We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fata Morgana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fata Morgana
Ranked #2 of 11 Chora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped in Foleganros in 2011 down near the harbour. We loved the island and decided we needed to return at some stage. That ended up being sooner than we thought, only a year later!
Having looked at several hotels on our first stay we decided Fata Morgana was a nice looking place and we are proved right during our stay.
The hotel has a number of studio style rooms located either behind the nice pool area or ahead of the pool near the cliffs. We chose a room ahead and below the pool to better enjoy the fantastic views out to sea and avoid any pool noise. Having stayed here now, all rooms would be good. The pool, bar and reception areas don't really generate any noise that would bother you and all rooms have a good view. We liked the privacy of our room and the wonderful view you got of the sunset. Just one note is that rooms below the pool get hit harder by the wind if it's a blowy day!
The rooms have lots of space with a sitting area, good ensuites, small kitchens and acess to balconies of varying sizes.
The hotel is located by the main road leading out of Chora which makes it great for getting into town or catching the bus to all other parts of the island. It's only a 5 min walk to the centre of Chora. You don't really get any road noise in the hotel, not that there is much traffic!
There is a nice reception area, a pool bar, seating area at the end of the pool looking out to sea, shaded raised chill out area which is great for getting out of the sun.
You don't get any food included but you can buy breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks from the pool/room menu. We quite liked this as you have the choice of eating in, eating out or self catering.
Everything at the hotel was finished of in a stylish way and was very well maintained.
The cleaning of the rooms was probably the best we have ever known, the cleaners were brilliant
Staff all very friendly

This is a very chilled out hotel perfect for couples seeking to relax for a few days and enjoy all Foleganros has to offer.

So a very enjoyable stay, a great choice and would be happy to recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    27
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
107
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

After a fantastic visit a few years back we decided to revisit on the start of our 3 week, 4 island hopper holiday. It is always a bit scary visiting a place again after an amazing trip previously. We had nothing to worry about as it was equally as good as it was last time. It was again the best chill out location we have had for a very long time. Fani and her team were very welcoming and helpful and we have no problem in recommending it again. We stayed in the same room as last time - the Petrino. This is just above the pool and meant we had only a few steps to make it ot a sun bed and again a few steps into the pool to cool off. We will return sometime in the future. The town has the highest density of restaurants and cafes per population we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: All rooms are fundementally different so it is best to look at the hotels web site where you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJBMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is one of my best holidays to Greece. We were there in June 2012 and had a fantastic time. Fani, the owner is bent to be constantly helpful, friendly and to offer most professional service. We recommend this hotel to all our friends. The island is idyllic and almost car free, beaches are spectacular and far exceeded our expectations. We've been going to Greece for over 20 years.

Room Tip: Room 14 has amazing sea views from bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squaredgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A nice, modern and cozy hotel, with a great view, well-appointed rooms, and within an easy walk to the chora. We traveled a lot in the islands, and this was probably one of the best places we stayed. The owners are very friendly and helpful. A nice pool, commons area, and a great elevated patio with a panoramic view and comfy seating. The bus to the beach stops right outside the hotel. In our opinion, the few negative reviews come from unreasonable people. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the sea. Spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Feta Motgana was wonderful. The staff was warm, great pool bar and the view was the best in the village. It was my first time in Folegandros and the people at Feta made it a wonderful stay, also don't miss the around the island tour.

Room Tip: We had room 1 below the pool area with an outdoor area and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We first stayed at Fata Morgana in 2009. Since then, we have been going there every year, fascinated not only by the facilities and scenery of these exquisite studios, but also by Folegandros itself, which is, if not the most beautiful, certainly the most "unique" of the Aegean islands. Perhaps not the most objective of critiques, yet one that shows the feelings an adventurous, "not-strictly-touristic" traveller can experience in his/her quest of a different kind of beauty.
Don't miss the experience, don't forget to get to know the nice people; owners and staff of Fata Morgana both included. For us, it's always like going back home. And we can imagine for many others too. Can't wait for next year already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just got back from a week at Fata Morgana and it's hard to find fault with this lovely place. The location is fabulous with amazing views, the pool and bar area lovely and immaculate. Our room No. 12 was spacious and we had two terraces with sunbeds although I don't think all rooms have this, some just balconies but they all enjoy the same fantastic views. Easy wander into town each evening. Fani and all her staff were charming and extremely helpful giving us advice about how to get to the beaches, boat and bus schedules, etc. Fani was even able to supply sun umbrellas and cool bag for the beach. Folegandros itself was wonderful, as Greece should be! Underdeveloped and charming. Plenty to keep you happy in the evening though for a week in Chora with lovely traditional tavernas, the old town is very pretty. We also had some of the best food we've ever had in Greece while staying on this island. If we went back to Folegandros, we would stay at Fata Morgana agin wthout a doubt. I've tried hard to think of something bad to say and can only come up with the cocktails are a bit expensive at 9 euros! I would have liked to have had more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igloogirlFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
0.0 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
#2 of 7 in Folegandros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Folegandros Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kifines Suites
Kifines Suites
#5 of 11 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fata Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fata Morgana

Property: Fata Morgana
Address: Chora 84011, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros > Chora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fata Morgana 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 beautiful apartments located in Chora Folegandros, which all embrace the Horizon where sea and Sky meet. We have given a lot of respect to detail, different decoration, panoramic views, and all the modern comforts needed, so in combination with our warm hospitality it is a guarantee for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fata Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fata Morgana Hotel Chora
Fata Morgana Folegandros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing