We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very pleasant proprietors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Chaussee
Ranked #1 of 11 Briancon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We found this family run hotel late at night on a car trip in France, right in the center of Briançon. Very pleasant reception and we got a good deal on one nights stay. Ok room with a strong antique alpine theme with very nice bathroom on 4th floor without elevator, only drawback was the door to the bathroom which didn´t shut properly. Closed parking facility right by the hotel. Breakfast (continental, paid separately) was plentiful and good. Very short stay this time but we would not hesitate to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakurajudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

Does not look that nice from the outside, but once you are in, this is a great hotel. Most of the rooms recently refurbished with nice wooden mountain atmosphere and all comfort. Very clean family run hotel, convenient car park.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alassalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We decided that for our stop over in Briancon, we wanted a hotel that fitted the theme of the area and also had it’s own local atmosphere, in lieu of the basic larger chain hotels (eg Ibis etc).

We chose Hotel de la Chaussee (which is surprisingly only classified as 2 star) and were certainly not disappointed. The hotel was built in 1892, is family run, situated in the lower town and displays a typical Alps / chalet theme throughout with appropriate matching décor. Due to the age of the building, there are naturally no lifts and rooms are spread over a number of floors accessible by stairs. The proprietors were also extremely friendly.

We stayed in room 10, which was on the second floor and a good size, as was the bathroom which also had a bath. The room itself was extremely clean, nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, had wifi and local French TV programs. There was also free car parking available adjoining the hotel.

The hotel also has a lovely restaurant which offers the option of a three course menu or a la carte at reasonable prices. The food is naturally typically French and was both good quality and good portion. The only drawback is that the menu is solely in French and as the owners only speak a negligible amount of English, this could perhaps present difficulties for some people. Nonetheless, we managed to quite easily get by based on basic French learnt many years ago.

The breakfast provided was a continental style comprising basic pastries, varieties of breads, jams, yoghurts etc and was more than adequate.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and would have no hesitation with strongly recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

A great hotel in the middle of town - about 5 mins from Prorel lift. Family run with excellent service. Rooms are in mountain spirit style and extremely comfortable and clean. Evening meal are very good - we had the 25 euro menu which was delicious and there was certainly plenty to eat. Good breakfast. Car park (extra) round the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyglebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strsurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous ne savons pas puisque nous n'avons vu qu'une seule chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JacTes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briancon
0.6 mi away
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
0 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 17 in Briancon
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge De La Paix
Auberge De La Paix
#4 of 17 in Briancon
77 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Ferme de l'Izoard
La Ferme de l'Izoard
#1 of 2 in Arvieux
139 reviews
8.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Choucas
L'Auberge du Choucas
#2 of 5 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Chaussee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Chaussee

Address: 4 rue Centrale, 05100 Briancon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Briancon
Price Range: $100 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Chaussee 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Chaussee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing