We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate gastro pub with character”

The Plough & Attic Rooms
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A lovely character pub, complete with authentic and potentially bruise inducing low beams, set in a picturesque village in delightful countryside.

Atmosphere is informal and relaxed in a small dining room, food was some of the best I have ever enjoyed in a pub. Plentiful and top quality without breaking the bank.

Service pleasant and unobtrusive

Will definitely go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmyS383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

A lovely pub with great beer, food, atmosphere and great staff. Eaten here many times including Christmas Day and yet to have a bad meal !! Best pub in and around the Horsham area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jimbo9062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Called in for a quick Saturday lunch. Have only ever been in once before and I'd forgotten how pricey it is (poor value). Unfortunately the staff committed the (in our eyes) cardinal sin - not having everything on the menu available, and not telling us what was unavailable until we actually tried to order it. Unimpressed. It will probably be a long time before we go back again. There are far better places in the area (I suggest the Lamb Inn at Lambs Green).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were very disappointed with the food and service of this restaurant. We have been many times in the past few years and had very good food and service. This time was nothing like before. Food did not look or taste fresh and the service was appalling.We did complain at the time but felt ignored and made to feel embarrassed, we were left with no food after the main course was taken away and had to call over the waiter to ask to order another meal. It was the worst experience we have ever had in a restaurant.When we wrote to complain after a bad night with indigestion we had a very defensive email reply from the manageress completely disagreeing with what we had complained about. We think this is very rude and will not be going back again. We cannot therefore recommend this restaurant anymore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliedls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After years of going hear Sunday was our first time of disapointment, service still good, but the standard of food had slipped. Menu selection reduced, quality of meat not what we are used to here. Please go back to the old standards

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough & Attic Rooms also viewed

Holmbury St Mary, Surrey
 
Betchworth, Surrey
 

Been to The Plough & Attic Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing