We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bueno!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madidi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bueno!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We can really advise you to do this trip. The place is nice and comfortamble. We saw animals and enjoyed the nature. The food is one of the best i had in Bolivia!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koenvdleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Director of Sales at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear K & M

Thank you so much for your nice review. We really appreciated having you in our remote Community-based Ecotourism project Madidi Jungle Ecolodge. Thanks for your feedback are very important for us to know how we can improve our service at the Ecolodge. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the food! Of course, Madidi national park is one of the most biodiversity protected area on the world, good to see wildlife in one tour. We will be looking forward to having you come back soon!

Alex Villca Limaco
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, Madidi national park, BOLIVIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
102
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freshwater nsw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently returned from 3 fabulous nights at Maddi Jungle Lodge, owned and run by the San Jose community in the Maddi National Park. We contacted Maddi Jungle Tours (part of the San Jose community also) who organised the perfect tour for us. My husband and I had the entire lodge to ourselves.

Our trip was perfect in every way!

Maddi Jungle Tours & Lodge are the perfect example of ecotourism and community-based tourism being done as it should be. We picked this company because of their dedication to looking after the environment but also because we knew our visit was helping to support the local indigenous community directly.

The cabins are simple but have everything you need - hard but comfortable beds (we slept perfectly every night), mosquito nets, showers using rain/river water, no electricity but you dont need it, hammocks to relax in (and enjoy afternoon siesta).

All food was prepared by friendly staff from the San Jose community, allowing us to enjoy traditional meals made with local ingredients grown in and around the cabins. We had so much delicious food, it really was like luxury having all our meals prepared (including in the cost of the tour).

Wonderful activities that we enjoyed included day and night time jungle walks (guided by Freddy, an important member of the San Jose community), swimming and floating down the river on a rubber tube down the river, boat rides along the river, piranha fishing and eating and of course as much relaxing in hammocks as we wanted to.

I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone, especially people are who are looking for an authentic jungle experience that helps the indigenous communities continue to survive.

Thank you Maddi Jungle Tours and San Jose community!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bearsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

i loved my time here...met some wonderful people, enjoyed informative hikes and absolutely delicious food and hospitality.
lisa
ireland

Room Tip: Only 3rooms when i went..2couples (one in each) and then had one for myself...was basic but had ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Madidi Jungle Ecolodge provided an authentic experience in the amazon basin for our group of 7 travelers. I emailed Alex in advance of our trip and he made all the arrangements for Salar de Uyuni (salt flats), Lake Titicaca and La Paz. The ecolodge featured expert animal spotters, a float down the river, marvelous jungle sounds, and story telling around the campfire. The best part is knowing that your stay directly benefits the indigenous community. Welcome to South America's best idea for preserving the rainforest and the lifestyle of its people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Madidi Jungle is a quiet and confortable new ecolodge located 100 metres from the river in Madidi National Park.

Only 4 rooms, far from crowded places. It is run by the San Jose community who will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Perfect food thanks to the charming Adela. Plenty of interesting informations given by the guides about the jungle and the use of nature, wood and plants in their everyday life.

A few hammocs also allow us to relax after the daily walks...

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is really recommended. The place is pleasant, the comfort is good, you'are in a tranquility total, surrounded by a magnificent nature. Best food I ate in Bolivia! Thanks to the nice people I've learned making natural jewels and I fished for the first time. Very friendly people. You disconnect from the civilisation and just enjoy simple life. A very exciting experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Excellent Tour. Very tranquil and authentic experience, with very nice guides, organizers and hosts that make you feel like part of the family. Great food!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madidi Jungle Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madidi Jungle Ecolodge

Property: Madidi Jungle Ecolodge
Address: Calle Comercio | between Vaca Diez & Campero, Madidi National Park, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Madidi National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Madidi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is a low-impact rainforest eco-venture created and sustained 100% by indigenous people from the heart of Bolivia's Madidi National Park. The ecolodge is accessible by a 3 hour boat ride from Rurrenabaque, and is a prime location for wildlife viewing, and serves as the base for a variety of hikes of different lengths. The Ecolodge offers comfortable accommodation for a maximum of 18 visitors at one time, and a menu of delicious meals based on traditional rainforest ingredients. The staff are all local, bilingual (Spanish and English) guides, with passion and expert knowledge of the surrounding rainforest. Come and join us at the Bolivian Jungle and participate in genuine, Community-based Ecotourism! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Bolivia/Madidi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing