We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmarsh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A very friendly, family-run pub with a lovely garden. We had a dog so were given an outside room with parking by the door which was great. Fantastic chef - we had only booked two night but were enjoing our stay (and food) so much asked if we could stay an extra night which was no problem. Breakfast was delicious each morning and served with a smile, all the staff were happy and friendly which made our stay extra special. We had a lovely three night relaxing break and highly recommend The Bull's Head Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the self catering apartment which had 2 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen etc but the breakfasts were so good we joined the "hotel" guests for an excellent breakfast in the conservatory just across the garden for 6 of our 7 mornings.
At night the pub had a good range of meals and after a meal in either the quieter conservatory or pub section and after depending on the night one could then join the fun quiz night or listen to a folk night or the open microphone evening. A choice of good beers a plus for us, with friendly staff & hosts.
A very good base offering a wide range of facilities.

Room Tip: Apartments give the choice of meals in the pub or just cereals on your own in the morning, apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The description of the wheelchair accessible accomodation leaves a lot to be desired. It is very cramped, could do with a better clean, matresses are not suitable for severely disabled people(ie they are so thin you can see and feel the springs - danger of pressure sores!) They have a wheel in shower but no suitable shower chair. I was offered a plastic garden chair with arms on it which is totally unsuitable for a full time wheelchair user like myself to transfer onto. That is, because of the arms and its instability. They claim to have been assesed by an organisation called CARE, I do not know of them and I have been involved in access audits for many years.
Also if it is raining you will get wet going to the hotel for meals etc. , the rooms are across the garden from the hotel building.
We could not stay because of the unsuitability of the accomodation and were refused a refud of our deposit.
Very dissapointing!!

Room Tip: Ask for photos and an access statement for disabled travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Whilst our stay at the Bull was pleasant with clean and well furnished room, the bed was pretty awful: small and with a very uncomfortable cheap mattress with every spring felt during a poor nights sleep. For the sake of either a good mattress topper or decent mattress, we would rate our stay very good indeed. Good hosts and tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89BeeW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Very hospitable proprietors. Comfortable room. Food in the restaurant is excellent quality and value for money. Particularly recommend the locally shot pheasant when in season. Breakfast fulfilled every expectation with good quality local produce.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redlionlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I visited the Bull's head twice this past year and really enjoyed it there.
John and Norma were extremely hospitable, as were the rest of the staff.
We stayed in the self catering units, which are very cosy. Only dined in the restuarant a few times, (Had our own kitchen) and the food was good, as was the entertainment.
The location is perfect, set in the heart of England with many historical places close by.
I would highly recommend the Bull's Head to my fellow Americans looking for that Old English experience. You will need to drive on the other side though.
David Pickett, Alta Loma, California, USA

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My new wife and I chose to hold our wedding reception at the end of September because of the beautiful location and the help and advice given by Norma prior to the event. On the day of the wedding, the attention and service we received from our hosts was impeccable. The pre-arranged afternoon buffet for our 50 guests was excellent, and most people stayed until the bar closed in the evening. John was the perfect 'mine host' and he and his staff ensured that everyone enjoyed the evening.
Many of our guests stayed overnight and, without exception, everyone was full of praises for the standard and cleanliness of the accomodation. Breakfast the following morning was first class, and we all left having had a memorable weekend.
We'll definately be back!

Room Tip: Tell Norma your preferences as we did, and she will do all she can to ensure you are happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgsmnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmarsh
3.6 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 28 in Bridgnorth
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dinney
The Dinney
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 28 in Bridgnorth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The George
The George
#12 of 28 in Bridgnorth
122 reviews
3 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 28 in Bridgnorth
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 28 in Bridgnorth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull's Head Inn

Address: Chelmarsh, Bridgnorth WV16 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Chelmarsh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmarsh
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Chelmarsh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing