We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, only ok food.”

Konoba Catovica Mlini
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Morinj
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great setting, only ok food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were blown away by the setting and the old mill building. Staff were very friendly but we were disappointed by the food apart from the soups on both visits.

We can only imagine the good reviewers here are not at all bothered by what they eat. For example my wife had quid ink spaghetti which had no flavour and my son had chicken skewers that were exactly that - just dry plain chicken on a skewer that literally anyone could cook.
I forget what else we ate as it was a few months back but it was incredibly basic bland food and bare in mind my eldest son and wife that had all fish / sea food dishes are not fussy at all.

This place has a long way to go to be considered a decent feed, to match the ambiance of the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Morocinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    82
    25
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
simonhutch
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“I'd go again (in fact we've just been back)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Firstly, this place gets full marks for atmosphere. We had dinner here a couple of nights ago when we first arrived on Montenegro - enjoyed it so much we have just been back for lunch. The setting is the first thing that gets you. Beautiful old mill surrounded by cooling ponds and streams. You enter down a small path surrounded by tall bamboo and have a choice of indoor and outdoor tables. Outdoor tables come with blankets which all the locals we're using. If you are from Newcastle and are a Geordie you probably won't need to take up the offer.

All the food was really excellent - the spaghetti with prawns, zucchini and saffron would be a good recommendation. The deserts were also totally fab. Great choice of domestic wines to get excited about!

The menu isn't cheap but it is good value. If I'm back in the area I'd go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simonhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were staying in Morinj so it was a short walk to this restaurant which is recommended by most people. We were not disappointed and had an excellent meal with faultless service. Since we went on a late October evening we sat inside, the decor is very nice. The fish was very nice as were the meat dishes.
There were four of us and we had 2 courses each and a bottle of wine and it came to €125 which was relatively expensive compared to other restaurants that we visited, we had some of the cheaper dishes on the menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GKac179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent service and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went for an evening meal from the tripadvisor web site and we were not disappointed at all. The fish was so fresh and tasty and the setting was so beautiful that we went back the next day to take more photos. The chocolate soufflé was absolutely delicious and we all had a w

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomsk, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

To be honest, we specifically were looking for this place in the Boka Kotor Bay , after reading the reviews from TripAdviser and checking photos. And this place met our expectations, even more than we could imagine. Extensive menu, great fish on grill (they even brought a choice of fresh fish before it was cooked). Lovely territory, We even had an adventure with the geese who go there. desserts are simply super. A check for two people with wine, fish and dessert was about 75 EUR. slightly more expensive than we usually eat in Montenegro, but it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekaterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Catovica Mlini also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Perast, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Dobrota, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Konoba Catovica Mlini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing