We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb camp site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solitaire Desert Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Geetbets
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb camp site”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Solitaire Guest Farm is located 6 km from Solitaire. Solitaire is an almost unvisible spot in the great emptiness: a lodge, a shop, a gas station and a bakery.
Solitaire Guest Farm is a very well-kept lodge with friendly owners, a very nice pool, a colorful garden and three camp sites, each with their own barbecue area, power outlet and sanitary facilities. A-1!
Unfortunately we were the only guests so we had to head back to Solitaire for our dinner but the owner of the guest farm contacted the lodge's restaurant in "town" and made a reservation for us at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    135
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
160
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of 4 had the pleasure of staying two nights at the Self Catering house on the farm. We would like to agree with all the praise for the place, people and views. On top of all this, we would suggest families or 2 couples traveling together to check out and consider the S/C house. Separated from the rest of the rooms with large private terrace and infinite views, the house is practically luxury. Superbly equipped kitchen saw little use with , as we had preferred to dine at the farm with the other guests (added cost but worth every penny). Great little hikes from around the ranch, and a paradise for kids including a great swimming pool. Another highlight of our trip to Namibia this last June ( there were many). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernani_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a combo working farm and guest ranch, with lots of tame animals around the property. Good location as a stopping point when driving from Swakop and then onto to Sossusvlei. The rooms were just fine - basic, but with super comfy beds and a wonderful patio and updated bathroom. The meals (buffet style) were very good with lots of vegetarian choices. Santa went out of her way to be helpful to us and the rest of the guests. Take advantage (and support) the Namib Carnivore Center with their cheetah drives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This review is based on my experience with overnight at camp site in September 2012 provided by Solitaire Guest Farm Desert Ranch. I must to say Desert Ranch´s campsite provided to me the best experience with campsite in Namibia. Ranch is placed along hills and savana. You can find lodges, campsites, restaurant, nice deep pool and meerkas :) (I saw them only there on our trip around Namibia). Camp places has everything what you need. Every particular site has own clean showers, restrooms, sink, fireplace, light and power points in one dedicated building - perfect! I has dinner (buffet style) and I really enjoyed it - meats, side dishes, deserts. I remeber one side dish what must be some kind of wheat with cheese or something like that and it was awesome. :) Owner have some activities like cheetah tracking. Staff and owners has been friendly and carefull even though when we arrived it didn´t seem like that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venajue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the 'house up on the hill' - a separate unit with 2 bedrooms, a large lounge and kitchen area, and great deck from which we watched the sunset and various animals passing by. You could be self-catering here but we had chosen to eat in the restaurant.

We found this a very pleasant location, felt welcome and enjoyed our stay. Both dinner and breakfast offered a good choice compared to some other places we stayed (including large lodges in Etosha) - but staff might like to cover the breakfast cereals to stop birds perching in the granola and helping themselves!

We found everyone very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: If you are 2 couples travelling together; the house on the hill is excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Solitaire Guest Farm suited us fine. We loved the atmosphere of this place and stayed here twice - once on our way to Sossusvlei and once on our way out. We enjoyed each stay. We had no problem with hot water and since it was a cool time of year, we did not need air conditioning. We liked the decor and the buffet was very much to our liking. There was always a selection of a game meat and several salads and a pasta. We ate well. The honor bar suited us fine and the wine selection was OK. We thought the price was reasonable as it was far less than most of the places we stayed in Namibia. The optional game drive to see cheetahs was something that we particularly enjoyed. We also like the setting close to the mountians.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex out back suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came here without booking because we wanted some luxury / good sleeping comfort after a week of camping in our roof top tent. Rooms are very expensive. Eur 150,-- for a 2 persons room is expensive in Namibia. Decoration is nice but room is very dark. We needed our led camp lights to see if we had packed everyting. Rooms don't have airco, which may be expected due to the price and due to room temperature of 27 centigrades. Ceiling fan was running it's last hours and made the sound of an old grain mill so we had to switch it off. We hardly slept here. Shower has a very weak jet, hot water was not hot. Bed was old and preshaped by ten years of former guests. Dinner was ok (nothing special, just and average buffet). Waitress was performing kind of a one man show which is apriciated by the average German Neckermann tourist. Owner was playing darts and drinking beer ath the bar during dinner which is not a sign of running a lodge with dedication. Appearently the money comes in anyway.... the most expensive lodge from our roundtour. very bad value for money experince. We felt a little bit robbed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
insidersolitaire, Owner at Solitaire Desert Farm, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Martijn,
thank you for your review.
I just would like to clear things a little bit.
1st - you are complaining about the owner (me) but unfortunately I wasn't on the farm at the
time of your stay.
2nd - Eur 150.00 for 2 people incl. breakfast and dinner is not expensive in Namibia. If you
would have done your homework properly you would have seen that we actually the 2nd
cheapest place in the area.
3rd - You stayed in one of our recently renovated rooms with NEW Bedding. Hard to believe
that somebody can complain about it, but you have the right to your own opinion.

I regret that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but I can assure you that we always try to provide our guests a pleasant stay.

Regards,
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
17.1 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
232 reviews
20.3 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
197 reviews
19.9 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#15 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
121 reviews
12.6 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Desert Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Desert Farm

Property: Solitaire Desert Farm
Address: | 7 km from C14 and C19 junction, Solitaire 9000, Namibia (Formerly Solitaire Guest Farm Desert Ranch)
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Solitaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitaire Desert Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitaire Desert Farm is a small, peaceful lodge at the foot of the Rantberg Mountains. Guests enjoy hiking, mountain biking and fat tire bike rentals, nature drives and night drives. The farm is rich in free-roaming wildlife and endemic bird species. Our open-air restaurant serves fresh, delicious dinners with a great selection of fine South African wines. We sit at the centre of the Solitaire Land Trust, dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of the Namib desert and bordering grasslands for endemic zebra and vulnerable cheetah populations that historically reside here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solitaire Desert Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing