We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting Boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Navenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Getting Boring”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The food is getting boring, and not particularly well cooked.
Visited the Kings Head on many occasions over the years, however, they haven't changed the menu for over six years, that is not an exaggeration , it's a fact. The specials board is on offer occasionally, and that's the same. The other day I had monk fish, it was tasteless, and the inside of the batter was soggy. I've had this before there and it's been lots better, that's why I had it this time. They appear to be relying on local custom as it saves on taxis, however, now the economic climate is improving they may not be so forgiving of poor choice and cooking. Lots of locals feel similar, especially those that have stuck with them over the years. Well past a time for a change, Kings Head, Navenby, don't rest on your laurels for to much longer! To sit still in business is to fall backwards. Such a shame, used to be a fab place to go and always a good atmosphere and food, hopefully it will be again, but, unless the menu is changed I don't think it will.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lola186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    48
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as on previous visits”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Been here a few times before and always had a good meal although it is a bit pricey. Our recent dinner visit was a bit disappointing. I think their chef is a little bit "lazy" as exactly the same monkfish dish is listed as a starter AND a main course. and also the breaded torpedo prawn dish... One of the chicken main courses has exactly the same coriander and lime batter and sweet chilli sauce as the monkfish dish already mentioned and the salmon main course comes with the same sweet chilli sauce. The whitebait and topedo prawns appear again in The mains Trawlmans Catch". There were no "specials" - waitress told us they don't do them on a Saturday night. Food IS good
yet somehow I felt it wasn't up to the standard it had been over the Xmas/New year period and I think for the money they charge they could now be a bit more imaginative with the menu and cut out the repetition. Good idea is to check the menu online before booking.
Pleasant restaurant and service is good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank redheadLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We popped in late afternoon for a drink, then on seeing the very nice looking restaurant and having looked at a menu we were informed that food was being served, even though it was now four in the afternoon so we were tempted to try, very happy we were too. The food was plentiful and well cooked. The pub area is very attractive, outside it looks 'oldy worldy' and the inside matches this, not like so many pubs that have been 'modernised' and stripped of character. This is one for the return again list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food, nice Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Sunday lunch. The food was fresh, plentiful and appeared home cooked. It was well presented. The service was adequate, all our needs were meet, however most of the drinks order needed us to initiate, no real pro active service. The younger staff were warm however the nature staff were sullen, one lady in particular was not welcoming, not smiling, not approachable. We had starters and main course, totally full up so can not comment on the deserts, but they did look lovely. The price was very good for the quality if food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank extratowelsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a nice pub meal and have eaten at the Kings Head before. It was a disappointment that on this occasion it was not very good. I had vegetarian cannelloni. It was over cooked and swamped by clumps of cheese. It tasted like it looked. For what it was the meal was very overpriced. Having said that, my wife has the salmon fish cakes and they were well cooked and enjoyable. Service is always good in the Kings Head but letting the cannelloni go out of the kitchen in such poor quality was not great customer care.

Helpful?
1 Thank lymph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Coleby, Lincolnshire
Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
 
Wellingore, Lincolnshire
Navenby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing