We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorrel Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochmaddy Hotel(North Uist)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orasay Inn(Lochcarnan)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Stornoway)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
48
23
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
23
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and bother guestsbreakfast was deliciousst kildaporridgepacked lunchfresh fruitattic roomone night staybreakfast roomthoroughly enjoyed our stayouter hebridespaulatvferrycottagehostess
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 76 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed just one night in early Dec 2011. The local hotels etc had shut for the season so the owner made our dinner - 3 courses of the standard you'd expect somewhere really quite expensive.
The bed was comfy and the atmosphere very relaxed and cosy. The tea and coffee facilities were shared which was fine, and the owner provided herbal and fruit teas as well as the usual tea.
we would definitely stay again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at Sorrel Cottage for two days during our Scotland trip. When we arrived we met the owener, a very kind women, who showed us the room and offered to book a table in the restaurant of the town (The Anchorage). Furthermore she called the organizer of the boat trip, that we have booked for the following day, in order to ask some informations about the departure time. The next day she prepared a good and tasty breakfast earlier than usual to permit us to go on the peer on time; she also prepared a pocket lunch for the boat trip.

The B&B is simple but confortable: our room was big, in particulary the bathroom was wide and clean. The price is good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iqipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A great place to stay, we had the twin room in the attic which was beautifully laid out with maximum use of space. Also had access to a lovely lounge and kitchen. Breakfast was delicious.. Overall 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyingfisher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed a night at Sorrell Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed its warmth and character. Our two children had the twin room under the attic and they were very sad to leave it - the rooms were nicely appointed with an eclectic mix of old and new furniture and fittings. The bathrooms were modern and spotless, though small, and the beds were very comfortable. The lounge area for guests was well appointed with books about the local area, and other volumes of interest for travellers to the Western Isles. Outside was a small but delightful garden. Our host kindly offered us dinner (which we hadn't pre-arranged) - we were greatful for this as travelling on bikes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

People who run the place really friendly. We arrived on a Sunday when nothing was open and nowhere to eat. After a little persuasion (begging) Paula and daughter made fantastic lunch, follwed a couple of hours later by restaurant standard 3 course evening meal. Breakfast good too. All good value for money and really great service. Cottage is nice too - we had double and two twin rooms - all en suite - and 5 of us stayed. We had comfortable lounge area all to ourselves too. Finished off by an early breakfast (third meal in 18 hours) and off cycling. Couldnt have been better.

Room Tip: All rooms good. Tip - dont share with a snorer.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david_dunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews