We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely CLEAN rooms, friendly staff, lovely food, Breakfast is a MUST. Lovely view of the River Medway if you have a front facing room.
Even had a birthday card popped under the door for my partner, lovely touch!

Room Tip: Odds and Evens... Odd rooms are located facing the River Medway so lovely view, but saying that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    287
    52
    29
    9
See reviews for
317
306
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A clean and well positioned hotel overlooking the river Medway and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are nice walks along the river. Easy to find and not far from the train station. Also a bus service.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

What an absolute gem if a place. We got a room for £27 for the night. It was super clean, functional and a very comfy bed. The staff we did see were friendly and attentive. Near to a couple of family restaurants and it was very quite apart from the odd train. Try a get a river view. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pressendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great for staying over night before catching euro star early in the morning. Does what is says in the adverts, comfortable bed, bath and shower. My only complaint is that there is to much light shining under the for from the corridor at night. Seems a bit obvious to have movement sensitive lights!! The restaurant is ok but not a place you would go to for a separate meal. The premier inn at Gravesend is closer to euro star at Ebbsfleet but more expensive. So you play your money and take your choice as they say. One word of advice, the A2 is a very busy road during the week day first thing in the morning. Allow plenty of time to get to Ebbsfleet.

Room Tip: Put a towel along underside of door to keep out light from corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 5 lads as the next day we were going to Wembley for football and we were visiting family members who live in Kent so it suited us perfectly. Location wise, it’s right off the M2 so very easy to get to and the M2 is far enough away to not disturb sleep. It’s on an entertainment park (Gala Bingo, McDs, bowling etc), so not dead centre of Rochester (in fact it’s in a place called Strood truth be told, we didn’t research it beforehand so our mistake). It costs about £8 taxi into the town centre. Some previous comments stated it can be noisy at night due to the 24hr McDonalds but we didn’t think so and it was a Saturday night we stayed.

Reception has a self check in system which is pretty good. Type in your surname or booking ref and it ‘vends’ you a key card. Nice touch! The rooms were extremely good, and I mean extremely. Completely spotless and it’s pretty obvious the staff pride themselves on this!! The only downside is that none of us could get any phone signal and, funnily enough, all five of us are on different networks, but it made no difference. I think something needs to be done about that as I've since read other reviews where people were having the same problem. The hotel does offer 30 mins free WiFi – but in this day and age if your Burger Kings and Wetherspoons can offer free unlimited Wifi, I think Premier Inn could probably do this, as it’s one of those little things that make or break places really, imo.

We didn’t eat at the adjacent restaurant but I did poke my head I and it looks lovely. Car parking on site and free.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaiveOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Next door to Diggerland. Close to cinema .restaurants
Premier inn evening food very good just very loud neighbours. Staff not helpful in this matter
So angry. No sleep on the Friday. Tired child on sat spoilt birthday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked this on one of Premier's £25 pn offers. It proved to be excellent value for money. Situated 5 mins drive from Rochester on the banks of the river, it is bordered on the other side by the railway. To your left, looking at the hotel from the car park is the motorway bridge and the railway bridge over the river. The hotel sits in the midst of a complex containing a Hollywood Bowl and Multi Screen Cinema and a number of restaurants, including a drive through MacDonalds. If all of this seems a recipe for disaster - fear not. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and were not disturbed by any of the above at all. From our arrival to departure the staff were uniformly pleasant, helpful and enthusiastic. The Housekeeping staff deserve high praise since the standard of cleanliness was extremely high during our stay. We dined twice in the attached restaurant. Good service, not expensive and perfectly acceptable meals. Fine dining it isn't but then that's not why one stays in Premier Inns. Having said that the rack of ribs was very well cooked and tender. This looks like a pretty new Premier with plenty of parking and a pleasant feel about the place. Due mostly to the attitude of the staff I think. Chatham, Blue Water both within easy driving distance. Rochester is one long main street with no major chain stores and all the better for that. Baggins is a terrific second hand book shop well worth the visit and Topes restaurant, deserves the accolades it has received from other reviewers. Do eat there if you can. Book early. Happy to recommend this hotel as a comfortable, very clean base for overnight or longer stay if exploring this area of Kent.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - much better that looking at the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strood
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
1.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.0 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Address: Chariot Way | Chariot Way, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the River Medway in Rochester Medway Valley Leisure Park, two miles from the town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing