We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is wrong with you people??!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Blackpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What is wrong with you people??!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

I read the reviews on here the day before I visited this hotel on business for one night and was very apprehensive after all I'd read. There was no need to worry! The hotel is very well situated, the staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was really nice. I agree that some of the decor and room fittings are a bit tired and in need of refurb but it's an old building. If you want a modern purpose-built hotel this is not for you but it' has character and is convenient and fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obecalp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    218
    157
    119
    114
See reviews for
175
165
37
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I don’t get it. Budget operators such as Travel Inn and Travellodge cover the market well, the small hotels do their thing, and cater for the needs of their customers, the large corporate hotels look after the business market, so where does Corus Solihull fit in?
It doesn’t, it is just awful. Awful. Awful. No kidding, just avoid at all costs.
Dont let first impressions, or web photos, fool you. This hotel is down in the dumps, dirty, and just downright not well looked after. Check in was relatively painless, but then that where it ends. My first room was extremely small with a single bed in it. Do hotels still have single beds for customers? I didn’t think so, but I found one! The strange thing that hit me most, wasn’t the bed, it was the old tv, on a box, so low, that it could not be viewed from the bed. Not sure what anyone was thinking about when they put that together. Straight back down to reception and not a grumble or word of defence from the receptionist, she allocated another room straight away.
This room was huge in comparison, with a double bed and a bunk bed. Ironic giving the first allocation, maybe the receptionist had a sense of humour? The decor is straight out of the 80’s, and you notice as you meander to your room, there has been no painting down of public areas since then either. Scuff marks on doors is the norm.
The bathroom, see pics, was unbelievable and just not acceptable anymore. How can a shower head like that be legal? Do they not get checked for bacteria growth as a matter of course? Split wood, horrible decor, plastic seats, it is quite possibly the worst bathroom I have been in.
I went back down to get something to eat, and noticed they had a lively looking bar called Morrisseys that served food and also played host to various karoeke and tribute events at various points during the year. It was one of these places that felt like a nightclub, and therefore all wrong during the day. I would hate to see it with all the lights on, as you just know it is filthy, and a good bit of light would reveal all. Just turn a round and get out of there as quickly as possible.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant, and was just as expected. Awful. Cheap seats, dirty cutlery, the knife had been used by someone to butter their toast, and everything was as cheap as possible, jam portions, butter portions etc. No attempt to cover up the fact that everything is sourced as cheaply as possible. I didn’t eat any of the hot stuff, as you know it will be cheap, but i noticed that if you wanted it, you had to eat off small side plates. Obviously an attempt to limit how much you take when you visit the buffet. The staff looked as interested as and it becomes a smash and raid job, as you want to leave asap. No one could enjoy this experience.

As a business traveller, I was relying on some sort of Wifi access which was promised, however it was broken when I was staying.

When I was staying, there was a busload of retired guests arriving. This may be the market that can get something out of their stay at this hotel. It may tick some of the boxes for those on a bus tour of the area etc but I am not sure if even the socks and sandals brigade will be too happy at their drivers choice of stop? Interested to know their views. However, during my meeting the next day, we had a presentation from someone about pensions and my god did it make me think. If i don’t put enough away, i might end up on bus tours visiting hotels like the Corus Solihull.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkgoodfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shirley hotels

Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We held a small but very successful company funciton in the Crown Suite on Friday 16th April which included drinks and food.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
We negotiated a special package to include rooms & breakfast.
The karaoke evening in Morrissey's bar after the drinks/food was very successful and a fun way to finish the evening. The last of the party left at 2am.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OfficeManager409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Was concerned about staying at this hotel after reading all these negative comments. What aload of nonsense, room was clean, food good, staff very friendly, couldn't do enough for us. We used the jacuzzi, steam room and pool, all were working and enjoyable.Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyshopperSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

there is very little positive feedback i can give after a 5 day stay. we tried to move after the first nights stay, however due to other hotels within a 30 mile radius being full we suffered for the following 4 days!
the menu offered bears no resemblence to what is advertised on-line. the food was edible, very liitle choice however and poor service, at times being forced to serve yourself!
rooms were dated with poor ventilation, even with radiator turned off and window open, rooms like a sauna. Room ill furnished - no drawers in some rooms.
staff generally disinterested and not interested in needs of the customer.
hot water in taps only, hence cold showers only. GO THERE AT YOUR PERIL!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andym2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

I am writing this and I haven't even left the hotel! This is the most shocking hotel I have ever stayed in. We have had go stay here for business and it was as though the staff were surprised to have guests staying! The service is terrible, most items have been off the menu, the bar that the hotel is attached to is horrible and if you stay here on a Friday night there is music flooding through the hotel until two in the morning, lovely! Some of the staff are helpful but on the most part they are rude and don't seem to realise people are paying for this privelege! I don't think I can say it clearer than do not under any circumstance stay in this hotel! The odd person may have a good experience but don't risk it, there are far better hotels out there.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Having booked myself and three colleagues into the hotel for three nights and expecting that a Corus hotel would be nice, I was discusted in more ways then one.
First off do not use their postcode to get there as it takes you a few miles up the road. Having not been able to find the hotel I phoned them for directions. The man who I was speaking to then sent me the wrong way up the road for over 3 miles before I then asked to speak to someone who knows the area. She finally guided me in.
The room I had was big but that is where the good points end. There were numerous stains on the carpet, a window that may as well not be there and towels and bedding with holes in them! After a long hard day working at an exhibition at the NEC and after having a nice meal at a local restayrant, I was annoyed to discover I was in a room above the bar and told that the music (whhich was stupidly loud for a hotel) was not stopping until 2am. I got less than 5 hours sleep before having to get up for the same long hard day again. It doesn't get better. For the next too mornings there was no hot water. The facilities that was a deciding factor in me booking this hotel were not great. The jucuzzi was out of order, and the sauna was luke walm. The breakfast wasn't much better. Food ok if you could get it. No tables clean when I had got my food so I had to go and ask someone to clear dirty plates so I could eat. Ran out of juices and no one replaces them until a guest gets so fed up they ask. They don't care, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelguest55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing