We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostal Nou”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Nou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Nou
Ranked #1 of 1 Crespia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostal Nou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Hostal Nou. Joan & Elena were wonderful hosts, they made phone calls for us, gave us excellent local advice, the room was very comfortable, the setting of Hostal Nou in the middle of tranquil countryside was just what we like, the dinners were very tasty, and especially when it was warm enough to eat out under the stars - magical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Judith
Thank you very much for your opinion
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and food so much. We will do every effort to keep on trying to meet (and to exceed if possible) our guests expectations regarding our place, service and cooking.
We hope to see you in the near future and wish you all the best

Elena & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The couple running the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. They spoke perfect English. Despite this, some of the information in the pack in the room was only in German, Spanish and Catalan, but not in English. The dinner was slightly hit and miss. One night it was delicious, tasty, fresh and inventive- another night, the main was a piece of duck breast with a fruit compote- no vegetables- but there was a salad to start and some bread. The swimming pool was clean and unheated. The room had a good shower. It was slightly dark in our room- only having a small window- this was not helped by the dark paint. Mosquito screens were fitted. The breakfast was really good- with cheese, meat and fruit in addition to normal breakfast food. The setting was great- very rural- yet close to the beaches and centres of Girona and Figueres.

Room Tip: Ask for a lighter room on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresmyhatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice opinion and comments.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and stay at our place and will take note of your comments to keep on improving our facilities, services and offer to our guests every day. In fact now all rooms have the information pack in English as well. We change menus every day and try to meet all tastes and expectations using local high quality ingredients and creating dishes based on traditional local recipes.
We hope to see you again. Best wishes!

Elena & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Huge, old stone-building in the middle of nature, Hostal Nou and their owners (Joan and Elena) were for us a warm, relaxing spot in our journey. We stayed in a comfortable, big room and could stay as long as we wanted the next day bathing in the pool and reading under the shade of trees. Staying for dinner is certainly advisable, as the night is quiet and food (cooked by Elena) and wine are nourishing and savory. Friendly, good people in a nature environment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guests
Thank you so much for your nice opinion.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, our facilities and food and that we could make our contribution to a successful visit to our area. This is the best reward we can get from our activity, which is our passion as well.
Thank you again. We are looking forward to meeting you andother time and wish you all the best

Elena & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were welcomed by the very friendly host who spoke excellent English. The rooms are very comfortable with large & comfy bed with a wonderful shower. The gardens are beautiful with a nice swimming pool. The evening meal was delicious as was the wine. We ate outside on a beautiful evening & all 3 couples had their own private terrace in which to enjoy it. A background of delightful birdsong completed the ambiance.
A very good 'help yourself' breakfast the next morning completed a very lovely stay, I just wish we could have stayed longer.
I will definitely recommend Hostal Nou de Crespia to friends & hopefully we will return ourselves soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guests,
We are very happy to read your nice comments about your stay at our place. Thank you very much.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, our food and the atmosphere of our place. We keep on trying to keep and improve the level of our offer, facilities and services. It is nice to read that we meet our guests expectations and that you want to come back another time.
Thank you again and see you again soon!

Elena & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very overdue review especially considering how much we enjoyed our 2 nights here. We wish we had more time to stay in this fabulous place! We had never been to Spain before so this was an outstanding introduction. We were warmly welcomed and shown our room. But not only this...we were shown all the areas we could enjoy...the lounge, games, garden and pool. This is no B&B where the guests just leave their rooms for meals...no...the guests are warmly welcomed to an entire house. We would describe it more as a lovely simple boutique hotel. We had a family room and it was a very generous size with a lovely bathroom. We hadn't booked dinner but were invited to stay and we were so pleased we did. Joan gave us really good travel suggestions for our next day. He and Elena speak great English and the restof he guests were from various places within Europe.

We chose this place because it was gorgeous and value for money. Why stay at expensive beach resorts when you can enjoy such a great place and just day trip where you want to go. We would love to return and are recommending it to everyone we speak to. What a find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Owner at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are delighted with your comments on your stay and experience at our place. Thank you very very much. This is much more rewarding than anything else our activity can provide to us. It is also a very challenging incentive for us to keep on trying to improve the level of satisfaction of our guests. We look forward to meeting you again and to having the chance to help you getting to know more things and place about our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hostal nou is a very cosy place, warmly decorated in a children's friendly way. The house is open and spacy to feel relaxed, all in a very casual way. The way the owners Joan and Elena welcome you makes you feel immediately on holiday. They are both lovely people with a cultural background, and have travelled around the world. They manage their Hostal with respect for nature and rest, but in child friendly way. The local Catalan farm food is served with a light jazzy background music and candlelight. Children have different simpler menu's.
Rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day.
We recommend this Hostal for people that like to be in the countryside in a cosy and restful place and meanwhile have culture and art within 25 km distance.
We stayed with 3 couples and 11 children together and had a fantastic week !

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same size. 1 room in the ground floor is probably a bit quieter as being awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Geert and family,
We are very happy to read your nice comments about your stay at our place. Thank you very much.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, our food and the atmosphere of our place. We keep on trying to keep and improve the level of our offer, facilities and services. It is nice to read that we met or even exceeded your your expectations.
Thank you again. It was great having you here and we are looking forward to meeting you again another time.

Elena & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hostal Nou is owned by a lovely couple and their two small children. They are very friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive; they are helpful in every way. There is a pool and large grounds for children and adults alike to enjoy. The interior is tastefully furnished in a style to suit the house. We felt very relaxed and the casual atmosphere suited us, we were made to feel very much at home. Our room was very clean, with a comfortable bed and very good shower. Elena is an excellent cook and we recommend eating your evening meal there, as it is as good as you would find in any local restaurant (better actually!). The continental breakfast was also excellent, you are left alone to choose from the delicious meats and cheeses, local breads and honey. This really is a fantastic place to stay for families and couples; we were sad to leave and will be returning. We have no hesitation is recommending Hostal Nou to anyone.

Room Tip: We saw three of the rooms and each one was as good as the other, so no need to choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalnou, Propietario at Hostal Nou, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Jill, Lydia, John and Andrew. Thank you very much for your opinion, which makes us more than happy. Our main motivation is to make our guests feel comfortable and at home and we feel more than rewarded when it happens. It was a pleasure having your lovely family here and we all missed you when you left (the kids and Beltza too).
We are all looking forward to your return some day.
Warm regards from Elena, Joan, Pere, Guiu and Beltza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crespia
3.7 mi away
Apartamentos Suites Vila Birdie
4.7 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 7 in Besalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Anamaria
Hotel Casa Anamaria
#1 of 1 in Vilademuls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Els Jardins de la Martana
17.5 mi away
Can Blanc
Can Blanc
#2 of 6 in Olot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Les Roques
Hotel Les Roques
#1 of 1 in Bascara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Nou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nou

Property: Hostal Nou
Address: Veinat Llavanera, 3, 17832 Crespia, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Crespia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crespia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Nou 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal Nou is an old hostel from the seventeenth century, which has been carefully restored and adapted to recover its original use, now as a country house hostel, keeping and respecting its old structure by combining it with traditional and modern architectural and decorative elements. It is located 15 KM away from Banyoles, Figueres and Besalu, in the heart of the Girona province, in an idyllic, peaceful and silent spot surrounded by forests, fields of sunflowers, wheat, walnut and olive trees, which makes it the perfect place to relax and to enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Nou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing