We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
Review of Las Flores Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Flores Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cuco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

i live in CANADA saskatoon,sask . we went to see my relatives in el salvador ... we got lost and and ended up and this place .it was so relaxing ,massage and the food was great they had great staff. fueron muy a mable con nosotros y les quiero decir lo disfrutamos mucho y eramos vastante ;;; saludos de aca canada y primero dios los vemos en la otras vacasiones !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

Surf, food, pools all in one spot. A true vacation form everything. We were well taken care of from the airport pickup to the drop off. The food is excellent. Massages. Local entertainment. A variety of waves and a swell magnet. Great staff. We had a blast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBarraza, Director General at Las Flores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thank you so much for your nice comments and evaluation.
We hope we can see you again soon.
Best regards from Las Flores Resort family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have gone to Las Flores surf club several times, and the hotel and staff have been outstanding every time. whatever you need they will get it for you. The food is consistently good with a large variety of food on the menu. There are no yoga classes or kayaking as stated on the web site.

Unfortunately, word has gotten out. While the waves can and often are very good, the number of very aggressive surfers from Brazil makes surfing difficult. Both Las Flores point and Punta Mango generally have fewer than 25 very aggressive guys most of the day. We even tried going later in the season to get away from the crowds, but to no avail.The waves are fantastic, and you will get waves, but be prepared to get shoulder to shoulder with other surfers to get them. With several more resorts going up catering to surfers (one of which will be at Punta Mango) things wont get better. Great hotel, but the surf is anything but relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hikerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBarraza, Director General at Las Flores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Hello,
We are sorry to hear you had a difficult time in the water since it was crowded in the lineup but we cannot control the access of surfers into the water.
We do our best in service quality while at the resort in which we do offer Yoga lessons and Kayaking tours but the yoga is an instructor that comes from San Salvador so we only do prebooked sessions and the yoga is provided at Jiquilisco which is less than one hour from the resort.
Again we apologize that the surf was not as empty as you expected but this is variable since sometimes we have really uncrowded top quality surf and sometimes like yours, we do get crowds at the lineup that make it really competitive.
We hope that we did our part in delivering our best services and we can see you again in the future.
Best regards from Las Flores Resort family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

As a package surf trip this was very nice. Good food, nice staff, good rooms. I went in July and 4/6 days the surf was good. The boats go twice a day to Punta Mango which is a good semi-Point/Reef break. Right in front of the hotel is a decent point break but got too crowded when I was there.
Pickup and travel to and from the airport was easy and smooth, and non-threatening. There were a few couples and one family at the hotel but overall it's a surf destination.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VonTubed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a special nook. The palm-lined point and the waves that hug it are a splendor-- surfing it, or just looking, satisfies the soul. If that's not enough, unreal meals are offered at regular intervals by attractive, positive resort professionals. The grounds boast an elegant design and they are maintained well. The rooms are comfortable and outfitted nicely; spectacular views of the point from nearly all. Our group enjoyed a traditional dance demonstration by local school kids, and a special-order mariachi band for a birthday celebration. Boat trips to Mango produced fun sessions every time. Clearly, the staff at Las Flores wanted us to enjoy ourselves, and they knew how to achieve that goal. Special thanks to Larissa, Mirian, Antonia, Raphael, Javier, Francisco, Stanley, Nelson, Predator, and Antonio. Great trip. Tip: pace yourself in buying necklaces and other jewelry from the local groms, Morris, Fernando, Carlos, Oscar, and Oscar-- spread the wealth and cheer those kids into the mackers off the point!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losinglefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Had a great time ...
- food was great - stuffed myself and looked forward to every meal
- the staff was great - awesome rapport - I got to know the bartender well.
- the waves were great for the whole entire week - I caught the rides of my life (it was only my third time - but still - it was tops).
- the weather was nice and hot.
- I AM COMING BACK!!!

Billabong surf camps rock

Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank mistersuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I had an amazing stay at Las Flores Surf Club – it was one of the most relaxing trips I’ve ever taken. It was unusual that I chose it because there isn’t a fitness center (gyms are uncommon for El Salvador beach resorts), and it was all-inclusive, both of which are usually dealbreakers for me. However, I ended up choosing Las Flores Surf Club because it seemed more upscale and remote than most of the other places I found, and I'd heard the beaches on this part of El Sal were less choppy than the more popular beach areas.

We rented a car and drove ourselves since it's inexpensive to rent a car, and the hotel transport to/from the airport is rather pricey ($150 each way); it also gave us the chance to see some of the country since this was our first trip (and to stop for pupusas along the way!). Although it’s easy to get there, the directions we received at the airport weren’t that accurate. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and our check-in was smooth & painless. The open lobby was neatly furnished, with plenty of space to hang out and a pool table. There’s also a bar in the lobby that opens up to the upper pool (swim-up).

I booked a Jr. Suite, and the room was nice with a sitting area and a great deck overlooking the beach. There was AC (although it only blew at one high speed, and the air blew directly onto the far bed), satellite TV, and a DVD player. The wireless internet access was spotty at times, but generally OK. The bathroom was large with standing shower and soap/shampoo provided.

The food was quite tasty; for breakfast and lunch, you can choose from their menu (our favorites were the seafood soup, fish tacos and grilled whole fish), and at dinner, they offer two entrée choices. We were most impressed with the chef; I even asked for the recipe for the seafood soup! The service was polite, and even while lounging poolside, a server would come by to see if we needed anything.

For exercise/activity, I ran along the beach, and we borrowed yoga mats from the hotel to do pilates in the room. My sister took two surfing lessons ($45 each), which she said were great. The pools are next to each other, and both are small, but perfect for relaxing & lounging. There are too many trees around the pool to get sun for the entire day without shifting positions multiple times. It is nice to lay on the beach, but there are no lounge chairs available there, and be careful, because the tide comes in rather quickly.

My mobile phone (Verizon Wireless) didn’t really work at the resort, but it worked in El Cuco town, which is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel along the beach. There’s not much to do in town, so we went once, and then stayed at the resort the rest of our trip. Although it was interesting to see the area outside of the resort, there was litter everywhere, which was sad, because this area is so untouched and beautiful. By the way, it does help to speak Spanish outside the resort.

During our entire trip (the drive, the walk into town and our stay at the resort), I never felt that safety was an issue. Everyone we encountered was quite friendly. In case you are concerned, there are armed guards at the hotel entrance and at the beach entrance.

I hope I can return to Las Flores Surf Club again soon; the weather was perfect, the food delicious, the area remote, untouched and so tourist-free! The resort definitely isn't the same as high-end established beach resorts, but it's not meant to be... it's quite idyllic and charming as it is.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CY_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cuco
2.0 mi away
Tropiclub Playa El Cuco
Tropiclub Playa El Cuco
#2 of 2 in El Cuco
15 reviews
22.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Real La Union
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Real San Miguel
Comfort Inn Real San Miguel
#1 of 5 in San Miguel
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico inn
Hotel Tropico inn
#4 of 5 in San Miguel
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vista Las Olas Surf Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miraflores
Hotel Miraflores
#2 of 6 in El Cuco
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Flores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Flores Resort

Address: El Cuco Street | Km 1 to Carrizal, El Cuco 3308, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Miguel Department > El Cuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Cuco
Price Range: $416 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Flores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Flores Resort is located 2 hours East of El Salvador's International Airport in the town of El Cuco, San Miguel Department, and lies on a stunning 7-acre beachfront property. The boutique hotel, opened in 2005, features 11 ocean-view guest suites with modern architecture and progressive design including (11) Jr. Suites and (4) 2-bedroom Suites. All suites are fully air-conditioned with luxury amenities. Hotel facilities include pool and sundeck, swim-up bar, jacuzzi, air-conditioned lounge, business center, outdoor lounges and hammocks, children's playground, landscaped gardens and walking trails, surf shop, surf school, surfing and fishing panga fleet, oceanfront yoga deck and signature Las Flores SPA. Directly in front of the hotel is the Pacific ocean and one of the most beautiful black sand beaches in Central America. On our very own beach you can partake in surfing for any level of ability at one of the premier breaks in Central America or swim in the frothing waves. Onsite activities include surfing lessons, surf tours, fishing, SPA treatments, yoga, sun worshipping, and lots of R&R. Offsite tours include a variety of eco, cultural and city tours throughout El Salvador's "Oriente". Enjoy seaside dining at Restaurante Entre Cocos overlooking the waves. Serving only the freshest ingredients from the sea and the earth, the restaurant provides a diverse culinary experience including a-la-carte breakfast and lunch menus, set 3-course dinner menu with seafood, meat or vegetarian entrée selections, and theme buffets such as our seafood buffet and traditional Salvadorian night. Mangos Bar serves a selection of fruit smoothies, natural juices, energy and sports drinks in addition to a full bar service with beers, wines, champagnes, and top shelf liquor selection. Our Las Flores Resort team spoils you with a high level of personal attention to provide you with a relaxing and rejuvenating experience-all for a tangible and down-to-earth economic value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Las Flores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Flores Surf Club Hotel San Miguel
Las Flores Resort El Salvador/El Cuco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing