We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome ecolodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalalan Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madidi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalalan Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome ecolodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This lodge is recommended by National Geographic and deservedly so. Amazing community project, fantastic guides, good service, very nice accommodation and beautiful setting. We would love to come back and are so happy we went!
PS thanks Rico for being such a great guide!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Mark; Muchas gracias por sus comentarios ¡ nos sentimos complacidos de que su visita al Albergue Ecológico Chalalan, ha sido una experiencia excelente, gracias por permitirnos compartir nuestros conocimientos sobre la biodiversidad del bosque tropical y nuestra cultura.
Su visita, ha motivado a seguir mejorando nuestros servicios, y estaremos muy gustosos en volver a tenerlos en un futuro inmediato. Gracias a nombre de todo el Equipo de Chalalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
88
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are debating whether or not to visit Chalalan, my advice would be to definitely go. The staff are warm and welcoming. The food is great. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The guided walks in the jungle are interesting and beautiful. but for me the highlight of our 3 day stay was the night time boat trip on the tiny lake. Thousands of stars, absolute silence, a glimps of a caiman or birds eye caught in the torch light. Unforgettable experience and one of the highlights of our South American adventure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Lindsay; Muchas gracias por sus buenos comentarios ¡ Su visita al Albergue Ecológico Chalalan, ha sido también, para nosotros un experiencia excelente, gracias por permitirnos enseñarles sobre la naturaleza y compartir con todos ustedes nuestro conocimiento sobre el bosque tropical y nuestra cultura.
Su visita, ha motivado a seguir mejorando nuestros servicios, y estaremos muy gustosos en volverlos a tener en un futuro inmediato. Gracias a nombre de todo el Equipo de Chalalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Four of us did the 3 days 2 night stay. We were sad to leave, but it was long enough to experience the jungle and the beauty that is Chalalan.
The staff were amazing. Attentitive, kind, thoughtful and good fun.
The accommodation is very comfortable and the food is tasty.
The guide was thoroughly knowledgeable and totally in tune with the jungle and its flora and fauna. We learnt so much and enjoyed every minute of it.
I highly recommend paying that bit extra to stay here - the funds go to the local community and you can't get a better "eco" friendly experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review.
I hope that your comment will inspire others to enjoy nature and to support the Amazonian indigenous community of San José de Uchupiamonas.
We would very much like you return to Chalalan, please contact us at info@chalalan.com and mentions you read this note through TripAdvisor.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our guide had a great sense of humour and made our experience fun (he even took us rafting on the river). We saw some amazing wildlife and the environment was very relaxing. The food was amazing (and we're vegetarian so a bit picky). The accommodation was superb. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodlegs_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
We really appreciate you have written this generous review for Chalalan.
We are pleased to have been able to meet your expectations. We would love to return to Chalalan and appreciate you contacting us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did the 3 days 2 nights and if you're wondering whether its worth doing the 4 day tour like we were, my advice is this... Most of the activities are walking in the jungle during the day or night and also boating on the lake during day or night. I beleive if you do the 4 day tour you go fishing for paranas on the last day. So its up to you whether you want to do that or not.

We wanted a taste of the Bolivian Amazon and we got that and more! Our guide told us lots on the long but not strenous walks. The lake is beautiful and you can swim in it, and you can also see Ceamons (small crocs) in it too!

The rooms are more luxury than I ever could have imagined in the jungle and the food is good!

There was a tarantula in one of the rooms and a frog, but the staff were told and they got rid of it!

We saw lots of insects, birds and animals and it did feel like an adventure (just a luxury one - we 'splurged' as the Lonely Planet says...) the plane there is tiny and exciting and the 5 hour boat trip down the river feels cool!

Ummm... I think thats about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados amigos; Agradecemos profundamente sus buenos comentarios ¡ Su visita al Albergue Ecológico Chalalan, ha sido también, para nosotros un experiencia excelente, gracias por habernos permitido enseñarles sobre el turismo ecológico sustentable y compartir con todos ustedes, nuestro conocimiento sobre el bosque tropical y nuestra cultura.
Su visita, ha motivado a seguir mejorando nuestros servicios, y estaremos muy gustosos en volverlos a tener en un futuro inmediato. Garcias a Todos…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

So wonderful! Going to this place really is more than just traveling, this is an amazing experience in an amazing place! Worth every penny! This was definitely a highlight in our 4 country South America trip. It is right up there with Machu Picchu. Richard was our guide and he was perfect, I liked his laid back attitude and his english was great . He was also very informed about the jungle and everything in it. I loved having our own jungle cabin and waking up hearing the rain. Incredible!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
We are grateful for your kind review on Chalalan.
We would be happy to receive you again, we would appreciate you contacting us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

One of my primary criteria for a visit to a national park is the remoteness, as I want to be as far from the fringes of the park as possible.

Indeed there is only one other operation that is deeper into the park from Rurrenabaque - Berraco del Madidi.

As the jungle is incredibly dense, and with very few natural clearings, the rivers and lakes are the only natural observation sites. Thus your several hour long trip to and from Chalalan will offer sightings of countless species of birds, insects and many species of mammals in their natural setting, opposed to on land, as there you’ll most likely see their back-side as they are quickly moving away from you in prey-mode.

The lodge is located 2km from the Tuichi river and the staff will transport your luggage by wheelbarrow.

When you finally reach the lodge you might first wonder where the lake is or if you’ve even arrived, as the jungle is left intact very close to all the buildings, and there is no opening to the lake except a narrow path to the pier. So no lakeviews for any of the cabins.

There are two sets of cabins – old and new. I stayed in a really nice new cabin – the Strangler Fig (don’t remember the native name). The new cabins are private and quite a distance from the neighboring one, so you’ll only hear the sounds of the jungle. Which is how I like it!

You’ll also notice there is no gardening in the sense that very few local species are brought into the grounds of the lodge so the visitors can see the insects and birds that eat from them. In other lodges and countries they bring many of the local insects and birds to the garden simply by cultivating the local plants that eat from, and thus the visitors can simply observe their natural behavior instead of walking and intruding.

The lodge has created an observation platform on the hilltop in the southern end of the Chalalan lake, which is highly recommended and a plus to the lodge, as here you can observe from a vantage point in which you’ll be level with many of the birds flying between the trees. You’ll also have a beautiful view of the park towards the eastern mountain range, which is the natural border of the park.

They also have a new platform set up on a mud lick, where tapirs and peccaries come to eat the mineral and salt rich mud. This is also a plus to the lodge, as waiting is much better than walking into the natural behavior of the fauna. Best time is dusk and dawn. As I visited during the midday, I could only see the huge number of tracks. For those able to wait in the right time, you have a great chance to see some local fauna in their natural behavior.

There is a huge network of paths, and you can even walk to the neighboring Santa Rosa lake, but you won’t make it roundtrip in one day! You’d better take the boat back, or start there with a boat and walk back. Santa Rosa lake is many times larger than Chalalan, and offer a different landscape and a lake with a large population of big Caimen!

One morning a large group of White-lipped Peccaries was heard in the south-end of the loge. Instead of either waiting for them to approach, or having treats of their local foods at a specific place where we could sit and wait, it turned out more of hunting session than an observation of their natural behavior. Naturally we mostly saw their behinds, and heard their loud mouth-snapping to make us go away.

I discussed this with the guides, and it is apparently something of a generation thing, as the elders seem to think in old trapping and hunting ways, while the young generation is thinking in terms of natural behavior and waiting game. The idea of setting up a canopy tower has been debated for many years, but the elders have stopped this from becoming a reality. The young generation totally understands what an asset it is to have a canopy tower set up close to for instance a fig tree, which would be inundated with fig-eating visitors for months on end.

Currently the dominating method to see the local fauna is by long walks, and for the casual observer, and novice this is perhaps OK, but for those really interested, and photographers, setting up hides and observations towers on strategic places is a boost for the visitors and the lodge alike.

There is one such location, though – not so glamorous – as it’s a result of the kitchen’s biological waste. You’ll see many species of lizards, bees, butterflies and other insects – and occasional mammals - foraging in the various fruits and vegetables. Sitting high above in the huge tree you’ll see the “Chalalan vultures” – always looking out for a possible leftover.
I would really like to go further up theTuichi river, as the river is an excellent observation point but logistically it was not possible during my stay, so I instead went downstream to the Santa Rosa lake.

I had an immensely juicy and tender catfish, and one breakfast had really nice pastry. The pastry was never again seen at any of the following breakfasts, unfortunately. Nor was the tender catfish. In the following fish dishes the fish was fried dry and the same was the case with the chicken. Even the soup was way below the ones I had enjoyed in the other parts of Bolivia.

That said, the staff is incredibly service-minded and friendly and I would not hesitate to come back to Chalalan. It is after all in the middle of the national park and logistics is really difficult and time consuming. Some improvement in the kitchen and this will be unbeatable!

Photos from Chalalan: http://www.ross.no/communicate/tag/madidi/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergue C, Gerente at Chalalan Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
We are grateful for your excellent and comprehensive review on Chalalan.
Our lodgecontribuye effectively to the conservation of Madidi National Park and the indigenous community of San José de Uchupiamonas, owner of the hostel, so we hope that your review will inspire others to visit Chalalan and thus contribute to these causes.
We would be happy to receive you again, we would appreciate you contacting us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madidi National Park
0.1 mi away
Serere Eco-Reserve
Serere Eco-Reserve
#1 of 12 in Rurrenabaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
149.2 mi away
Boutique Eco Resort and Spa Allkamari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalalan Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalalan Ecolodge

Property: Chalalan Ecolodge
Address: Rurrenabaque, Bolivia | Comercio Street, half block from the main square, Madidi National Park, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Madidi National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Madidi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalalan is an ecological lodge located in the heart of Madidi National Park, the most biodiverse on the planet, with more than 1000 species of birds and 1000 species of butterflies, in the heart of the Bolivian Amazon. The cabins are built in the traditional style of the Tacana indigenous people, with roofs of jatata (Geonoma deversa) and walls of chonta (Iriartea deltoidea), equipped with mosquito nets, private bathrooms, with a solar energy system that feeds the whole hostel and water Hot solar thermal for 30% of the accommodations. We accommodate up to 30 guests with all the comfort in the jungle. Our specialty is the environmental interpretation walks by the beautiful trails that leave from the shelter and the routes in rowing canoe by the lagoon Chalalan. This venture effectively contributes to the conservation of biodiversity and to the economy of the indigenous people of San José de Uchupiamonas, owner of the lodge. Our hostel is on the shore of the Chalalán lagoon, has double, triple and triple cabins, a dining room equipped with a bar and a rest room. It is possible to hold workshops, events and scientific expeditions, birdwatching, fungi, amphibians or just relax in the hammocks and contemplate the lagoon from our pier and our elevated viewpoint. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalalan Ecolodge Hotel Madidi National Park
Chalalan Ecolodge Bolivia/Madidi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing