We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Village Spice

Village Spice
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Edmondsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A very enjoyable experience for not all that much money, considering! Will come again!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neilpye54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Far superior to the Indian restaurants in Durham City”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice friendly atmosphere, felt very welcome.
Food excellent quality and choice, with a real natural and fresh taste in all dishes.
Much better than expected. Recommend any lovers of Indian food give it a try.
Take a bottle of wine or two and enjoy the evening at this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've been to the restaurant numerous times before; each time has been brilliant in every way. I went again over the weeekend and it was certainly no exception.

Staff are great, very helpful, and friendly. At times i haven't been sure of what to order but they have been helpful in helping me decide what's on offer.

I have never had a bad meal yet at Village Spice; food is absolutely gorgeous.

Recently my mother -in-law visited; there are some foods she cannot eat, mainly onions, which are the basis of curries; staff were more than happy to accomodate to provide something she could eat given some notice. Nothing was a problem for her

The restaurant serves soft drinks but you can, if you want, take your own alcohol.

I certainly recommend giving the Village Spice a try

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than Manchester”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I've been here three or four times now when visiting family. I live in Manchester which has hundreds of curry houses and the famous 'Curry Mile'. This place is still definitely one of my favourites. The staff are always friendly and the food is perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SH2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good Indian take-away & restaurant - you take your own alcohol”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

A regular favourite of ours - 3 or 4 times a month - and always very good.

All of the team in the restaurant are very helpful and it's a really relaxed place. Being able to take your own alcohol cuts the bill down.

The chicken balti & jalfrezi are particularly good and the portions (both for the starters and main) are generous and good value.

The restaurant seats around 40, so well worth making a reservation, especially on a weekend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Family-from-Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Spice also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Langley Park, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Village Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing