We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in a time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodlands Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Edern B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay as I was led to believe that it was a 5 star experience. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the reality of the situation. The hotel is obviously undergoing renovation, but everything seems to be done on the cheap. The room we stayed in was reminiscent of a 1970's sitcom with white melamine wardrobes and truly horrible carpet. The ensuite bathroom did not have any toiletries, and the towels were ancient and had been washed to oblivion. In fairness it was very clean, but it was like a caravan's bathroom with cheap plastic tiling. It didn't help that the toilet kept overflowing all night. The bed was very comfortable
Breakfast was adequate, but again, even the food was cheap quality - definitely not 5 star cuisine nor a luxury break. Carpets throughout were threadbare, and the sitting areas were full of sad 1970's style furniture.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeatccj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

quite a strange hotel - beautiful views to the back to the hills, lovely trees filled with birds att the front - but a well screened caravan park adjoins the drive. The incredibly friendly and helpful service made my stay. Nerys and her family couldn't do enough and any little niggles soon ironed out. I was staying with a Ramblers group walking holiday. The hotel has 2 completely different bits. A very attractive old style dinoign room with ample food in the evening - and 2 modern huge bars, childrens play room etc aimed presumaly at the useers of the caravans. The reviewer who turned up for dinner and found no-one there would have found spmeone - the family who run it live in the houses next to the hotel and may have popped to her house - or have been in one of the bars and you go into it through a door marked staff only - so a little eccentric. Might be noisy if the bars in full flight?But when we were there it was incredibly quiet. My room was really quite nice - a bit tired decoratively but very comfy bed, large windows and sun filled late afternoon when i came back. Small ensuite with shower - only problem in the room was a crack in the shower tray - plenty of hot water - and very quiet at night. Main lack was a cosy bar or sittign room for the evenings. Evening meals were ample and nicely served - limited choice but very acceptable food - and breakfast freshly cooked to order with excellent toast - something not always found in much pricier places - but parts of the hotel look very run down. Having invested in the bars they really need to invest in the rest - it would not take much for this to be really nice to stay in. And the countryside and coastline around is absolutely stunning. Good value - don't go expecting glamour or luxury - but a good basic place to stay with a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlawyer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Booked for wedding anniversary dinner. Arrived 10 Minutes early. Place deserted. After shouting 'HELLOOOS' AND 'COOES' for a while concluded the Captain and crew had abandoned ship. I don't blame them. We left for another venueE. THANKS FOR NOTHING WOODLANDS HALL.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rulebrittania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel is in quite a nice setting in a lovely village and near to some beautiful beaches. However, they're undergoing a refurbishment, which wasn't mentioned when we booked. We had to book 2 rooms as there was no family room available. First of all we had to hunt around for someone to try and check us in. It took us a while. We arrived an hour before our room was ready, so said we'd be back in the evening and reminded them that we needed a cot and to put it in either of the rooms. When we returned in the evening (some 8 hours later), our baby son had been asleep, so we wanted to put him straight to bed, but the cot wasn't there. It had been put outside one of the rooms, folded up with no bedding. Our son was then wide awake (by the time we found someone AGAIN to help us and ask why the cot wasn't ready, when they'd had all afternoon to put it in one of the rooms). Then the TV reception was gone in both of the rooms. Absolutely nothing in one room and a snowy haze in the other room. I had to climb on a table to open the top windows to let some air in as it was a warm evening. The water in the shower was cold and took ages to warm up, the walls were thin (so much I could hear the guy using the toilet next door). The breakfast wasn't great and then when it came to checking out, there was no-one to be found. We loaded the car and searched for someone. If they'd not had our telephone number we might have just considered leaving!! I'm sure this hotel has a lot of potential, but customer service is a bit crappy and the refurbishment isn't helping at all. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hall Hotel

Address: Lon Pwll Clai, Edern LL53 6JB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Edern
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edern
Price Range: $73 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlands Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Woodlands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing