We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy!”
Review of Polikandia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Polikandia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Chora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First time on Folegandros, we choose this place through tripadvisor and did not regret it! As a group of ten people we were picked up from the harbour and taken to the hotel. A nice place, small but with a quite big swimmingpool and around a nice bar area. The rooms are all different and very pleasantly decorated and well equipped with aircondition, refrigerator, hairdryer and even shampoo and showergel.
The breakfast could offer a bit more for 8€ each, but it was okay. All in all : we would come again.

Room Tip: Better rooms facing the pool because the other side might get noisy due to the clubs in town.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Isabel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 472 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had been wanting to go to this island for years and finally made it! Not disappointed. Still has authentic Greek culture and has not been invaded by tourists, yet! "Center" of town is right down the road from this darling property as is the bus stop -- and this hotel is family-run with lots of charm mostly centered around their beautiful pool. Tons of landscaping; lush bougainvillea. They pick you up at the ferry dock; have a simple but complete breakfast; use of a couple of computers; bar. Family will be around all day and night. The island is small but absolutely gorgeous with dramatic cliff views and plenty of coves to go swimming. Spent 5 nights here. If you want to de-stress, this island is perfect for the cure of a hectic life. And, lots of sweet cats to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: One can choose a room either by the pool or facing both sides of the mountain sides but none with cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborahfilcoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

the hotel is amazing, the location is ideal just 2 min walk from the main square! the rooms are located around the swimming pool and are build in cycladic tradtional style. When you sit by the pool is really relaxing. It is a family run hotel and the people are very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfy. We had an amzing time i strongly recomend it.

Stathis

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stathis x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were very fortunate indeed to have picked the superb Polikandia Hotel for 11 magnificent nights 21st june-2nd july.
As soon as we were picked up at the port we knew that their customer service skills were going to be hard to beat,Irini and her father looked after us on the short ride to the hotel.
We stayed in room 24 and it was very comfortable,lovely 2nd floor views with a large balcony,fantastic Greek shower and the room was cleaned very very well every day.
The warmth and hospitality from the family was something else,Stelios was always available for a smile or some advice and the hard working Irini spoilt us rotten with poolside treats to go with our vodka and tonics at 4pm each day!They simply couldnt do enough for you,we were treated like friends rather than guests,it wasnt just us either,everybody got the special Polikandia welcome
I could go on about the fab gardens,the clean gorgeous pool but if i did the word would get out,the hotel would be full and we couldnt stay!
Trust me,this place is a gem,we will be back,even if Stelios is undercover,he will spot you and look after you.

Room Tip: room 26 is lovely but 24 is hard to beat im sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank don j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights at Polikandia and loved our time there. Fol. is charming, quaint, really what I imagined a Greek island to be.

The hotel staff was incredibly helpful, helping with wifi, arranging scooters, providing beach recommendations and helping coordinate our trip by checking on ferry schedules.

The location is great, just 50m from the center of town and bus stop, along a rode lined with little shops and markets.
The hotel has a lovely decor (reminded me of tahiti but fit in perfectly in Fol). There is a nice pool with a great vibe, chill music playing, and beautiful flowering trees crawling up the building, creating natural barriers between balconies.

There's also a rooftop perfect for watching the sunset over the town. During our time there, we had it to ourselves every night.

Finally, my wife insists that i mention the deluxe showers with 4 nozzles. A minor detail, perhaps, but shows how this hotel gets it right, right down to the small details.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjf7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

May be the cleanest hotel I've ever been!!,,very nice room, very well furnished,,very helpfull stuff,,amazing swimming pool,,full of flowers and green , a real oasis in such a dry island,,,so quiet,, right next to the central bus stop and stores ,,the breakfast was too expencive and not included and not anything special so we didnt get it,,,free transport from/to the port,,,I'd love to go back one day

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georgiakaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

They met us off the ferry and they took us back at the end of our stay. In the meantime we had a very enjoyable time in a hotel which has alot going for it.
The location is good, on the edge of the Hora, near to the bus terminus for the port, beach and Ano Meria.
Meticulous attention is paid to the cleanliness of the pool and the hotels grounds and the staff are pleasant and obliging. The lighting around the pool at night is a delight to see. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable and the provision of a kettle and mugs are a bonus.
On the down side, the musak playing constantly around the pool area was a personal annoyance, so much so that I admit to disconnecting a wire from the speaker above my favourite sun shade. Apologies to Ioannis, the excellent owner/manager, who is constantly on the job ensuring excellent service at this very good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomtom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chora
1.8 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Folegandros Apartments
3.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Houses
Lemon Tree Houses
#1 of 1 in Ano Meria
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polikandia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polikandia Hotel

Address: | Chora, Chora 84011, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros > Chora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chora
Price Range: $103 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Polikandia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polikandia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polikandia Hotel Folegandros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing