We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Close to motorway, situated in very pleasant location by the river Medway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 973 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have recently stayed in two Premier Inn hotels and we have no intention of ever booking into one again, not least because of their appalling service, and misleading advertising and pricing policy.

Our first stay was in Rochester on the Medway Valley Estate. The first thing that we did not like was the self booking in machine, which of course enables the company to transfer the work to the customer and saves the cost of a receptionist.

We were then asked for our nationality. We are pure English, protestant, and we and our ancestors have lived in England for at least 200 years. We strongly object to this question in the land of our birth. The company have been asked several times why they need this information but have yet to explain. If we go abroad we do expect to be asked, but not in our own country. We then encountered the usual lack of milk, coffee and towels in our room and had to ask for more.

Now we come to our main point of annoyance. Our son joined us at Rochester at short notice but he had to pay £60 for his room whereas we had booked online for £39. So it cost more for one person than two, which is ludicrous. The posters outside each hotel make a big thing about the low rates on offer. However, this is written in extremely large print, and the company do not say so loudly that these prices only apply if you book online several weeks in advance. We consider that this is bordering on fraud and is certainly highly misleading. One receptionist actually admitted this method was designed simply “to get people in here”. The company also put in big letters on their posters “Kids stay free”, but then, in very small print, they say this is subject to a maximum of two children. No doubt this company consider that they meet the requirements of the Advertising Standards Authority, but I am going to complain that body anyway.

The air conditioning in our son’s room did not work either.

We consider that this pricing policy discriminates against people without a computer, such as old people. The company deny this and they consider that old people can book at a library - what rubbish. Many older people do not even know how to use a computer.

Our next stop was at the Premier Inn in Taunton, which we had booked before our visit to Rochester, and this hotel is located right alongside an extremely noisy road that resembled Silverstone.

Finally, we went to Cornwall where the Premier Inn near Bodmin wanted £93 a night, but we decided that this was far too high and we found a Travelodge hotel a few miles away for £60 a night. Premier Inn say that they have a “dynamic pricing policy” Dynamic is not the word I would use to describe it.

We used to like Lennie Henry but not since he has lent his name to this kind of operation. As we said earlier, you will not see us in a Premier Inn again. Our advice to tourists, especially those from abroad, is steer well clear of Premier Inns. Overseas visitors may wish to know that this company, and several others, are owned by Whitbread, a major brewer in this country.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank malcolmthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Rochester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as it is near my son, the minute we walked in we were greeted by a friendly young lady on reception, and the booking in was really simple all through a machine which the young lady kindly did for me. The room was very comfortable and the bed, pillows & quilt were so comfortable, I have difficulty in sleeping but they were the best two nights sleeps I have had in years. The breakfast was excellent and the bar facilities were very good, really friendly staff but no in your face. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulineism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I realise that I'm beginning to sound like I work for Premier Inn, but please rest assured that I don't

We stayed here on our way to Dover. Having stayed with Premier Inn before, we knew what to expect, and we weren't disappointed.

Parking was easy, and the check-in process was very easy, with helpful, friendly staff making sure that everything was OK.

The room was well set out for 2 adults and 2 children. It was clean and spacious enough. The kids had beds, as well, rather than one sleeping on a pull-out. More importantly, we couldn't hear any noise from surrounding rooms, which made for a good night's sleep as well.

The breakfast offer for 2 kids eating free with a paying adult was welcome as well, and set us up nicely for the day's travel to Paris. The breakfast choice was very good, with plenty for everyone to go at.

The only gripe we had was that the original room we had overlooked the trainline, and we had some noise from passing trains. However, I spoke with the reception staff about this and they moved us to a room at the front of the hotel, from where we couldn't hear the trains at all. Apparently the trains run intermittently until 10.30pm and then start again at 6am.

All in all, it was another great stay with Premier Inn. We will use them again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed with the family (2 adults and 2 kids) in a family room for 2 nights. Although the train track out the back was within spitting distance, as long as kept the window closed you hardly heard it. The beds were rather hard but it was clean and tidy - I think it's fairly new. There is a cinema, Frankie & Benny's, Chiquitos, McDonnalds, etc which was really handy. There were plenty of car parking spaces as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekcihey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed recently at the Premier Inn, Rochester. Check-in was excellent.

There is a keycard system to access the lifts and rooms but, the keycards proved rather unreliable. We had to have them changed a few times over our three day stay. Reception staff were very apologetic and changed them quickly each time. Our rooms, however, were lovely and comfortable. Everything was perfect. They were clean, crisp and fresh. We were at the front of the hotel and there was double glazing and air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable. Each day we were there, we returned to a very crisp and fresh room. Excellent housekeeping, lovely staff.

Although the breakfasts were all you could eat for £7.99, we did feel that this was a bit expensive for couples who only wanted bacon and egg and a slice of toast. However, if you have children with you, then your children eat free, which is very good value. There were lots of children tucking in and enjoying the foodfest. We felt, however, that we were subsidising the families.

They do serve a limited menu of 2 meals for a tenner, from 12.00 until 6.30 pm which looked good value. We ate later, however, and felt the meals were not good value for money and rather small. We had to wait quite a long time. There are a lot of food outlets around though, all within walking distance. There is a Mcdonalds (opposite), Frankie and Bennys, Chiquitos, Exchange. We went to Frankie and Bennys one evening. A very vibrant eatery, but that will be the subject of another review! For those who like a spot of bingo, there is a Gala Bingo hall next door! We had a look in there! If you join (free!), you can enjoy competitive bar prices and they even serve food! Prices were good there. We did join, sounded like fun! Got a free "Fan Dabber Dozi" pen, but unfortunately, didn't get to go and sample the joys of bingo. May just try it another time! There were lots of places to eat with offers at each. There's even a cinema if you want to watch the latest blockbuster! There's a Diggerland within walking distance to keep the children happy.

The staff in the Premier Inn are brilliant! Nothing is too much trouble. In particular, Mike, Jamie and Katie were so helpful and friendly. The attitude of all the staff is excellent.

I would definitely return to the Premier Inn, Rochester and recommend it unreservedly, especially if you have kids who like their breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Best one I've stayed in in a long time...very new! Stayed here and took train into london...close to station for high speed.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strood
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.3 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
675 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#1 of 1 in Shorne
539 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester Hotel

Address: Chariot Way | Chariot Way, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range: $59 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the River Medway in Rochester Medway Valley Leisure Park, two miles from the town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing