We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solitaire Desert Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

While passing by Solitaire, we as well decided to stop for a coffee and apple-pie. We enjoyed it, took another coffee and while walking around we decided to see whether we could spend the night in Solitaire.
That turned out to be the only right decision! We went to Solitaire Guest Farm and stayed on campside #1. It is extremely large with your own showers, toilet, sink, light and power. Of course a fireplace and braai as well.
The people are very friendly and help you with all the information you want. The view is just amazing. Thinking back, this is the most special place I have ever been to. Definitely climb the small hill in the evening for the sunset. Sitting there, hearing nothing, high grass moving by the wind together with a great view; it made it the perfect sunset! The best ever.
The area is beautiful to explore by 4x4 and to drive the pass is definitely recommendable. But ask the staff about the details, to make sure you get the best out of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 381 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

* 70 km from Dunes
*Walter and Simone are top, top hosts
*Enjoy the company of Bocky and other wild animals the just made the Farm their home
*High quality food and accommodation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulobergamasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Very nice place! Huge room, huge veranda looking out into the wilderness. Farm animals include Springbok and Oryx, which we could watch from our veranda. The springbok even helped himself to some breakfast - very cute! Very friendly staff, very african atmosphere. Dinner was excellent (Oryx and Mountain Zebra).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Profession:Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a must-visit place when you're in Namibia. During our road trip this was the most beautiful camp site we have visited. Only 3 camp sites are available, so reserve in advance. Sunset is magical, so are the details in the private ablution block and reception area.

Keep up the good work!

Cheers, Paul

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulselten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

First, this place is NOT close to Windhoek. We stayed here when we visited the Namib Desert (about a 1.5 hour drive). I would suggest coming to stay here for at least 2 nights. If you want to feel like you are a part of nature, then this is the closest you are going to get. They have more animals than I have ever seen (Meerkat, Springbok, dogs, cats, frogs, beautiful birds, dugs, peacocks, rabbits, etc...). The sunset was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen!
The rooms are great - very roomy, new and clean. There is no AC - but you are in Africa! The nights cooled off considerably - this was very pleasant.
The staff was absolutely wonderful and down to earth. The dinner they provided was incredible - probably too much food :)

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We camped at Solitaire Guest farm, but they also have a lodge. Each campsite has its private ablution house, very spacious and clean. Very peaceful at night, beautiful sunset from the rocks overlooking the vast property. Nice restaurant and cosy bar where you can help yourself. The pet of the house, a female springbok, will make friends with you immediately and never leave you! and the meercats do bite!
Ideal for relaxing and enjoying the nature. Very tiny swimming pool but nice when it is hot.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikin0ei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birgit0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
3.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#13 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
148 reviews
19.9 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#4 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
563 reviews
20.3 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
275 reviews
12.6 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitaire Desert Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitaire Desert Farm

Address: C14 Road | 7 km from C14 and C19 junction, Solitaire 9000, Namibia (Formerly Solitaire Guest Farm Desert Ranch)
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Solitaire
Price Range: $127 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitaire Desert Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitaire Desert Farm is a small, peaceful lodge at the foot of the Rantberg Mountains. Guests enjoy hiking, mountain biking and fat tire bike rentals, nature drives and night drives. The farm is rich in free-roaming wildlife and endemic bird species. Our open-air restaurant serves fresh, delicious dinners with a great selection of fine South African wines. We sit at the centre of the Solitaire Land Trust, dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of the Namib desert and bordering grasslands for endemic zebra and vulnerable cheetah populations that historically reside here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solitaire Desert Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing