We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years day breakfast ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Leed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Years day breakfast ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We went down for breakfast at 1030am and it was a joke there was no hot food on the buffet the staff was doing there best to help but who ever was cooking the food needs a right kick up the back side apart from the breakfast the hotel was really nice and service staff really good I would come back but next time I won't bother booking breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Sales Manager - Midlands Cluster at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with the breakfast at the Hotel, we have recently made some changes to our Kitchen team.
I am pleased to hear that the service you received from our staff was friendly, we do pride ourselves on always providing a friendly and professional service to all guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future and hope you will be able to enjoy a breakfast cooked by our new Kitchen team.
Best Wishes
Amy Curtis
Sales Manager - Midlands Cluster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    218
    157
    119
    114
See reviews for
175
165
37
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visit every year, leaving with no complaints at all, however this year was absolutely diabolical. The choice of menu was terrible, the vegetables were undercooked, lack of presentation. The atmosphere of the night was lovely, I cannot fault that. The staff New Years eve were friendly, lovely company to share our night with.

In our room, one light bulb did not work. I have no further comments regarding the room, other than the new refurbishment is a major improvement and is much more appealing now.

Now, where do I start with breakfast? We arrived for breakfast at 10.30. (Breakfast is served till 11) Myself and the rest of the party had to clear the tables ourselves, ask the staff to clean our table, then wait around 15-20 minutes to receive tea and coffee once we requested it.
It was not a happy atmosphere attending breakfast. There was no food at all to eat. A member of staff was rude, did not seem to care. My friend was talking to him, mid conversation, he walked off with a filthy look on his face! No customer service skills whatsoever.


We will no longer be attending any of the events.

Room Tip: Choose and executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeyB_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shirley hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from a frank Sinatra night but the worse tribute I've ever seen I've seen better in my local but the difference is we paid nearly 100 quid each inc accommodation . Good job we are not Sinatra fans he only sang 2 or 3 of his songs .the dj missed the Big Ben countdowns as well it was ludicrous.
The prices in the bar were very expensive we actually popped to a nearby bar in the afternoon and a very upmarket bar at that and the drinks that cost 12 pound a round cost over 16 in the hotel bar.

Food was good and room was ok no complaints there but the hotel was extremely hot and then on to breakfast .... Well there wasn't any just a great big que waiting for food that wasn't arriving I've never seen so many people complaining to no avail so we went to mcdonalds on the way home .we won't be going to anymore party nights here first and last time.absolute shambolic management .

Room Tip: Long walk to rooms ask for one neR reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0vw0lves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came on a Groupon deal which was a spa day with treatments and I had paid £5 per person on top for use of the facilities. Upon arrival, there was no one to greet us and we were informed by reception that we could not use the pool because swimming lessons were being held. There were 3 hard seats and a table in a cold, draughty area by the treatment rooms and the staff did not know if I could get a drink or not as they stated they were a franchise and not part of the hotel. I went to reception and was then sent to the breakfast area where I had to wait for a drink. The staff and the service were adequate but I did not feel welcomed. The toilets were not clean and it did not feel in any way a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My friend and I have just visited this hotel for a Christmas Lunch 12.30pm on the 18th December.2013.

The meal was a three course meal and we enjoyed a complimentary coffee. The
food was delicious and plentiful. For our main course we chose the salmon and it was cooked to perfection. The starter and the dessert were equally delicious. We weren't rushed and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it to anyone. We were really pleased and extremely good value. The restaurant was was very pleasing. Our waitress Clair S was equally obliging and a lovely lady. We shall certainly come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Myself, my bestfriend and her mum and dad stayed last weekend, 14th and 15th December, with a coach party from National Holidays. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was lovely, clean, large and relaxing. We had a lovely xmas dinner in the evening with entertainment provided. We could not fault anything. The food was plentiful, hot and very tasty. The bedrooms were ample size, clean and tidy. The staff were very polite, helpful and plentiful, not having to wait at either bar. We would definately recommend this hotel, who coped very well with a large coach party. Well done to both staff and Manager.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah0412254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I was look for a hotel to stay at when I came up from bath to visit family that live in solihull and I saw the regency hotel. We had a table for 5 the food was very good and the male wait was very good. Well so were all the staff. I will look forward to the next stay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grahem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing