We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind people, but needs to be updated!”

Rockgarden Terrace Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockgarden Terrace Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Spring Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kind people, but needs to be updated!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for a night, expecting a luxury resort. We were very misled when we found out the pool was out of commission. There was little for our yOung children to do. No swimming or beach at resort. Food was good, but not much for children. Walking trails and cave were interesting. I do not recommend this place for you families. Beautiful view, but needs a major updating. Very pricey for the lack of ammenities. I know it was a gem in its day but that day had passed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoleneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockgardenT, Owner at Rockgarden Terrace Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Our goal is to give each and every one of our guests a memorable stay at our resort. We started our resort in 1975 and I can honestly say that our resort has never looked more beautiful and updated, than in the last couple of years. This was accomplished with a lot of investments and extremely hard work. Our guestbook is full of outstanding comments. We are very clear on our website of our offerings and show facilities with picture photography. However if ever there is still a misunderstanding we try our upmost to assist the guests and this was the case with the family and their 2 young children. Our hydrotherapy Spa and pools ( for 16 years and up ) are not open this season and our website informs our guests and our rates were adjusted accordingly. We also reconfirm these points when taking reservations on the phone. Our location and offerings are more suitable for the adults and children over 16. When they made the reservation I stressed to get all the information from our website and that the children could only swim in the public beach that is within one mile from us. I am very confident we also did for that family “ our upmost “.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel is an absolute gem; i have never stayed anywhere like it. Carmen and her mum make you feel very welcome and very special, and whilst you are eating your meals, you get the personal visitor guide to Manitoulin Island, when all the sights and attractions of the island are made known to you. Whatever you want to do, theer is something for you and Carmen knows all about it. The rooms were lovely; we had upstairs rooms with views over the lake. The lounge is very homely and comes complete with resident 'watchdog' in the form of Benny - whether he would bother to get up and chase intruders is another matter. The patio log fire and outside lighting is another lovely touch; the fire was lit each evening and we were able to sit outside and listen to the terrific noise created by the crickets. This hotel is not cheap; as with others, we just didn't have time to use the spa facilities and so a reduction was made to our bill, but even so, it is expensive. However, if you want to spoil yourself and enjoy a home from home and be made to feel very special, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with balconies give lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was my third year staying at this resort, and I keep coming back for a reason. The location is in the middle of Manitoulin Island, making it a perfect base of operations for seeing the whole island over the course of several days. The location is also beautiful. The resort is located at the top of a limestone/dolostone bluff (Amabel formation) overlooking Lake Mindemoya, hence the name of the Amabel spa. The resort has a long history, and while the rockgardens, leading down to the water, have not been completely restored yet, the property is large, with a walking trail and a deep water dock at the bottom of the bluff. I have fly fished off the dock and it is great for swimming as well.

The main buildings are the main lodge with dinning facilities, the hotel block, and the spa building. The main lodge has the front desk, a small gift/product shop, the kitchen, laundry, and the dinning room. The dinning room floor is a beautiful polished multi stone constructed by Ellero (I believe) many, many years ago. As the Argmann family own the business, the food has a German slant, and Mom, Angela is a great cook!

Daughter Carmen runs the spa, which consists of the multilevel, multi-temperature hydrotherapy pools, the finnish sauna, and the spa building with the indoor hot hydrotherapy circuit, showers, sauna, and a very relaxing screen porch that overhangs the bluff. In addition to the hydrotherapy you can also partake in a selection of other spa treatments for the body, face, hands, and feet. Personally, the Moor Mud body wrap is my favorite, and gets me so relaxed I could slip into a coma!

The hotel building has 18 rooms I believe, some with doubles, some with a king. My favorite, even though I'm staying alone, is the honey moon suite because it also has a jaccuzzi tub that I love, and a canopied bed. There are also a couple of cottages on the property for larger family stays or two couples.

All in all a very relaxing, peaceful location with great service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyoftheCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The owners provided a very warm welcome throughout our two day stay at the Rockgarden Terrace Resort. The resort occupies a beautiful location overlooking Lake Midemoya. Our suite was clean and comfortable with a balcony providing views overlooking the lake.
The rate included bed and breakfast - the food and hospitality are excellent. Our rate also included use of spa facilities but as we didn't use these the owners reduced our rate - this was much appreciated.
There is a comfortable communal lounge area with a log fire that provided a cosy setting for an after dinner coffee or liquor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hydro-jets in the spa are wonderful, especially the Spanish waterfall. The owners are German, everything clean and well organized. The meals are good but not exceptional. As a spa, I would have expected massages and pampering to be available. Also nudity in the sauna (we had to buy an expensive bathing suit) and in the massage pools is not allowed. We suggested "couples" evening hours or if the spa is empty "au naturel" times but apparently public health laws forbid it. The all inclusive room rates are over priced for what one gets

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockgardenT, Owner at Rockgarden Terrace Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
We take all of our Guests comments very seriously as we work incredibly hard to provide each and everyone of our Guests a memorable stay. We would like to respond to comments made by this Guest. Yes, we are European-inspired, but situated on Manitoulin Island. Manitoulin Island has a natural abundance of pristine clear lake water which we must heat for our thermal pools unlike the deep sourced underground hot water available, for example, to spas in Europe. Yes, bathing suits are required attire for our pools, which we advised our guests of when they made their booking and they purchased swimsuits elsewhere, not from us. We offer a wide range of amenities at our resort of very high quality and as such, are also inherently costly to operate and maintain. We hope that our guests choose to stay at our Resort with the desire to enjoy all of our offerings to the fullest. These guests did the following as part of their one-night package stay: arrived at 1 pm and checked into an upper level hotel room with 2 double beds, 4 piece bath, with bathrobes, private balcony and spectacular lake view, and enjoyed an afternoon by the fireplace with free wi-fi service, a hike on our nature trail to the cave and fishing pier, a walk down the historic rockgarden to our 50 ft floating dock, a 3 hour relaxation in our water spa (hydrotherapy indoor spa, sauna, cold pool and sunroom with panorama view), a 3 course evening dinner overlooking the lake, a full hearty breakfast and checked out at 11:30 the next day. We pride ourselves on using only quality products in the preparation of our guest meals and always try to preserve the natural flavours. The cost of their one-night package stay (2 people in the party) was $370 together (plus 7% resort charge and 13% HST). We sincerely believe that our rates are very fair. It is very regrettable to us that even after providing the above services/amenities and in addition allowing for a small senior citizen discount which was requested at time of booking, that we still could not gain the customer’s satisfaction, as we always strive to do the utmost for each and everyone of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I recently took the drive to Manitoulin for a few days of relaxation and were stunned to find this wonderful resort live up to its excellent reputation. Carmen (daughter) and Angela (mother) took such great care of us, we felt like we were family too. Their exceptional food and friendly, helpful suggestions and resources for the island really allowed us to relax and just enjoy ourselves. Watching the sunrise from our room's private balcony, then swimming on the dock just below, made it feel like this paradise was our own. The spa was, in a word, a dream. The sauna, pools, hottub and grounds were so inviting, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vixter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here. It was a very quiet serene place. Our room was big, nothing fancy, but we had a nice balcony which had outstanding views of the lake. The owners made us feel very welcome, and they were extremely helpful in helping us find things to do on the Island.
The food was some of the best I've ever had, I wanted to return again just for dinner a few months ago, but only guests who stay at the resort can eat there. We will definitely return just for the food!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Bay
22.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
3.9 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
56 reviews
43.5 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
147 reviews
11.7 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 29 in Manitoulin Island
65 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockgarden Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockgarden Terrace Resort

Property: Rockgarden Terrace Resort
Address: 1358 Monument Rd, Spring Bay, Ontario P0P 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Bay
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rockgarden Terrace Resort Manitoulin Island/Spring Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing