We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caroni Bird Sanctuary

Caroni Bird Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Caroni Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Caroni
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We took the tour ($10US/each) in the afternoon to see the flocks of Scarlet Ibis returning to the trees to sleep for the night. The boat tour in the swap is really nothing special, but it is very relaxing and is interesting if you have never seem mangrove trees before. The time to get to where the Ibis roost was well worth the trip. What a sight – seeing hundreds of birds flying in high and low to roost on the trees for the night. A truly unique experience.

We took this tour from Nanan’s – when planning our trip, they were the most responsive to our emails than the other vendors. Their tour guide was informative and their boats were clean and comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Looneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

A birder's dream - hundreds of brilliant red ibis nesting in the same area. It was wonderful watching the multiple small flocks returning watch evening to nest.Many other water birds, egrets, herons, dot the shoreline with a backdrop of lush green trees dotted with hundreds of the ibises. Do not miss this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PennyBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Scarlet Ibis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Make sure you don't pay more than 100 TT dollars. When you pay the guy charges you 50dollars more..refuse to pay it..You leave in the afternoon on boats and enjoy the birds, snakes, crabs and tiny bears..late afternoon you watch thousands of Scarlet Ibis fly in to overnight on an island..A spectacular scene. Worth going and easy to find on the Solomon Hochoy Highway. If you are a little early, and have a picnic basket, there is a place to sit close to the swamp. Bring your champagne to have a sundowner on the small boat. There is a mall on the way to the Airport if you are way early.
I recommend this for everyone visits Trinidad. Make sure to have your cameras.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Assie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit to the Caroni Bird Sanctuary, Trinidad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I just came back from visiting the Caroni Bird Sanctuary. It was amazing and definitely worth every dollar! We saw a pretty large caiman, variety of birds, crabs, oysters and thousands of Scarlet Ibis coming to roost in the trees. The island was pretty much covered. Our tour guide Darren of Mahdoo Tours was very friendly and knowledgeable. The groups were smaller and they go the extra mile to make your tour enjoyable. I would highly recommend Madoo Tours. It was indeed a very memorable visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arima, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“scarlet ibis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I enjoyed seeing the scarlet ibis, snakes, other birds in their natural habitat. The boat ride was serene and romantix, wxcept for the loud motor/ engine. The guide was knowledgeable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroni Bird Sanctuary also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Caroni Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing