We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sleepover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solitaire Desert Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a really stunning venue, Good value for money! You will be surprised when you walk in....the layout is just gorgeous and everything one needs to self cater. On of the few "remote" setting in Namibia to have WiFi available at the communal bar area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreNorris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 389 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in a remote house that sleeps 6 in two bed plus bath rooms. The house is just beautiful, well taken care of, well equipped and located with a wonderful view of the wide land. It was just a bid cold at night in the house, but that is a given in Namibian Winter and you need to bring proppe clothing,

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ReisefanErlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We drove 6km down a dirt road and found this lovely desert ranch in a great setting, with a swimming pool, animals around and restaurant and bar with good ambience. Rooms were very comfortable. Owners and most staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly in advising us of our future route. Only downside was the food. The included evening meal got off to a good start with a very tasty spinach pie then we had a long wait for a tour group by which time the buffet was stewed and the kudu on the braai were massacred. Breakfast was very limited and we have had had much better elsewhere

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the camping site, which was huge and had all the comfort (and more) of a room. We have ranked it as one of the best we stayed at during this trip. We booked two nights in order to go on the cheetah tour the next day (which we had also booked in advance). Unfortunately this tour was cancelled, also on the day of arrival, which was a huge disappointment.

Beautiful swimming pool and free wifi near the reception area. We had dinner one night in the restaurant. Food was very tasty, we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWKNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Camped here for two nights on our way north from Cape Town. Wow. Huge camping space with own shower, bathroom and scullery. power point, braai and a mini lapa to provide shade, but we decided to sleep without the fly sheet on so we could watch the amazing starry sky. We really enjoyed our stay and the service was top notch. A nice pool, dining area and an menagerie of animals around.

Room Tip: Camping here is almost as if you have your own private room. I don't have any advice on the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbelnissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having driven for a few hours on a gravel road between Swakopmun and Solitaire, I was very pleased to see the sign for Solitaire Guest Farm and Ranch. There is probably around another kilometre or so of road between the main road and the farm but all of a sudden, like a true oasis, the farm just springs up in front of you, nestled nicely in front of a mountain range. Check in was exceptionally quick, friendly and efficient and the room was large and inviting. It contained aircon, a large ceiling fan and a massive, well-stocked bathroom. The mattress was nice and firm. There was a lovely patio in front of the room that offered great views of the sun going down. Cheetah viewing is available on the farm. There is a lovely pool and a lively honesty bar. During the day, you can help yourself to tea, coffee and cookies. I can't believe that, on the edge of the desert, water is in such relative abundance in the guest farm. Dinner and breakfast were included in the tariff, which was very reasonable. The night sky, free from any light pollution, cannot adequately be described, save to say it was just full of stars. Only stayed one night-wish it had been a lot longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were looking for somewhere in the Sossusvlei area to stay on a weekend trip from Windhoek. This place had decent reviews and good rates so I booked. We weren't disappointed - we had a fantastic time. Clean, quiet rooms, great views, superb food and extremely friendly staff. Seeing Cheetahs up close was also pretty special. We will be back asap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
0 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#14 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
155 reviews
19.9 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
283 reviews
17.1 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
290 reviews
12.7 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Desert Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Desert Farm

Address: C14 Road | 7 km from C14 and C19 junction, Solitaire 9000, Namibia (Formerly Solitaire Guest Farm Desert Ranch)
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Solitaire
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitaire Desert Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitaire Desert Farm is a small, peaceful lodge at the foot of the Rantberg Mountains. Guests enjoy hiking, mountain biking and fat tire bike rentals, nature drives and night drives. The farm is rich in free-roaming wildlife and endemic bird species. Our open-air restaurant serves fresh, delicious dinners with a great selection of fine South African wines. We sit at the centre of the Solitaire Land Trust, dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of the Namib desert and bordering grasslands for endemic zebra and vulnerable cheetah populations that historically reside here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solitaire Desert Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing