We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hike from and to stay at”
Review of Talamanca Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gerardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talamanca Reserve
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to hike from and to stay at”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Talamanca reserve is located 1 kilometer from the entrance of the Chirripo national park, and is in my opinion the best option to stay at if you want to go hiking into the national park. There is a hostel closer by, but that offers less quality and service. The Talamanca reserve has however it's own hiking trails, of which some are very beautiful and challenging. It also includes some of the primary forest.

The cabins itself are basic. I booked the new cabin. The bed is quite hard, and there is no air conditioning. The 'riverside cabins' don't provide a view on the riverside. You can hear it though! In my room I could hear both the clatter of the small waterfall nearby and the stream of the river. I liked both a lot. Internet is not available in the cabins.

The lobby is a few hundred meters from the new cabins (the old cabins are more adjacent to it). The people who run the place call it the ‘living room’, and I can see why. It has some nice and cosy corners (including a fireplace). It altogether breaths a nice atmosphere. The food was very good, and non-fat. They have some nice steaks, and also a menu that changes every day. The service was excellent. Very friendly, and very much ‘according the rules’.
Initially we intended to stay only 2 days, but we changed it to 4. If I had more time, I would have stayed much longer. I surely can recommend it!

Room Tip: Take the new cabin on the river side. A bit further from the lobby, but the sound of the river is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Wiebe_de_Witte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Spotlessly clean, excellent food, extremely well trained friendly staff, free internet for guests! The artistic touches in our cheerful and bright deluxe cabin were lovely.The property is gorgeous with many trails for hiking. We would go back in an instant!!


\

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe cabin and did not see the standard cabins. Cabin #5 had the advantage of havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank toucans38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Talamanca Reserve is 4,000 acres with lots of hiking trails and waterfalls. Beautiful jungle terrain loaded with birds and animals. When I come back to Costa Rica this is where I will go. You should rent a 4x4 with GPS to get there or you can go by bus. The reserve borders Chiripo National Park. Rent a new river cabin, they are nice. The restaurant has great food and the staff are wonderful. This was the most remote place we stayed and we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank cruiserbruiser001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We moved here from the Rio Chirripo B&B and ended up staying here for two nights. They have two sets of cabins -- old and new. Neither set of cabins have particularly good views, but the new set has much larger windows (and seem much newer and nicer). If you're booking in the off-season, make sure you take advantage of their discount.

This is a beautiful property! They have a fantastic restaurant, a great free internet area, and it was a wonderful place to hike. Try the waterfall hike -- it will take you several hours, but the waterfall was HUGE... make sure you go all the way to the last one (there are a few smaller intermediate waterfalls).

Anyway, a great place to stay and the restaurant / internet cafe gives you a nice place to hang out when it starts raining at 11am every day. :)

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
19 Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
#1 of 1 in San Gerardo
76 reviews
15.8 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
752 reviews
16.1 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mirador Valle del General
Mirador Valle del General
#1 of 13 in San Isidro de El General
42 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bosque del Tolomuco
Bosque del Tolomuco
#1 of 15 in San Isidro de El General
116 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cabinas El Quetzal
Cabinas El Quetzal
#7 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talamanca Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talamanca Reserve

Property: Talamanca Reserve
Address: San Gerardo de Rivas | Pérez Zeledón, San Gerardo, Chirripo National Park 191-8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park > San Gerardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in San Gerardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Cloud Forest! Come See The Ten Fabulous Waterfalls of Talamanca. Over 4,000 acres of tropical forest in the mountains, at the foot of Central America's highest mountain, Mt.Chirripo, and the Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica. Miles and miles of inexplicable Beauty. Hiking tours to any of our Ten Waterfalls are available. For people who like to hike, we have different trails that take you to each of our ten waterfalls. You will see an extraordinary variety of flora. We also have verry comfortable accommodations; Cabins, Tours, Internet, and excellent restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talamanca Reserve Costa Rica/San Gerardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing