We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmarsh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Two of us went on a fishing weekend and stayed two nights at the bulls head...what a fantastic find for us two fishermen. Good location, out in the country. service and food was excellent, would reccommend the steak! Entertainment was brill both nights, it finished at 11pm so we were able to get a good nights sleep in readiness for the early start. John the lanlord was a mind of usefull local angling information and printed us a 4 maps of local places to fish and we got a good catch of barbel, pike and roach. We will be back!
Andy & Paul from derbyshire

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christmas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

Clean very comfortable rooms, GREAT FOOD, fantastic selection of ales and very very friendly and accomodating staff. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My husband and I took two dutch friends to see the Bridgnorth area, The Black Country (where I lived for 23 years until I emigrated to the Netherlands 29 years ago) and Birmingham. We showed them everything the Black Coutry has to offer, The Black Country Museum, The crooked House, Himley Hall, Kinver, and Bridgnorth of course, just to name a few places. In the evening we came back to our lovely cottage and the warm pub The Bulls Head Inn that is right next door.
John (who is very funny), Norma and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is delicious. We had an Irish singing night and a pub quiz night, really cosy. You really can't want for anything more in a holiday than what you get at The Bulls Head Inn and the surrounding area.
We will be back!
Jon, Vanda, Eva and Sjoerd.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drachten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

When we returned from a week in self-catering accommodation at the Bull's Head Inn I wrote 2 A4 pages of notes. Here are a few.
The first thing we wanted to do on arrival was make a cup of tea. The teapot was not only heavily stained, but there were dried tea leaves inside. It needed a thorough clean. There were two smallish mugs, so we went to make tea in them.. Both were stained. I took down two smal plates for cake. Both were smeared and had to be washed. I took a sharp knife to cut the cake: it had food on it, and must have been put in the holder wet, as marks ran down the blade from the cake. I decided to check two large plates: the first was smeared, the second had food stuck on it. The plate holder was dirty, and the cutlery section very dirty. A plastic 'brush' for ckeaning had broken teeth and a web of dirt on one side. There were cobwebs from radiator to unit, in the pan cupboard and on the clothes airer, which had both fittings broken. The kitchen door was badly hung and swung open vigorously. The only pan I looked at had food dried on it.The control knob had been broken off from the convector heater. Bread could not be raised in the toaster to lift it out, so I went to use a fork. The first two I picked up had food dried on them. The lavatory need several flushes to clear. The toilet paper holder was so grubby that we cleaned it with kitchen paper soaked in disinfectant. The bathroom was done as a wet room, but water came across the floor. I picked up the mop to dry the overflow, but the handle came off in my hand. Then we saw how dirty the head was – it was not fit to use. THere was much wrong in the bathroom, but I'll stop there. I do have more notes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vic210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This place is appalling; very small bedroom where you are kept awake by the kareoke bar below then the WC went into 'auto' mode and proceeded to flush continuously for the whole night.
Restaurant was dreadful - 1 hour wait for main course which had to be returned because we don't care for burnt pastry and congealed gravy; a truly unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nucleartraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bull_chelmarsh, Owner at The Bull's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

We attempted everything to please these customers, who were part of a group staying with us. The rest of the group were all very pleased with their stay but despite all of our efforts they left dissatisfied. Most of their comments were extremely unfair and inaccurate, particularly the one relating to an 'all night karaoke'. We have never had a karaoke here and never would do, we do have tasteful live music which never finishes later than 11.30pm. As the price of the accommodation had already been reduced for the group, we declined to reduce any further and can only assume that this is the reason for these comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed recently with my partner and dog and stayed in the separate accommodation at the rear of the pub. The room was small and basic, but clean. The owners were very helpful and dogs are allowed in the bar from which the full menu can be ordered.Given the size of the room, I am not sure that I would want to spend a week there, but is perfectly adequate for a day or two.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Stayed at the Bulls Head Inn, Chelmarsh with a group of my 10 walking friends in mid January 2010 and we all had a great time. Resident proprietors John and Norma King made us all welcome from the very first moment. Accommodation is a bit dated, but clean, warm, functional and all rooms are en-suite. John and Norma have a great team to back them up; all the staff are locals and the staff turnover is minimal.
Food at the hotel is exceptional; the head chef runs the kitchen very smoothly and has a brilliant team of assistants. All the food was cooked to perfection and presented in a very professional manner. The waitresses were great, very pleasant and efficient.
Most weekends there is live entertainment and the standard is very good.
Location is perfect for hill walking, several golf courses are nearby, fishing and shooting is available nearby, just down the road are the Severn Valley Railway, Severn River and the stunning Bridgnorth.
Lots of pubs are closing all over the country at the moment, but John and Norma are bucking the trend, well done the Bulls Head Inn, you would certainly get our return custom. Keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmarsh
8.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
438 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
165 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#15 of 28 in Bridgnorth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 28 in Bridgnorth
75 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Severn Arms Hotel
The Severn Arms Hotel
#11 of 28 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George
The George
#12 of 28 in Bridgnorth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull's Head Inn

Address: Chelmarsh, Bridgnorth WV16 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Chelmarsh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmarsh
Price Range: $87 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Bull's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Chelmarsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing