We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing”

The Wild Oak Cafe & Community Market
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Armstrong
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: Our mission at The Wild Oak Cafe is to create a nourishing atmosphere where our community can gather and feel at home and inspired! We aim to source our ingredients locally and organically as often as possible as well as supporting sustainable farms with whom we maintain an honest, friendly and passionate relationship. We specialize in vegetarian cuisine because we believe in vegetables and strive to use only healthy, locally sourced meat... We include local pasture raised Chicken and Pork in our daily menu and are proud to have it on our menu! It is very important to us to know where our food is coming from and how it is grown, who we are supporting and why! We are very passionate about nutritious, spirited cooking and we relish in our love for amazing coffee and scrumptious treats! We hope to transform your ordinary morning coffee break into something extraordinary in experience! The Wild Oak will also be host to live music, art shows and special events and is a million trillion percent family friendly!
Armstrong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Fresh ingredients are obviously important to the creator of the menu items and that plays out to us the customer in wholesome, delicious choices. Very creative, to make use of what's available at the local market. Friendly, upbeat family atmosphere. Muffins, soups, melties - hard to choose some days!! Thank you for the smiling friendly service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PJFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Can't ask for better”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I work in the North end of Vernon and The Wild Oak is 15 minutes away, door to door. The ambiance is warm and welcoming, it's super kid-friendly and they source all of the best quality local, fresh, and organic ingredients for their amazing freshly baked goods, soups, salads and melty's. They support local artisans and their community as a whole, it's got a really cool vibe for you to chill out and sip your awesome tea blend/ freshly roasted coffee and enjoy a snack or a meal. They even make some really decadent gluten free stuff--not your usual packaged cardboard tasting selections. In the summer, their freshly squeezed, local honey-sweetened lemonade is so refreshing and the windows steam up in the winter while they simmer their freshly made soups. I've been waiting for a place this awesome to come to the Okanagan for far too long. The Wild Oak meets all of my expectations, and it will yours as well. Don't just take my word for it though, get yourself down to The Oak and thank me later.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Real. Local. Wholesome. Home-made.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I live off of their sandwiches! The coffee and teas are to die for! It's owned by a lovely, local Armstrong family and everything is made with love and intention. Healthy and delicious- there's something for everybody! And it's kid-friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddyhappenstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fresh and Homemade!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Wild Oak Cafe will tell any visitors that they 'believe in homemade' - and it shows through in their menu that changes depending on the season and availability of local sourced ingredients. Not only homemade - but fresh and inventive menu ideas - the daily muffin is different everyday as is the daily soup. From Borscht to Thai Curry, Morrocan Lentil to Parsnip soups - the soup is fresh and comes with fresh bread or you can pair it with a delicious sandwich, salad or the 'meltie of the day' They make their own hummus and dressings for the salads, great lattes and tea - but don't eat too much - you will want to save room for dessert too! Bliss balls, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies or if you are lucky a peanut butter cookie fresh from the oven! And you can pick up a 'Wild Yolk' for breakfast or brunch - an English muffin with egg omelet, local cheese, salsa - all grilled until warm and gooey.

They believe in real butter and brown sugar, organic flour, local pasture raised chicken and fresh produce. Can't do cow's milk? They also offer almond milk and other natural alternatives.Today we were fortunate enough to catch a local 'jam' session featuring local musicians - plus some great mandolin, banjo and guitar playing. A great way too spend a winter afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Oak Cafe & Community Market also viewed

Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
 
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
 
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Wild Oak Cafe & Community Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing