We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Medusa was good for us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Medusa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Artemida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Medusa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artemida
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Medusa was good for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 night stop prior to our leaving Greece for our trip home to Australia. We found the owner-operator, Takis excellent and if there was anything you needed to know he was the person to go to first...as he always had a contact or at least could give you a decent answer!

We are a family of four with teenage children who could walk to the clubs freely with no security problems. We found the rooms big enough for us and airconditioned with small but ample balconies and we were lucky enough to have one facing the ocean so we could watch the activity below.

Rather than the hustle and bustle of inner Athens, staying somewhere coastal - and only about 20-30 mins from the airport - was a good destination for us with great places to eat - either casual or more formal.

Would stay again & recommend it.

Room Tip: As Takis for a seaside view and mention that your saw the post on TripAdvisor...(seriously they do l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    8
    14
    30
See reviews for
13
19
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Missed our flight, so stayed at this hotel recommended by airport travel agency. They do their best for service and are always willing to help you flexible with airport transfer etc., BUT we could not rest in the room. Room and bathroom was seedy and so is common property.

All investments are done for beachfront terrace and service is located there...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Artemida hotels

Nice, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Hotel is ideally located on the Loutsa Beach in Artemida. It has a beautiful pergola on its private beach and it is a perfect place to have breakfast on a sunny day. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the lobby/bar has a very nice old time decoration. My room had a beautiful view on the sea and a small terrace. All that contributed to make my stay really pleasant. But I only stayed one night and didn't spend too much time in my room.
The room was not great, it really needs to be renovated quickly because everything is old and not very clean. The sheets were clean though and that's what mattered the most for me and also there's air conditioning and a fridge. For the rest, the carpet looked quite dirty and I didn't dare to walk bare foot on it and the walls desperately need to be painted.

For a decent fee (75 euros), it was OK for me but if comfort and cleanliness are important criteria for you or if you travel with kids, maybe it's not the best place for you. But if your goal is spend your time on the beach, visit the area and just have a place to leave your stuff and sleep, then it'll do.

Just a word on the beach, it is nice and clean but they play music quite loudly. It can be annoying if you want to relax. I just walked 5 minutes to another beach, there are several in the close area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

When I missed my flight to Ioannina due to airplane delay, the airport travel agent recommended Hotel Medusa. Great value included airport pick-up, room, breakfast, and a ride back to the airport the next day. In contrast, the hotel across the street from the airport was charging more than four times as much for a one-night stay.

The hotel owners were friendly and accomodating. My room was clean & air conditioned. The hotel is across the street from a decent beach with several seating areas, and a full-service bar & restaurant. They gave me a wake-up call in the morning and took me back to the aiport. On the way back, I returned for another one-night stay. My room had a balcony and faced the ocean. Meals were excellent and generous. Service was top-notch. Highly recommended if you love the beach and don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Due to a medical emergency on our flight to Athens, we missed our connecting flight to Samos which meant an overnight stay in Athens. The travel operator in Athens airport suggested the Medusa to us. We weren't sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. Our rooms overlooked the sea and were very clean. We ate at the hotel and both evening meal and breakfast were very good. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloveSamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We missed our flight to Santorini so we got a room at the Medusa for one night to be close to the airport. They picked us up from the airport and it was just a 10 minute drive, which was very nice. For Americans, our initial impression was jarring, the room was small, bed uncomfortable, hallways dark, carpet stained, no hot water and lots of mosquitoes, but once you get past that initial fear/anxiety, it was actually okay. We had dinner across the street at the waterfront cafe, owned by Medusa, and it was delicious and enjoyable with a beautiful view. We had a very early flight the next morning, and they were very gracious to wake us up on time and get us to the airport. Overall, and after looking back, the Medusa suited us just fine for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife stepped on a large rusty nail on the hotel deck and it injured her foot. Luckily she had flipflops on which absorbed most of the length of the nail. After cleaning up the blood-stained deck, the hotel staff didn't bother to check to see if there were other nails poking through the deck, which is in shoddy condition to begin with.

To make matters worse, the hotel has no first-aid kit! I shudder to think anyone with kids had been so unlucky...

The rooms are dated, fabrics are itchy, and bathroom faucets are the separate hot and cold type - not nice to use nor charming to look at. Breakfast is essentially dry melba toast and orange juice. NOT a good value for the money.

The nearby beach is nothing special. We stayed here one night to be near the airport. I wouldn't stay here again if I was paid...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artemida
2.9 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Athens Airport
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kiani Akti
Kiani Akti
#1 of 1 in Porto Rafti
2.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avra Rafina
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medusa

Property: Hotel Medusa
Address: 2 Leoforos Artemidos | Artemis, Artemida 190 16, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Artemida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artemida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seafront 3(***)star Hotel MEDUSA is located in Artemida, a popular Athens Airport Hotel on the East Coast of Attica washed by the Southern Eboan Gulf, 25 km East of Athens, only 6km from Athens International Airport and 3,5km from the new Exhibition & conference center "Metropolitan Expo". The hotel is open all year round and provides 12 twin bedded and 2 four bedded rooms (most of them with sea-view), providing all necessary amenities for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Medusa Greece/Artemida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing