We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My nephews Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed with my partner in the cottage , Large bed ,Lounge, Lovely bathroom very comfortable
not disturbed by noise , Staff pleasant and friendly , Breakfast everything catered for all freshly cooked to order , Would stay again just for the restful experience ,very relaxing ,May be some would say it was a bit expensive ,but you pay for what you get ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us so favourably. It is lovely to hear your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon for your relaxing escape!

Warmest regards,
Nicola
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 581 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have recently got married at the ghyll manor and myself and my husband were so happy and overwhelmed with every aspect of our day. Even starting from the beggining when we booked our wedding date with nicola cribb she was brilliant and gave us so much infomation. We has the exclusive package which is well worth the money as the hotel feels like yours for the day. The build up to our wedding ran so smoothly aswell and all our requirements were exceeded. On our wedding day everything went perfect, the master of ceromonies was fantastic and helped the day run to plan. The honeymoon suite in the main house was beautiful and all our guests said how lovely there rooms were as well. The food was so nice and our lamb cooked pefectly, we had lots of feedback on the food. The grounds are stunning and our photographer got some great pictures. I would definatley recommend the ghyll manor to anyone that is getting married or just wants a romantic night away. Thanks to all the staff at the ghyll manor you were brilliant and helped make our day so special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenpink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

What a lovely review! Thank you ever so much for your kind words. I am sorry that I was unable to see you on the day of your wedding, but I hope that Andrew and our team were able to look after you all on your special day. The team and I are thrilled we had the opportunity to play just a small part in your big day. To receive praise for our helpfulness and friendliness means so very much to each team member. It would be lovely to see you again soon for a romantic escape to relive your wonderful memories!

All the very best for the future,
Nicola and all at Ghyll Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have just come back from a nights stay at Ghyll Manor celebrating our wedding aniv where we stayed in the Rose room. The hotel and staff are fantastic but my one and only fault with the room was it is above the kitchen where the staff clashed around until after midnight , then we were woken up at 7 a.m. on a Sunday morning by loud talking, singing and more crashing around. The kitchen staff also need to watch there language as this could be heard both out side in the courtyard and in our room, which let the place down listening to the F word on more than one occasion. Other than that the Staff were very attentive and charming. Its a great hotel fantastic food and grounds.

Room Tip: Avoid room above the kitchen ! Rose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the Hotel, food, and service delivered by our team. We endeavour to offer our undivided attention to all of our guests. The situation with the staff member that you have described is absolutely not indicative of our usual respectable standards, and please rest assured that as a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a mid-week break. Upgraded to a superior room in the hope of getting a four poster bed. Bit disappointed not to get one. Instead we got a cottage which had its own sitting room and an outside seating area. DVD player, iPod docking station ... Excellent!! However, location of the room wasn't great as it was near the conference room so had plenty of guests walking past, including women in heels :( Hotel staff also wheeled trolleys on the cobbled path past the bedroom window quite early in the morning. Breakfast and evening meal was excellent and the staff in the restaurant were really helpful, friendly and polite. Nice pubs in the village and post office with cold soft drinks and snacks. Great break away in a great hotel. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ghyll Manor Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Regarding your notes about the room, we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff – it will be lovely for you to experience one of our 4Poster rooms on your next visit for that extra special touch!

Best wishes,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A long weekend was spent at this fabulous hotel. We stayed in a superior room which was superb. We dined in the restaurant on two evenings and the food was outstanding along with the accompanying wine. (The additional evening was spent in one of the local pubs, The Star, where the food was equally as good). All the staff were attentive, polite and knowledgeable.
The hotel is close to the Gatwick flight path and you do hear the planes but they are no more intrusive than the charming bells of the local church and it certainly did not spoil our break.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your delightful review and awarding us 5 stars! I am so pleased that the staff were attentive and the food outstanding.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nicola
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently held a company event/BBQ at Ghyll Manor and the entire day was a complete success. Having enjoyed a few nights stay at the hotel before I new the setting would be perfect as the hotel grounds are stunning.

The staff were extremely helpful and the service was excellent, they helped to make running an event stress free which meant that I was also able to really enjoy myself and relax too.

We'll be back next year for round 2!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank -BEES-Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you kindly for sharing your comments with the trip advisor community. A fantastic corporate event, and are thoroughly delighted you have highlighted the service and staff, together with our rooms and grounds as we continue to strive on our path to achieve excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you all again for round 2!

Kindest Regards,
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a wonderful and charming place!

The room was not overly huge however it was well equipped. Fabulous bed and lovely pillows. All details are fully thought of - wine glasses, bottle opener, great coffee and biscuits...

Evening meal was good, wine list extensive. Cannot fault their serving staff as they were exceptionally professional.

The view from my room was outstanding! Fabulous countryside.

The only things that I did not particularly like were... Long walk from car park to hotel entrance and a paper-thin walls with doors that have gaps under them...basically you will hear everyone in the corridor and everyone will hear you in your room! Limited privacy and sound insulation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly referencing the service staff and location. However, I am sorry you were let down on one or two occasions. When you are planning your next stay, please do contact us directly at reservations@ghyllmanor.co.uk so that we can accommodation your room requirements as best we can. Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us.

Best wishes,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,671 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
22.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 10 in Worthing
423 reviews
22.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range: $117 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant is a Rosette award winning, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing