We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Front of cottage from the main road.Extension to back overlooks hills/loch/moorland. Front of cottage with spacious porch, stunning views across the village of Leverburgh.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Spacious Master Bedroom with magnificent seaview, luxurious bed linen/towels.
Front of cottage from the main road.Extension to back overlooks hills/loch/moorland.
Front of cottage with spacious porch, stunning views across the village of Leverburgh.
The Harris hils, look out for the different  tropical colours of the sea, a marvellous view.
Magnificent view from the front of the cottage overlooking the Harbour and ferry port.
Horgabost beach- beautiful white shell beach and you dont have to fight for a space,wonderful.
Light bright spacious Hall with oak flooring
Yummy cakes on cake stand in large newly fitted well equipped modern  kitchen.
Living Room with antique and modern comfortable furniture
Back Bedroom with views of hills and moorland
Dining room which can seat five/six people adjacent to kitchen, beautiful oak furniture.
Light and bright bathroom with shower, Molton Brown toiletries for your comfort.
Front Porch with Poseur table, high stools, stunning views to enjoy coffee/ cakes.
Utility room with views out to moorland plus the picnic basket for  lunch on the beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leverburgh, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali187062
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on Harris late in the evening due to our morning ferry being cancelled and being mid-winter it was dark. When we arrived Marion and Jack were waiting for us and had the heating on. They stayed to show us how to operate everything in the cottage. This cottage was spotless, warm and very comfortable and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in away from home. The cottage has everything you could possibly need and more for your stay - it seems everything had been thought of. We were left a welcome gift of fresh Strawberries, Prosecco and some biscuits. The island is beautiful and there are some world famous beaches on your doorstep. When the heating had a little blip Marion and Jack were straight on it and had a back up plan of electric heaters. Wonderful cottage and hosts - one of the best places we have ever stayed - would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2018
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Your kind comments were much appreciated. We were delighted to hear that you found the facilities in the cottage to be excellent and had everything that you needed. Its certainly true that the scenery and location is wonderful, and the island is indeed beautiful. It was lovely to meet you and we hope you will be able to come back to the Isle of Harris and Berneray Cottage quite soon. Many thanks and all the very best to you both.
Marion & Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meredithm...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect host & hostess with a perfect cottage!”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for clean, warm & dry and we got so much more!
Marion & Jack are the perfect host & hostess. Their cottage is perfect, warm, dry with plenty of space.They laid on the extra touches of prosecco, strawberries and local produce for our arrival. Marion & Jack happily greeted us although they had to wait over an hour as our ferry was late! From the ideal location we visited the magnificent beaches at Luskentyre, Horgabost & Rosamol. Macleod's stone, the 16th century chapels by Caiphaval and Rodel, the golden eagle observatory near Huisinish, Scalpay & last but by no means least(!) the distillery and Harris Tweed shop & exhibition. Of course we made purchases at both! Thank you Marion & Jack for your hospitality and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Meredith & Siân xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your excellent review, we really appreciate your kind comments.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage had everything you needed. Berneray Cottage is indeed well located for exploring all the sights around the island and glad you had such a good time. Delighted to hear that you both hope to return to Berneray Cottage sometime soon. We would be pleased to welcome you back at any time. With best wishes to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgclick
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage, perfect facilities, perfect location”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fantastic week at Berneray Cottage at the end of Sep 2017. On arrival, we were met by the owners, Marion & Jack and they gave us a quick tour of their high quality cottage, showed us how all the included technology worked and advised on things like where would be good to eat out, they even gave us a welcome gift which was much appreciated.
We highly recommend both this highly specified cottage and the beautiful area of South Harris. Everyone you meet is so open, friendly and content with their world. The scenery and the beaches are also amazing.
Will I be back? Yes! Would I recommend to family and friends, definitely. Thank you Marion & Jack

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you very much for a truly first class review and for recommending Berneray Cottage to your family and friends. We really appreciate your kind comments and glad that you enjoyed all the facilities at the cottage.
Its good to hear that you had a perfect stay and found South Harris to be beautiful with warm friendly people. Delighted to hear that you are coming back and we look forward to meeting you again and welcoming you all to Berneray Cottage. All the best, Marion & Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi S
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best!”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Berneray Cottage is five star accommodation. We were greeted by owners Marion and Jack who showed us through the cottage and explained all appliances and furnishings. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard with luxury bedding and really comfortable beds. We were treated to goodies and wine upon arrival. The location is perfect...fabulous views, off street parking, lovely peace and quiet, close to grocery store, ferry to North Uist and easy drive to Tarbert. This is by far the best self-catering cottage I have ever stayed in and I recommend it without hesitation. You won't be disappointed at Berneray Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and blown away by your lovely comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive glowing review and for your recommendation of Berneray Cottage. Its great to hear that you had a perfect stay and found the cottage to have everything you needed and more.
We would be delighted to welcome you both back to Berneray Cottage some time soon.
With best wishes Marion & Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellant accommodation”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely hosts and cottage had everything you could ask for and more.
Great destination to explore the Hebrides.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage had everything you needed and more.
Berneray Cottage is well located for exploring the islands of Uist, Lewis and Harris including St Kilda.
I hope we shall be able to welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Marion& Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjmac...
Stanley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Every bit as good as last year”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Berneray cottage is a very special place. It was spotlessly clean on our arrival with lots of unexpected little treats to welcome us. The cottage is hugely well equipped from tumble drier, cooking equipment to picnic baskets and walking sticks. The views, particularly from the back, are superb and the walk to the remarkably large supermarket is spectacular. We so enjoyed it last year that we booked again for this year and we're delighted we did. We will be back again next year for our annual dose of Harris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
It was so nice to meet you both again and to welcome you back to Berneray Cottage.
Thank you very much for your excellent review, we really appreciated your kind comments. Its great to hear that again you had a perfect stay and that you had every thing you needed in the cottage.
Thank you for leaving the cottage in such an immaculate condition.
We look forward to meeting you both again next year and welcoming you back to Berneray Cottage.
In the meantime all the very best.
Marion & Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K
1 review
“Very comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Berneray Cottage sits at the edge of Leverburgh with good views to the small harbour and across to North Uist. It is very well equipped and sleeps four in two double beds. There is a strong Wi-Fi signal and ample off road parking. The road which passes the cottage is very quiet especially in the evenings. A good base to explore the beautiful beaches and hills of Harris from and handy for the hour long ferry across to Berneray Uist and Benbecula.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your kind comments. It is good to hear that you had a perfect holiday at Berneray Cotttage and enjoyed the facilities along with finding the cottage being well located for exploring Harris and the neighbouring islands of North and South Uist.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Berneray Cottage again some time soon.
Many thanks,
Best wishes
Marion & Jack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing