We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location overlooking Lake Midemoya”

Rockgarden Terrace Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockgarden Terrace Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Spring Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The owners provided a very warm welcome throughout our two day stay at the Rockgarden Terrace Resort. The resort occupies a beautiful location overlooking Lake Midemoya. Our suite was clean and comfortable with a balcony providing views overlooking the lake.
The rate included bed and breakfast - the food and hospitality are excellent. Our rate also included use of spa facilities but as we didn't use these the owners reduced our rate - this was much appreciated.
There is a comfortable communal lounge area with a log fire that provided a cosy setting for an after dinner coffee or liquor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hydro-jets in the spa are wonderful, especially the Spanish waterfall. The owners are German, everything clean and well organized. The meals are good but not exceptional. As a spa, I would have expected massages and pampering to be available. Also nudity in the sauna (we had to buy an expensive bathing suit) and in the massage pools is not allowed. We suggested "couples" evening hours or if the spa is empty "au naturel" times but apparently public health laws forbid it. The all inclusive room rates are over priced for what one gets

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karl046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockgardenT, Owner at Rockgarden Terrace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

We take all of our Guests comments very seriously as we work incredibly hard to provide each and everyone of our Guests a memorable stay. We would like to respond to comments made by this Guest. Yes, we are European-inspired, but situated on Manitoulin Island. Manitoulin Island has a natural abundance of pristine clear lake water which we must heat for our thermal pools unlike the deep sourced underground hot water available, for example, to spas in Europe. Yes, bathing suits are required attire for our pools, which we advised our guests of when they made their booking and they purchased swimsuits elsewhere, not from us. We offer a wide range of amenities at our resort of very high quality and as such, are also inherently costly to operate and maintain. We hope that our guests choose to stay at our Resort with the desire to enjoy all of our offerings to the fullest. These guests did the following as part of their one-night package stay: arrived at 1 pm and checked into an upper level hotel room with 2 double beds, 4 piece bath, with bathrobes, private balcony and spectacular lake view, and enjoyed an afternoon by the fireplace with free wi-fi service, a hike on our nature trail to the cave and fishing pier, a walk down the historic rockgarden to our 50 ft floating dock, a 3 hour relaxation in our water spa (hydrotherapy indoor spa, sauna, cold pool and sunroom with panorama view), a 3 course evening dinner overlooking the lake, a full hearty breakfast and checked out at 11:30 the next day. We pride ourselves on using only quality products in the preparation of our guest meals and always try to preserve the natural flavours. The cost of their one-night package stay (2 people in the party) was $370 together (plus 7% resort charge and 13% HST). We sincerely believe that our rates are very fair. It is very regrettable to us that even after providing the above services/amenities and in addition allowing for a small senior citizen discount which was requested at time of booking, that we still could not gain the customer’s satisfaction, as we always strive to do the utmost for each and everyone of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I recently took the drive to Manitoulin for a few days of relaxation and were stunned to find this wonderful resort live up to its excellent reputation. Carmen (daughter) and Angela (mother) took such great care of us, we felt like we were family too. Their exceptional food and friendly, helpful suggestions and resources for the island really allowed us to relax and just enjoy ourselves. Watching the sunrise from our room's private balcony, then swimming on the dock just below, made it feel like this paradise was our own. The spa was, in a word, a dream. The sauna, pools, hottub and grounds were so inviting, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vixter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here. It was a very quiet serene place. Our room was big, nothing fancy, but we had a nice balcony which had outstanding views of the lake. The owners made us feel very welcome, and they were extremely helpful in helping us find things to do on the Island.
The food was some of the best I've ever had, I wanted to return again just for dinner a few months ago, but only guests who stay at the resort can eat there. We will definitely return just for the food!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NurseGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We traveled to Manitoulin Island and we were warmly welcomed by Carmen and mother at this lovely spa/resort. The rooms are dated, but the views are wonderful. The place is very clean. The hydrotherapy pools are incredible and the spa treatments out of this world. The food is tremendous and the owners are so very friendly. We loved the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Having just visited the Rockgarden Terrace, we were two of five people the first night and the only ones staying the second night - so the service we received was above and beyond - we were treated as one of the family. The food was delicious and we loved the spa hot tub at the end of each day. The Sunday we stayed Ontario Hydo turned off the power to the island for 5 hours. Our hosts made sure we were up early to enjoy a hot shower then they served a wonderful hot breakfast to our room! They also prepared a box lunch for our travels that day which came in very handy as nothing on the island was open for food. When we returned we were shown the path to the cave and the wonderful fairy tale houses in the woods. The hot tub was back in action once the power came back on and we were personally called to let us know it was ready. The weather wasn't quite up to par (as it rained continuously) but we felt warm and welcome throughout our stay. There is a second establishment in Little Current, so next time we go that way we will definitely stay in both. The rooms were fairly plain but very clean and comfortable. I was able to take the hair dryer from the spa so I was quite happy with the consideration shown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HorseLadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Go here if you are looking for peace and serenity.
Go here understanding that this is absolutely not a five star property but it is clean as can be. The owners take great pride in this place and it shows. I have stayed in five star properties all over North America...most recently the Trump Hotel in Chicago and the Plaza in New York, ...and I say this to only express how much I loved this place even though it is not luxurious. I am used to staying in very fine hotels and yet I still loved this place! The views are amazing. The location is dreamlike. The food was outstanding! I so recommend this place. We really, really enjoyed our stay... This place is super casual...they have two great big dogs who slobber and wag their tails...just know that up front so they don't scare you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Bay
3.9 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
64 reviews
20.9 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
178 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockgarden Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockgarden Terrace Resort

Address: 1358 Monument Rd, Spring Bay, Ontario P0P 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Bay
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rockgarden Terrace Resort Manitoulin Island/Spring Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing