We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mashaquipe Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madidi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mashaquipe Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
“Worth every B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had an absolutely lovely time doing the combo jungle and pampas tours. Accomodation was actually some of the best we have had in Bolivia and the standards were high. The food kept coming and was delicious. Our wonderful guide Louis spoke great English and had unending amounts of enthusiasm. Despite growing up in the jungle, he still could be found jumping up and down at the site of a monkey. We had a great insite from him having used all the medicinal plants first hand. Had high expectations of the tour and was not disappointed one bit. Although its hard to compare to other companies as most people only use one, I can totally recommend Mashaquipe!

Room Tip: Def worth upgrading to the privates, pure luxury which was not expected in the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to provide an excellent service and are really pleased that you think our lodge is one of the best you have been to. Luis is a great guide and we are so happy that you could also appreciate his enthusiasm, knowledge and passion for his home. He always likes to add a few more words to his English when he can so it's great you found his English good. Our cooks always do their best to provide plenty of tasty food so, again, we are glad that they succeeded in this for you.
Thanks again for your review. We always like to know what our visitors think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
100
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Your stomach will thank you when you get to Mashaquipe Lodge where Wilson the chef will take care of you, especially if you've been travelling on a budget for a while. My husband and I just could not believe how good and plentiful the food was! You'll then be shown your cabin and it's so dreamy...even the toilets have those chic tiles like a hotel would! And they are bang in the Amazon jungle, in this beautiful location with coffee trees and howler monkeys! The guides were also amazing, especially Eloy who tries his best to explain everything slowly and in English. He is a master of animal sounds and he will ensure your stay is the best. Five star ratings for this lodge. I would even recommend it for families with young children - that's how comfortable and clean it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you had a great time at our lodge and found it clean and comfortable. We agree Wilson is a fantastic chef. We are really proud of him. We are also very pleased that Eloy gave you a great service. Our guides like to do their best and give their visitors a memorable experience. Thanks very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Mashaquipe has the best guides (special thanks to Darwin...), i went with a friend to pampas tour, hundred of animals , great expedition.
They have a new eco lodge , we stayed there, was clean, good food and incredible ubication.
This agency its expensive vs others but you pay for what u receive....
I recomend Mashaquipe for Rurrenabaque tours, with friends, family or alone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We really appreciate hearing what people think of our service. We are very glad that you had a great experience, that you thought your guide, the food and the lodge were good. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Mashaquipe were very attentive and delivered what it said on the can....we first contacted them by email from London and they were very responsive, and even booked our tickets from La Paz to Rurrenabaque for us on trust and without commission. Their jungle lodge could have been a bit further up the Beni river, but we had a great guide and learnt so much, and saw more than our fair share. Loved the raft building and the rafting itself! After 3 nights in the jungle, we did the Pampas transfer and again saw everything we hoped for...highlights being the sloths and an anaconda - the latter again thanks to our guide who went well off the beaten track (unlike other companies). They were very eco friendly and the food was great. Only slight criticism was the lack of privacy in the 'private' rooms...there was no wall separating our room from the next! But it didn't really matter as lights went out early, ready for the dawn start.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikitak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you had a great time with us and enjoyed the different activities we offer in the jungle. We are also glad that you saw so many animals whilst in the pampas. We do our best to offer an excellent service so we are always glad to hear what people think.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We timed our arrival perfectly as they had just moved into their new site. It is fantastic. Peaceful and quiet. Lovely cabins that are a good size. Everything is very clean obviously helped by being so new.
Food was excellent, service from all the staff very friendly, efficient and relaxed. Billy, our guide, spoke excellent english, was great at pointing things out that we hadn't seen and also telling us about the habits of the different animals and telling us all their names. He then spent nearly two hours trudging through the swampy part of the pampas to find an Anaconda for us to see. Brilliant.
The amount of wildlife seen along the river was incredible. Non stop. Alligators, caimans, kingfishers, river dolphins, birds galore, capubaras etc etc. Swimming in the river surrounded by it all was quite an experience too :-)
More expensive than a lot of the other providers but 1st rate service, fantastic isolated location and reassuring to know that these guys are eco friendly and very focused on supporting the local communities and preserving the environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PorthosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are very glad that you had a great time in the pampas and that you found the new lodge to be clean and comfortable. Yes it is very easy to see animals and birds in the pampas and we're very glad that your guide gave you such a good service, both with his knowledge and the fact he speaks English quite well.
We do our best to minimise our impact on the natural environment whilst showing our visitors its wonders so we are always glad to know when we have achieved this.
Thanks again for your review. We really appreciate knowing what people think of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

After looking at the many companies that offer tours to the Bolivian jungle we went with Mashaquipe and could not have been happier with the experience!

When we landed in Rurrenabaque (a day before our tour started), Mashaquipe sent someone to the airport to drive us to their office in town and give us a brief rundown of what we would be doing over the next four days.

We stayed at the lodge for 4 days and 3 nights (including 1 night in the jungle) and had an absolute amazing time. Our guide Christian was fantastic, extremely knowledgeable about the area with great information about the animals, plants and culture of the jungle. The food was excellent, all meals were big enough and great quality. The lodge itself was also excellent, the rooms were comfortable (with mosquito nets which is an absolute must) and the bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The activities were definitely the highlight, we did not simply walk around the jungle for 4 days, Mashaquipe included a night of camping, fishing for piranhas, visiting a local community and even a rafting trip - definitely a good variation.

Mashaquipe are an excellent company and compared to some other companies are extremely cheap. They look after the area were the lodge is and are genuinely concerned about the well being of the jungle and the animals within it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeBanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We really appreciate the fact you have found the time to write about your experience with Mashaquipe.
We are very pleased that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed all the activities we offer. We are also really glad that the lodge was clean and comfortable and that you were given great food. We do our best to offer a great service so it's very rewarding for us to know when we have achieved that.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Mashaquipe is a very responsible an ecology-friendly company who respects flora & fauna. This is one of the reasons why I chose them. We were tree people in the tour with one guide (who grew up in the jungle like all the other guides as well) and we had one cook. The small group provides higher chances to spot animals and you can ask all questions you want. Our guide explained us amazing things about local communities in the jungle and magic-like plants. He really tried to make us see many animals, but you will definitely see less in the jungle than in the pampas.... In the end we did see quite a few animals such as monkeys, wild pig, macaws, snakes, Tarantula spiders, wild turkey ...

Over all I had a really great experience, learned a lot, ate great food (our cook made Banana cake on a campfire that was yummy!), camped in the jungle. Also, the guides are quite flexible and offer you some options to put your itinerary together with all the activities you would like to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadinchensun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawil77, Manager at Mashaquipe Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are really glad that you had a great time with Mashaquipe. We are one of the companies certified under the Green Action Programme which means we respect the natural environment and try to operate with a minimal impact. We are glad that you chose us for this reason because it is important to us that our visitors appreciate this aspect of our service.
We are also glad that you had som great food whilst you were on your trip with us. We agree that we have some great cooks and guides. We are pleased that you were shown so much by your guide.
Thanks again for finding time to write a review. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madidi National Park
10.0 mi away
Serere Eco-Reserve
Serere Eco-Reserve
#1 of 12 in Rurrenabaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Eco Resort and Spa Allkamari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mashaquipe Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashaquipe Ecolodge

Property: Mashaquipe Ecolodge
Address: Calle Abaroa | Between Aniceto Arce Ave y Pando Street, Madidi National Park Bolivia, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Madidi National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Madidi National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mashaquipe Eco-lodge is located within Madidi National Park, in the heart of the Bolivian Amazon rainforest. It is owned and managed by indigenous families, Tacanas, who live within the jungle and the surrounding area. The Mashaquipe tour company also has a new lodge in the pampas, opened in June 2013. We offer tours in both locations.We offer both tours to the individual locations and combined tours where you experience the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mashaquipe Ecolodge Bolivia/Madidi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing