We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things to remember for this hotel...”
Review of Hosteria La Quinta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alausi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteria La Quinta
Ranked #1 of 9 Alausi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A bit difficult getting information on the internet...sent e-mail requesting whether they take credit cards, no response. My wife called speaking in perfect Spanish asking about cards and the owners wife said, don't worry...arrived and found out they don't take cards, had to pay cash. Asked about Wifi, told no problem, but to ensure excellent service, we were given the most expensive room, next to the office. Great room but WiFi didn't work. We're travel writers and this was not what we expected. Owner did allow us to use his office PC and we were told MAC's don't work with his system. Cost of room was $ 73.20 USD, which included a 10% service charge and 12% IVA. Not quite sure of the service charge. I would make sure anyone interested in staying here gets the big picture and is very specific with their questions. They have a nice black lab (dog), but badly in need of a bath.

Room Tip: No comment.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yndianamontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria La Quinta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were dropped off at the top of a walkway, a very steep walkway. We were on a bus on the panamerican highway. They did not go into Alausi. When the bus drove off we were not sure what to think. A man called out and told us where to go. We laughed and walked down into this beautiful little town. I had read trip advisor and decided to check out the La Quinta Hosteria. After we found a cab and made it there we fell right in to the charm of the owner, his black Lab and also his attentive wife. Our room was not large but it was so very clean as was the entire grounds and common areas. The shower was strong and we had a few poor ones just previous to this hotel. Wifi was the best we had seen. The view of the town was terrific. My wife was not feeling good so the owners wife came out to the kitchen and made her some hot tea with honey. Above and beyond the call of duty. Although she spoke no English the friendliness and warmth were so very nice that language was not a barrier. We went on the train ride in the morning and left town after lunch but we later felt we should have spent another night. I also had my first ever straight razor shave in Alausi. It really seemed like we traveled back 100 years in a time machine to a time when the world was a much nicer place! The hotel made a nice breakfast for us with natural fruit juices that are so very special in Ecuador.
We will always remember this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in this very beautifully restored old hacienda overlooking Alausí. The rooms are lovely and stylish with very few decorations apart from the old woodwork and the antique furniture. Great large bathroom with tub. You can sit outside your room in the evening and look at the town (with a blanket, yes, but what a lovely experience). This is great when you travel with a small child. Also, this is a place where they are attentive to details. It is one of the few hotels I have visited, where there were three towels when we arrived instead of the normal two for the adults. Such things are really nice.
You can have breakfast when it suits you - also at 7, if you are going on the morning train, and everything is done to make you happy.
My main reason for wanting to go back is, though, that the hotel is so beautiful.
Alusí itself is also worth a couple of nights, even though most people only stay for one - a nice little town, charmingly situated and with fine cobble stone streets. Not much happening, but that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I really wanted to take the Devil's Nose Train ride, and this little hosteria was recommended for both location and comfort. It is a two block walk beside the rail tracks to the train station, as well as a few shops. Another two blocks gets you to some decent restaurants. Couldn't ask for a better location. The room I had was comfortable, clean and charming. The owners were attentive to my needs and provided assistance with travle arrangements the next day. Perhaps the most outstanding feature was the spectacular view of this little city and its valley. Breakfast was great in a very cosy dining area that overlooked the wonderful gardens. Yes, it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jam825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I don't agree at all with the previous review. It is not the cheapest hosteria but you pay for quality (unlike many other places I've been to). The location is beautiful & most rooms have spectacular views of the valley below. It is very quiet & relaxing, good to get your energy back. The staff is extremely friendly. My partner got ill during our stay there & the staff kept preparing teas & chamomile for her. As we had to leave the next day & get a bus back to Riobamba, the staff offered to take us there by car, so our journey would be easier. I tried to give them a tip but they wouldn't take it. The bathroom has a tub, which is good if you want to chill out & have a hot bath, & breakfast is quite good. If you want peace, comfort & friendly staff, this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Perfect for a romantic retreat for couples
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were pretty excited about our stay in Alausi at the Hosteria La Quinta. But for $87/night for 2 adults and 1 child we were very disappointed. The Hosteria has it's charm and character of an old Hacienda, but in this case it meant none of the doors closed properly in our room. It was a major battle to close the door into our room and forget about closing the bathroom door. It's cold in Alausi and not having any heat in the room and the best we could get was warm water in the shower it meant spending time huddled in your bed to stay warm. The location is quiet which is a plus but far too much else was missing in this high priced accomodation. The breakfast that is provided was reasonable however not enough to justify the price and the shortage of essential services. We had planned to stay 2 nights here, but left after the first night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beach-bum-bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Jomonaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alausi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noris
Hotel Noris
#1 of 1 in Alausi
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chunchi Imperial
Hotel Chunchi Imperial
#1 of 1 in Chunchi
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 9 in Alausi
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Gampala
Hostel Gampala
#7 of 9 in Alausi
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria La Eterna Primavera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Quinta

Address: Calle Eloy Alfaro 121, Alausi 060250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Alausi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alausi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing