We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue”
Review of The Old Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bomere Heath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Bomere Heath B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at The Old Station for two nights, the owners were friendly and helpful, the room was well furnished and very clean and the food was delicious and well presented on Minton fine bone china. I would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 52Sue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The previous reviews have said it all!
This is a great place to stay, Margaret & Colan are wonderful hosts welcoming guests into their beautiful home.
The breakfast is excellent, with the best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted. The evening meal is equally delicious and plentiful. Served on fine china with a glass of wine & tea or coffee was excellent value
The room was spacious & comfortable, furnished & decorated to a high standard as is the rest of the building. The house is full of interesting artefacts which Margaret & Colan are more than happy to tell you more about.
This is a real gem & I would recommend it highly if travelling to this area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay could not have been better. Margaret and Colin were so helpful, doing all they could to make us feel at home. The the meals were delicious, the crockery was all Minton fine bone china, the room was uniquely furnished. and very clean. Ours was the Indian Room, and the artefacts and furniture gave us a sense of waking in the subcontinent! Also it was in easy reach of beautiful Shrewsbury and the loveliness of Shropshire. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel was absolutely outstanding. I have stayed here 3 times and each time the service and staff have been brilliant. Everywhere was spotless and the food excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Every room we have stayed in has been brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at The Old Station for one night with our three adult "children" - two female, one male, all in their twenties. Colan and Margaret went to a lot of trouble switching things around to accomodate us, as they knew there were no other rooms available in the area for miles around, but also gave us jolly good value for money which was extremely kind. The house is charming and full of interesting things, they were very warm and friendly and gave us a key to let ourselves in after midnight. Breakfast was good. Maybe they could stock Earl Grey tea in future? It's fairly commonplace nowadays. The trains did not disturb us at all - I only heard one, which was while we were signing in, none overnight at all as far as I am aware.

The only problem was that we were requested not to leave damp towels on the furniture as they could cause damage, but the towel rail was not really big enough for two or three wet towels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very warm welcome from the hosts. Good place to stay when in the area, close to Shrewsbury and the surrounding area. If you are into your trains and railways then this is the place for you.

Antique furniture abound in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1811jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Warm welcome from the owners Margaret & Colin. Fantastic room with the most amazing four poster bed. The room was very spacious, comfy and offered tea & coffee facilities as well as complimentary sherry. Nothing was too much, and both Margaret & Colin went out of their way to make both us feel welcome. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and catered for everyone. We also had an evening meal and Margaret cooked the most wonderful lamb shank to perfection. I would highly recommend this beautiful B&B and we will definitely be paying another visit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Address: Leaton, Bomere Heath, Shrewsbury SY4 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Bomere Heath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bomere Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Station 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRICES FOR OUR ROOMS CAN BE FOUND ON OUR WEBSITE The Old Station is set in the heart of the Shropshire countryside just four miles from the historic town of Shrewsbury. This former railway station built in 1847 has been extensively extended and renovated and now provides beautiful deluxe accommodation. There is one ground floor bedroom and a further five upstairs. All bedrooms are ensuite. Guests staying for more than two nights will receive a discount of 10% from the third night onwards. Pets are welcome and are charged at a rate of £5 per whole stay. PLEASE TELEPHONE US IN THE FIRST INSTANCE ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing