We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap rooms but poor service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Room was at the back so we had to contend with the loading bay and railway tracks. On the second night there were boy racers outside with stereos blaring until the early hours and nothing was done about it

At breakfast the staff didn't clear the tables in between dishes and weren't around to provide fresh cutlery.

When we checked out there were no staff at reception, and after waiting for 5 mins a cleaner walked past who just took our room keys.

So the rooms may be cheap if you book on one of their £29 a room night deals (which aren't really £29 as you need to add £8 for the breakfast) but you'll need to put up with a disrupted night and poor service

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel away from the railway
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bored-Commuter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 937 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel was not well signposted from the traffic island on the main road but after asking a local we were directed to where it was. The car parking was excellent and we didn't have to carry our luggage very far. In Reception we were greeted very warmly and as we didn't know how to use the automated check-in we were taken through it by the receptionist. Security is paramount with Premier Inns and we had to use our swipe cards to gain access to the lift and room. The room was very clean, tidy and spacious. Unfortunately we didn't have a river view but looked over the railway lines which had trains every 10 to 15 minutes running past but they did stop about 11:30 pm. Unfortunately they did start again at 5 am. The bathroom was very clean and supplied with liquid soap for hand washing and shower/bath. Unfortunately there was two of us using the room but only one set of towels however we did tell the reception who resolved this problem but it would have been better to have supplied the correct amount in the first place.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very nice and reasonable considering the extent of the menu with quick service as it was so varied.
Breakfast was self service and was excellent in the variety of the food and beverages one could have.
I did not use the WiFi service but I couldn't get any reception on my mobile phone which is on the Orange/T-mobile network although my other phone which was O2 was fine.
Overall the hotel was excellent value for money and I would reccommend this hotel chain to anyone.


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here about a couple of months ago and I couldn't really fault it.
This time I was on the other side of the building next to the railway. The trains ended at anout midnight and started again at 5:30am. Also the person above us got up at 3am and was so noisy.
Premier Inn operate on "good night sleep or your money back". In the morning when I told reception I was told that I should have requested a top floor room on the other side of the building. How was I to know when I had such a good night the last time?!?!?!
Since the roon cost me £60 and all three of us had a bad night I expected a little more empathy than that!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eating in the hotel was good value for money, although there are several pub grub and theme pub eating houses close by, they are very busy and involve very long queues to get seated. Book the breakfast too because it really is all you can eat and is good fayre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Everything about the hotel and service was faultless. Thank you
Please pass on our thanks to all the charming staff. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and I dont think there was anything that could have been done better

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Welcome, was brilliant, genuine friendly greeting 10/10
Room excellent, housekeeper and cleaner, deserve a big well done, never been in a cleaner room 10/10
Whoever designed the Bar and Restaurant area, did a brilliant job.
Nothing was to much trouble and everything was done with a smile.
The Checkout at the reception was as good as the check in.

Whoever they have managing the hotel is doing a great job, We did not find one poor member of staff.

Are all Premier Inn's this good? And less than half the price of the Local Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had probably our best stay ever in a hotel !

Friendly welcome, good restaurant with variable menu, extremely very clean room with an enticing bathroom, lovely ambience about the place and good location, would thoroughly recommend it !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strood
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
2.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
1.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester Hotel

Address: Chariot Way | Chariot Way, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range: $58 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the River Medway in Rochester Medway Valley Leisure Park, two miles from the town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing