We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go next door to Franki & Benny's!”

Waters Edge - Hungry Horse
Ranked #36 of 38 Restaurants in Strood
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
kent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go next door to Franki & Benny's!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went to Waters Edge tonight's (Saturday) purely cos the wait at Franki & Bennys was ridiculous! We still waited over 40 mins for a table but were seated in a nice quiet area towards the back of the restaurant. It's actually a cross between a nice pub and a restaurant as you have to order at the bar. The decor is nice & you can tell they have spent a lot of money doing the place up - tv's in the booths etc . Our son loved the kids area with the xbox - great so the adults can wait for the food in peace. Unfortunately that's where the good stuff ends. We waited over half an hour for our starters, and when they did arrive they were cold. Told the waitress who was very apologetic & heated them up but my chicken satay skewer tasted like rubber so I couldn't eat it anyway! They had run out of several main courses, and what we did order again took ages to arrive. It was adequate but nothing special. Good choice for kids at £2.99 per meal but even my 8 year old said the chips were hard and overlooked! Overall the price was cheap - as was the quality. Good atmosphere and service along with the kids centre, shame about the food as this could have become a regular for us. My advice - pay a bit more money for a much nicer meal at Franki & Benny's next door

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumof1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    85
    94
    88
    221
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We popped here for a quick bite on the way back down the M2, this restaurant is just off the M2 at j2, we all had the new york hot dogs which came with cheese and bacon and a portion of fries. It's decent food for the price and the staff are great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good value food bad service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

cheap and cheerfull food, a pity the service was not of the same standard, the young girls serving had an attitude and made it clear they had more important things to talk about with each other than discuss a customers order. A pity because the experience could have been enjoyable, they fully deserved the no tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarrb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We popped in today before going to the Cinema. The staff were lovely and the food was very nice. My only criticism would be that the plates werent very hot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dice52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for the Price and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its traditional pub grub with a few new additions in there. Its very well priced, in a good location and a great atmosphere. Great night with the girls, after the cinema. Drinks are very well priced too. Different offers on right through the week, my best friend especially likes the curry and a pint deal on a Wednesday. Where as Im more of a steak and ribs person. :) You can sit outside with views of the river too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becci-elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waters Edge - Hungry Horse also viewed

 

Been to Waters Edge - Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing