We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill
Ranked #1 of 2 Edern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay. We were given a really warm welcome . The room was beautiful with a huge bed and everything you could possibly need. The breakfast was by far the best ever. Without fault. We ate both nights in the Ship which was literally a 2 minute walk. The food and ambience of this Bistro was excellent. We also walked from the B&B over the fields down to the Ty Coch (20 min walk).Well worth a visit just to experience it. It was really special. We would thoroughly reccommend this bed and breakfast . It was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulnBarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night say at Yr Hen Felin and cannot speak too highly of it. The Red and Gold room was large, quiet, extremely comfortable and well equipped to impeccable detail. The breakfasts were delicious with every taste catered for. We would highly recommend it to couples wanting top class B&B accommodation at a central point on the Peninsula. Carys and Paul were very welcoming without being intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceania14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

What a fabulous B and B.We were made to feel very welcome by the lovely owner Carys for a 2 night stay in the' Rodyn room.
We loved the room and thought it exceeded expectations.The website photos didn't do it justice. It was the most well equipped B and B room we have ever stayed in.Carys had truly thought of everything.She and her husband Paul have definitely gone that extra mile that would put other establishments to shame.
One evening we ate in The Ship pub which is literally a 2 minute walk away and the food was surprisingly good.
After a very comfortable nights sleep we tucked into a delicious,hearty breakfast in the cosy dining room.
We had a lovely stay and felt reluctant to leave.We visit this area regularly and can't believe that we hadn't found Yr Hen Felin sooner.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jane087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

In the guest room we used attention to detail is exemplary. The whole restored house(s)/mill, its features, and your needs are surpassed with care, quality and detail. You will not *ever* be dissapointed

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nthkentman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

This bed and breakfast in the heart of the Lleyn Peninsula has the most delightful atmosphere with beautifully appointed bedrooms and en-suites. The whole property has been decorated with subtle and quiet taste and for a genuine period property has not been too modernised during some conversion of adding en-suites etc to the rooms. It's really charming and cosy and doesn't have one ounce of that 'hotel' feel. Everywhere was extremely clean and very accommodating.

The owners Paul and Carys are a genuine lovely and friendly couple and could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Carys is bi-lingual in Welsh (Cymraeg) and English and both have an intimate knowledge of the area - be it in or outside of the Lleyn Peninsula; all in all very advantageous.

Whilst on our three day break my partner and I enjoyed the relaxed ambience of the house and as we have stayed here before we opted this time to stay in the Blue and Ivory room – what a delight! Our room had everything from cream comfy leather club chairs, LCD wall mounted T.V. clock radio, fluffy bath robes, books, chocolates, wine glasses and a thoughtful touch was the complimentary bottled water and fresh milk in the fridge hidden in one of the units.

Views over green fields strewn with daffodils and new born lambs, a pretty garden with the river flowing under the bridge and as the room had comfy window seating we could sit and watch the world go by. A short walk over fields takes you onto the Porthdinllaen with Ty Coch (the pub on the beach) as a favourite place to take photos.

Breakfast was excellent, individual laid tables with fresh linen and a healthy choice of all kinds of fresh fruit, cereals, and yoghurts and juices, all quality locally produced ingredients..... Mmmmm!!!

We dined in the evening at The Ship – what a lovely surprise, we thought we would be going to a country pub, but it is imaginatively decorated and the food was very good. The beauty of staying at Yr Hen Felin was two-fold; a superb accommodation that befitted a 5* hotel and you did not have to look for a taxi, a lift, bus or any mode of transport except your feet. Literally a couple of hundred metres over a stone bridge and you’re there. Car parked safely and no restriction on your third glass of wine - perfect!

Will definitely go back and perhaps try the Red and Gold suite next time?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We love to use B and Bs when we travel and Yr Hen Felin (The Old Mill) at Edern is by far the best one I have been to on the Lleyn. The home is fabulous; it has been restored with love and attention to detail
My husband and I just spent 3 glorious days at Yr Hen Felin. This Bed and Breakfast is absolutely brilliant; the rooms are comfortable and are beautifully decorated. The Lleyn Peninsula (Pen Llyn) is a wonderful place to get away and relax.
What you see on the website is what you get in the rooms. The bedding is very comfortable and the owners spare no detail! The area is amazing with lots of activities to do and things to see. Yr Hen Felin is the place to stay in if you are going to the Lleyn.
Paul and Carys; the owners are friendly and courteous and are very hospitable, their local knowledge was extremely helpful and really did help make our stay a one to remember. We absolutely loved our experience and the whole stay exceeded all of our expectations. We can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccj1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I have been travelling to Nefyn at least once a year for the last 25 years, and before myself, my parents and grandparents have done the same, so when my partner suprised me with a trip for my birthday I was curious as to where we would be staying as i usually end up on a caravan site or in a tent!

Arriving at Yr Hen Felin, i was completely overwhelmed. Even from the outside the place is beautiful, with the gravelled driveway and little garden and stream, it was absolutely beautiful and Paul was there to greet us and show us up to our room and explain a few things to us regarding breakfast (it is served at 8.30am and you get a little slip the night before to chose what you would like waiting for you the next morning).

We stayed in the Rodyn Suite and I literally cannot find one fault with it. It is beautifully decorated and the attention to detail makes the place feel like a home away from home, with the bathroom being equally as beautiful. it is a stunning room with traditional beams in the ceilings and somehow it manages to be traditional, charming and contemporary all at the same time.

There are robes, a hot water bottle, a hairdryer, a fridge with complimentary water and milk, tea making facilities, a heater incase you get cold, numerous glasses with chocolates and even a little box with things you always seem to forget yet need when you go away, such as paracetamol, a sewing kit, plasters and scissors!

I was lucky enough to have some champagne, strawberries and a box of chocolates waiting for me - the chocolates are home-made and you get PLENTY in there, we had to bring ours home there were so many!

For breakfast the next day there is a selection of juices, cereals, yoghurts and fruit to help yourself to, with your cooked breakfast order coming next complete with toast, tea and coffee. All the food was fantastic and once again, cant be faulted.

As for Nefyn and the location of Yr Hen Felin, it is in a fantasic location. The Ship Inn across the road serves the best food in Nefyn for an evening meal, and we have three courses including drinks there for approx £50 so very good value along with excellent food.

Overall, I cant praise Yr Hen Felin enough! Any website i see this beautiful B&B on will get fantastic reviews from myself. For a place that holds such a special place in my heart, you have done Nefyn proud and I cannot thank Carys and Paul enough for making a truly loved place even more so.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LARidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edern
14.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 13 in Abersoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nefyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill

Property: Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill
Address: Lon Goch | Pwllheli, Edern LL53 6JD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Edern
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and personal welcome awaits you in three luxury individually styled suites on a B & B accommodation basis within an old converted water Mill at Edern, Pwllheli on the picturesque Llŷn Peninsula. Nestling in a quiet hamlet on the Llŷn Peninsula, Yr Hen Felin (The Old Mill) offers supremely comfortable accommodation. Warm neutral colours enhance the many period features of this converted old mill and touches of luxury ensure a memorable stay. Each stylish room, with bathing facilities, has its own character with sumptuous beds, fine linen and furniture. Your accommodation will always be chosen for its homely welcome, comfort and great food. You can be sure that you'll arrive to a warm, clean and well-prepared room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing