We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic ecotourism jungle experience, perfect in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madidi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently returned from 3 fabulous nights at Maddi Jungle Lodge, owned and run by the San Jose community in the Maddi National Park. We contacted Maddi Jungle Tours (part of the San Jose community also) who organised the perfect tour for us. My husband and I had the entire lodge to ourselves.

Our trip was perfect in every way!

Maddi Jungle Tours & Lodge are the perfect example of ecotourism and community-based tourism being done as it should be. We picked this company because of their dedication to looking after the environment but also because we knew our visit was helping to support the local indigenous community directly.

The cabins are simple but have everything you need - hard but comfortable beds (we slept perfectly every night), mosquito nets, showers using rain/river water, no electricity but you dont need it, hammocks to relax in (and enjoy afternoon siesta).

All food was prepared by friendly staff from the San Jose community, allowing us to enjoy traditional meals made with local ingredients grown in and around the cabins. We had so much delicious food, it really was like luxury having all our meals prepared (including in the cost of the tour).

Wonderful activities that we enjoyed included day and night time jungle walks (guided by Freddy, an important member of the San Jose community), swimming and floating down the river on a rubber tube down the river, boat rides along the river, piranha fishing and eating and of course as much relaxing in hammocks as we wanted to.

I would definitely recommend this trip to everyone, especially people are who are looking for an authentic jungle experience that helps the indigenous communities continue to survive.

Thank you Maddi Jungle Tours and San Jose community!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bearsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

i loved my time here...met some wonderful people, enjoyed informative hikes and absolutely delicious food and hospitality.
lisa
ireland

Room Tip: Only 3rooms when i went..2couples (one in each) and then had one for myself...was basic but had ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Madidi Jungle Ecolodge provided an authentic experience in the amazon basin for our group of 7 travelers. I emailed Alex in advance of our trip and he made all the arrangements for Salar de Uyuni (salt flats), Lake Titicaca and La Paz. The ecolodge featured expert animal spotters, a float down the river, marvelous jungle sounds, and story telling around the campfire. The best part is knowing that your stay directly benefits the indigenous community. Welcome to South America's best idea for preserving the rainforest and the lifestyle of its people.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Madidi Jungle is a quiet and confortable new ecolodge located 100 metres from the river in Madidi National Park.

Only 4 rooms, far from crowded places. It is run by the San Jose community who will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Perfect food thanks to the charming Adela. Plenty of interesting informations given by the guides about the jungle and the use of nature, wood and plants in their everyday life.

A few hammocs also allow us to relax after the daily walks...

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Estelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is really recommended. The place is pleasant, the comfort is good, you'are in a tranquility total, surrounded by a magnificent nature. Best food I ate in Bolivia! Thanks to the nice people I've learned making natural jewels and I fished for the first time. Very friendly people. You disconnect from the civilisation and just enjoy simple life. A very exciting experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Excellent Tour. Very tranquil and authentic experience, with very nice guides, organizers and hosts that make you feel like part of the family. Great food!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had looked at loads of different eco-lodge options in the Madidi Jungle and finally settled on the Madidi Jungle Lodge - run by the same community as the long established Chalalan Lodge.

We had no idea what to expect, but we could not have been happier with our stay. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and always flexible to our needs. We learnt so much about the jungle and how the different trees and plants are used. We also saw macaws, toucans, parrots, turtles, peccaries, different monkeys and much more.

The 4 days were carefully planned but always flexible - meaning we could have a lazy afternoon in one of the welcome hammocks if we felt the need. Accommodation was simple but perfect and the food was tasty and plentiful.

This is the perfect choice if you want to escape the crowds, pretend you´re not really a tourist and get a real taste of jungle life!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Imogen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madidi National Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Ambaibo
Hotel El Ambaibo
#2 of 5 in Rurrenabaque
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalalan Ecolodge
Chalalan Ecolodge
#3 of 5 in Madidi National Park
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serere Eco-Reserve
Serere Eco-Reserve
#1 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Curichal Hostel
El Curichal Hostel
#2 of 14 in Rurrenabaque
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
Hotel Maya de la Amazonia
#1 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Lobo
Hostal El Lobo
#3 of 4 in Rurrenabaque
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madidi Jungle Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madidi Jungle Ecolodge

Address: Calle Comercio | between Vaca Diez & Campero, Madidi National Park, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Madidi National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Madidi National Park
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is a low-impact rainforest eco-venture created and sustained 100% by indigenous people from the heart of Bolivia's Madidi National Park. The ecolodge is accessible by a 3 hour boat ride from Rurrenabaque, and is a prime location for wildlife viewing, and serves as the base for a variety of hikes of different lengths. The Ecolodge offers comfortable accommodation for a maximum of 18 visitors at one time, and a menu of delicious meals based on traditional rainforest ingredients. The staff are all local, bilingual (Spanish and English) guides, with passion and expert knowledge of the surrounding rainforest. Come and join us at the Bolivian Jungle and participate in genuine, Community-based Ecotourism! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Bolivia/Madidi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing