
Its in the old part of Briancon and we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our meal and the experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    72
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Service and food were great, our host was very nice, making us feel very confortable. It´s a cozy ambiance and we had a wonderful dinner. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were there as a family with three grown up children. All of them enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Excellent food, fresh and very welcoming owners! Make sure you reserve before you go. It was not only good taste but great presentation and design. They pay attention to every detail. Real French delicious food. Don't miss it if you are in Briancon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edukatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymno
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We visited this perfect restaurant during our roundtrip through Italian-Swiss-French Alps.One of our days we`ve stayed in Briancon.
One local man suggested this restaurant to us and it was perfect.
Nice atmosphere,excellent food and very friendly owners.
Everything was perfect,i`ll sure visit this place again.Don`t miss it if you `ll be at Briancon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanremo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were staying in Bardonecchia - on the Italian side - and popped into Briancon on a day trip. Beautiful old town! When it came time for lunch we saw many similar places but chose Au Plaisir because it looked like a proper restaurant - white table cloths - which we always prefer. The food was local and excellent - a mountain menu done professionally. My wife and I had a lovely conversation with the couple that runs the place and found them to be very friendly and well versed in food. The chef worked for a long time in one of the big London restaurants - but he - and his wife chose Briancon for their next project because they are both from the mountains. Great decision. If you're going there, eat there. You won't be disappointed. John and Sue, Toronto, Canada.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Plaisir Ambre also viewed

Briancon, Hautes-Alpes
Briancon, Hautes-Alpes
 
Briancon, Hautes-Alpes
 

Been to Au Plaisir Ambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing