We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Christmas tradition”

Caravan Farm Theatre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Armstrong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Caravan Farm Theatre is a not-for-profit professional outdoor theatre company based on an 80 acre farm near Armstrong BC. Hailed as a national treasure, Caravan Farm Theatre has been entertaining audiences young & old, from near & far, since 1978.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was my first time at the Caravan Farm Theatre and I was really not interested when this was being planned so my expectations were low. I did not understand the unique theatre format nor did I realize this was not just a sleigh ride around a farm, but a play experience with some winter and Christmas thrown in. When we arrived it looked like a village and a big bon fire was on the go. Hot Chocolate and coffee with extra enhancements were available to keep you warm as well. There were about 8 sleighs all that held about 18-20 people. We drove from stage to stage to watch a play which included some musical instruments and singing too. The sets were well done, no problems with lighting and we could all hear well without speakers. The actors did a very good job and the story was enjoyable. Since I have nothing to compare it to at all, it was a great experience and I would love to try a summer trip there too. The Christmas plays sell out fast!

Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanFarmTheatre, Public Relations Manager at Caravan Farm Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi! Thanks for your review of our winter show. It's so neat to read that you had a good time when at first you weren't really expecting much. We try very hard to make coming to a show here at the farm a whole experience, from the moment you get out of your car to the time you step off your sleigh after the show. The details you included in your review will be really helpful to people who want to know more about coming to a show. --Thanks! We hope to see you out here for a summer show too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 92 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went to a preview of Little Brother, Little Sister on a snowy night. Enjoyed the show and the unique experience of horse drawn sleigh ride on a winter night. Magical!

Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanFarmTheatre, Public Relations Manager at Caravan Farm Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hooray! We're so glad to know you had a good time at the winter show. --Even better on a snowy night! Come see us this summer, if you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Caravan Farms has succumbed to the great commercial dollar . The winter show is short , not worth the price. Three shows in one night is an attempt to pack them in. The summer show is better value and there have been some excellent performances. The farm setting and the horses make this experience unique.

1  Thank Gabby82184546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanFarmTheatre, Public Relations Manager at Caravan Farm Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for caring enough to write a review about your experience at Caravan Farm Theatre. We agree that our 80 acres as well as the horses make attending a show at Caravan Farm Theatre a unique and worthwhile experience.

In response to your review:

We do hope that minutes are not the sole merit by which our shows are measured. That said, we do limit our winter shows to one-hour. We have done this, and performed three shows per night, since the first winter sleigh ride shows over 25 years ago. This is due to the fact that we cannot expect performers to work and audience members to sit outdoors for longer, given that temperatures typically fall below freezing.

As many people know, we sell out most of our performances in the winter. Caravan’s winter sleigh ride show has become a holiday tradition for countless families in the Okanagan-Shuswap region. We have added nights and more sleighs to our run in response to audience demand so that people will not be disappointed during the holiday season.

We have in recent years invested in making the audience experience more comfortable and safer and in increasing accessibility by adding stairs with railings as well as bench seating with backs to our sleigh decks. When the HST was phased out, we lowered our ticket prices to reflect this. At the same time, our production values have increased as we continually strive to offer our audiences high-quality professional outdoor theatre, unique to this part of the country and all of Canada. As a not-for-profit organization, we do our utmost to meet our mission to provide meaningful, popular open-air theatre to a large and diverse family audience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I love this outdoor theatre. Our friends and ourselves make it a point to be sure to visit The Caravan Farm Theatre every summer. We are never disappointed. Farm animals always play a major part in every production. Music is mostly if not always original and eventful. The actors bring their originality to every production. They amazingly have options for bad weather which really work. This is an Okanagan Gem. I hope everyone will visit at some time. It is never the same from on year to another. Always an affordable evening under the stars.

Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanFarmTheatre, Public Relations Manager at Caravan Farm Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi Barbara,

Thanks for your great review! It really helps give people who have never visited Caravan a chance to know more about the overall experience -- the animals, the music, the fact that we have a rain venue -- all nice for people to know!

Thanks again. See you out here this season!

Everyone at Caravan Farm Theatre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a Theatre buff with decades of experiences at Ashland, Berkeley Rep, and ACT we were delightfully surprised and totally thrilled to discover this gem of a theatre opportunity. The play was presented beautifully in a natural setting. It area was situated among trees, and hillocks of the farm. The inventive play makers utilized the trees themselves as props and constructed elevated stages which created an eye pleasing focal point for the drama. Entrances and Exits were into the darkness of the site. Despite the challenges of lighting and sound in an outdoor setting, they made it all work. The play was original, pattered after Shakespeare comedy, well constructed with contemporary jokes and puns. The actors were enthusiastic, well prepared and thoroughly entertaining. The sexual innuendo might have been made parents of younger children a bit uncomfortable, but there was no vulgarity . There were 6 of us in our party, including a 13 and 15 year old; everyone was laughing and enjoying it thoroughly. We are really looking forward to taking in another play put on by this inventive company. Loved it !

Thank playgoerSFBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravanFarmTheatre, Public Relations Manager at Caravan Farm Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thanks for your review! It's helpful for TripAdvisor users to see that you are a theatre aficionado, thereby lending your review some substance. The level of detail in your review makes it helpful too. It gives users a nice idea of what to expect when attending a show here at the farm.

Hope to see you here again!

Everyone at Caravan Farm Theatre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravan Farm Theatre also viewed

Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
 
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
Armstrong, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Caravan Farm Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing