We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere else like this”
Review of Dikencik Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dikencik Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nowhere else like this”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I can understand why so many reviews of Dikancik Cottages wax so lyrical- this is an amazing place that brings out the poet in you. We have had the fortune to visit many places in the world, but we have never stayed at any place quite like this, we would give 10 stars if we could.
In the first place, the setting itself is magical- its a stone cottage that seems to blend into the countryside, surrounded by whispering pine forests and guarded by serene mountains
looking down on you. We went for long walks in the surrounding forests, breathing in pine- scented mountain air and hunting for wild mushrooms with Ayse and Cengis ( pronounced ghenghis - descendant of the mongul conqueror!). And it's amazing to walk down the road past the remains of ancient Lycian farmhouses and cisterns, or drive down to town and have Cengis casually point out the remains of roman roads or ancient 3000 year tombs in the hills above fethiye.
This place is not for people who are looking for a checklist of places to visit or for nearby shops and restaurants - part of the charm lies in its seclusion! But Ayse and Cengis were happy to hop into their car and give us lifts into the nearby village or back when we took the local bus, or even to drive us into Fethiye town.
But what really sets the place apart is the warmth of our hosts, who treated us like personal friends and honored guests. Whether it was cooking sumptuous breakfasts and dinners, or whipping up some soup because she thought the children looked cold, Ayse looked after us like a favourite aunt, and her food is extra yummy because most of it comes straight from her garden or from the local village, and because of the love and artistry she puts into it.
Staying here we felt like it was in another world far removed from the hubris of everyday life, we can only hope that we would have a chance to come by again one day.
NB- although it was early December when we visited, the cottage was warm and the children enjoyed helping to add logs to the wood fire. The weather around fethiye is still reasonably warm, around 15-20 degrees.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank thun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse-Cengiz G, Owner at Dikencik Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It was a big pleasure to host your family. With your love of nature , the nature in this area become more beautiful more attractive... We are really very happy to share our nature with you. We already missed you and your children . Thanks for your kind words,comments; we have the same feelings for your family----you are now our friends. When children likes the food we served we get the positive energy to serve what they like and try to do our best to make them happy. Especially we are very happy when hearing Tracey eat the vegetables we prepared and Timothy enjoyed the Turkish food we prepared. We'll be very happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
42
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place exceeded our expectations, and they were pretty high to begin with. Everything was of a very high standard. We arrived very late in the season, so were lucky to have the whole six-bedroom cottage to ourselves. (Ayse and Cengis live in the main house where breakfast is served.) We had just spent 4 nights at Hoyran Wedre, so we thought we had well and truly trained our stomachs for eating large and delicious meals. We really did our best but I think Ayse was disappointed in our capacity, especially at breakfast when mezze plates seemed to cover the table. There is no point eating dinner anywhere else in the area (and by the area I mean south-west Turkey) if you have the option to eat here - the variety was impressive and everything was very fresh and delicious. And why would you stay in Fethiye instead of up in the beautiful hills at Dikencik? It was an easy drive down to Oludeniz for a swim, but then you could return to the calm of the cottage in the evening. Thanks for making our holiday so relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonbase44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse-Cengiz G, Owner at Dikencik Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay in Dikencik. Hearing you loved the food encourage us to make more local dishes.We want our guest to taste different types of local foods.We hope to see you in more hot days so we can have the oppurtinity to show you the diiffrent destinations and tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

There are times in life when you should simply suspend expectations and just wallow in the joy of beautiful scenery, exquisite hospitality, sensational local food, magnificence companionship from the hosts and fellow guests, bask in an experience quite different from others and marvel that you have the time to enjoy it all. From the beautifully decorated house to the welcome pool, far from the heat and hurly burly of the coast, this is a place to enjoy at leisure. But wait, there's more; Ayce and Ghenghis' food was superbly crafted fresh from the garden, tailored to personal taste and desires, exquisitely presented and a true highlight of a wonderful stay. Support from friendly staff matched the mood and quality of this place. Stay at home or easy travel to multiple sites and activities within an easy drive. A very, very special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bukbuk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse-Cengiz G, Owner at Dikencik Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Apart from your kind words as comment for Dikencik we are really happy to share your comments on travelling the world.Thanks for sharing ideas and travelling tips.If we can have a chance to make a trip we'll always remember your tips. Also thanks for the photos from the food we served this will encourage us ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden CH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ayse & Cengis are hosts as in Turkey are not many, lovingly with direct slope to the nature and the animals they run a pension of extra classe.
Dikencik is an beautiful area in Üzümlü down 10 km north of fethiye in the middle of a wooden area where grapes and mushrooms are stilll picked by hand
It is an incredible mountain view with a turkish breakfast in a wonderful natural world full of harmony with music from the Otoman Empire
Also you can talk to the owner about different things and if they do not know to procced, they get a book where you can read all about
I think the have managed to escape the ordinary world and to create a small paradise and now they share it with the guests who come to dikencik and this was the case with us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWIBadenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We passed three fantastic nights in Dikencik cottages, enjoying the mountain scenery, the peaceful surroundings and the great food. Dikencik is about 30 minutes or so from Fethiye, but feels like it is in a totally different world. Its a wonderful place for people who want to relax and perhaps a escape a bit from the mass tourism which typifies much of the nearby coastline. It was also pleasantly cool in the heat of August.

The accomodation was top notch, with clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, whilst the pool has a superb view. Next to the main house there is a terrace where you can watch the sunset over the mountains while enjoying an efes or a glass of wine.

The best thing about Dikencik is however the hosts, Ayse and Cengiz. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable, organizing trips and excurisions for us in the nearby hills, cooking up some really wonderful food and introducing us to friends who passed by.

All in all Dikencik was one of the highlights of our holiday, and I can't recommend it enough if you are planning a holiday in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericamurphy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Dikencik is a place you will never forget. Ayse and Cengiz are the perfect hosts and will make sure you are comfortable and well fed with the most beautiful and delicious Turkish food (most of which is grown on the property). The guest house is spacious and decorated with many traditional Turkish textiles (all with their own story- be sure to ask!). There is plenty of comfortable space all over the property to relax, read a book or just stare off at the spectacular landscape! The pool is delightful and the perfect place to cool off on the hot Turkish summer days. There is also a platform with large pillows and a couch to fall asleep on while reading a book :) Ayse is an amazing cook and will WOW you every day with her extensive and delicious breakfasts. Make sure to stay for dinner too and you will be constantly amazed with the beautiful and traditional Turkish foods she lovingly prepares. Dikencik is a special place not to be missed if you are in this area of Turkey. And it's a great spot to be based from to enjoy the madness of Fethiye (and then escape at the end of the day)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse-Cengiz G, Owner at Dikencik Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dikencik is becoming more and more special with the people like you. We really appreciate your contributions. The food we are serving is becoming glocal with the support of our visitors like you teaching us their special recipes. Your ''15 spoons'' cake is now in our kitchen...Waiting for you for further contributions....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

from the sleepy town of Yesiluzumlu it is a scenic drive to the mountainlodge where we got rewarded with an splendid view and very warm and friendly welcome.
The lodge is fantastic with lots of privacy. Spacious and tastefully decorated with authentic turkish craftmentship and modern facilities. Beautifull dastar fabrics, colourfull kelims.
You have everything at hand to prepare the food yourself. You can even pick the fruits and vegatables that grow in the garden but... why would you. Ayse and gencik cook he most fantastic turkish dishes. We have sampled so many diferent mezzes and beautifull main courses, not to mention the GRAND breakfast. what a feast for the taste buds whilst overlooking the mountains. Ayse took special care for the wishes of our kids.
Ayse and gencik will infuse your with their love for their land, the village, locals, orchids, mushrooms, food and friends. A peacefull family style setting where soon you will feel part of the family. we went with our 2 kids and had a great time but If you are looking for a quite place to unwind this is definitely the place to be. Small scale, great eye for your needs. Located in a lush garden within a peacefull mountain setting. do visit Cadiandra and spend some time in the village. Join the old men on the terras under the big tree, watch the old ladies weave daster and marvel the local architecture. We will be back!

Room Tip: we rented the whole cottage with the four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shirleyruesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayse-Cengiz G, Owner at Dikencik Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
With Ruesen family creative ideas regenerate in Dikencik....They love nature and animals, and they integrate with nature. We really appreciate the colored turtles from stones and a home for the ants created by Jill which highly get into our Landart idea...We would like to be with them again for new projects using the materials in our land.

Thank you Russen family for your contributions. We will be very happy to see you in Dikencik again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yesiluzumlu
11.6 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
785 reviews
12.8 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#9 of 102 in Fethiye
3,256 reviews
11.2 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#12 of 102 in Fethiye
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Lissiya Hotel
Lissiya Hotel
#6 of 130 in Fethiye
144 reviews
12.7 mi away
Yonca Lodge
Yonca Lodge
#7 of 130 in Fethiye
152 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#5 of 130 in Fethiye
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikencik Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikencik Cottages

Property: Dikencik Cottages
Address: Kahramanlar mahallesi,Dikencik mevkii,361 sokak,No:14,Yesiluzumlu | Fethiye,Muğla, Yesiluzumlu, Fethiye 48350, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye > Yesiluzumlu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yesiluzumlu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dikencik Cottages – a sylvan retreat in the mountains of Fethiye; nestled in tranquil forest, some 24 km outside Fethiye, 4 km above the quiet center of Yeşilüzümlü, the unspoiled tranquility of the area is both awesome and invigorating, yet at the same time relaxing. Dikencik is a perfect retreat from the bustle of city life, close to the city, yet a world away. You will feel yourself relaxing as you drive through woods to the tranquil village of Yesiluzumlu. For anyone who really wants to get away from everything associated with the mass tourism resorts on the Mediterranean coasts of Turkey, Dikencik Cottages, hidden away in the Fethiye mountain forests really fits the bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dikencik Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing