We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay. Very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay. Very comfortable.”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed recently at the Premier Inn, Rochester. Check-in was excellent.

There is a keycard system to access the lifts and rooms but, the keycards proved rather unreliable. We had to have them changed a few times over our three day stay. Reception staff were very apologetic and changed them quickly each time. Our rooms, however, were lovely and comfortable. Everything was perfect. They were clean, crisp and fresh. We were at the front of the hotel and there was double glazing and air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable. Each day we were there, we returned to a very crisp and fresh room. Excellent housekeeping, lovely staff.

Although the breakfasts were all you could eat for £7.99, we did feel that this was a bit expensive for couples who only wanted bacon and egg and a slice of toast. However, if you have children with you, then your children eat free, which is very good value. There were lots of children tucking in and enjoying the foodfest. We felt, however, that we were subsidising the families.

They do serve a limited menu of 2 meals for a tenner, from 12.00 until 6.30 pm which looked good value. We ate later, however, and felt the meals were not good value for money and rather small. We had to wait quite a long time. There are a lot of food outlets around though, all within walking distance. There is a Mcdonalds (opposite), Frankie and Bennys, Chiquitos, Exchange. We went to Frankie and Bennys one evening. A very vibrant eatery, but that will be the subject of another review! For those who like a spot of bingo, there is a Gala Bingo hall next door! We had a look in there! If you join (free!), you can enjoy competitive bar prices and they even serve food! Prices were good there. We did join, sounded like fun! Got a free "Fan Dabber Dozi" pen, but unfortunately, didn't get to go and sample the joys of bingo. May just try it another time! There were lots of places to eat with offers at each. There's even a cinema if you want to watch the latest blockbuster! There's a Diggerland within walking distance to keep the children happy.

The staff in the Premier Inn are brilliant! Nothing is too much trouble. In particular, Mike, Jamie and Katie were so helpful and friendly. The attitude of all the staff is excellent.

I would definitely return to the Premier Inn, Rochester and recommend it unreservedly, especially if you have kids who like their breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    299
    56
    29
    9
See reviews for
329
315
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Best one I've stayed in in a long time...very new! Stayed here and took train into london...close to station for high speed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel was excellent; it should be because it's brand new. No lack of anything, clean hotel, good and helpful staff (except this evening).

However there offerings regarding internet service, is suffering from missing information. I stay four days, and was offered voucher for 10£ per day, when entering the checking website of Spectrum Internet (Hotel Internet service), I can see that they offer one week of £20 - I have spent £40 for the same.

Restaurant is good in the morning, but in evening really bad. This evening I ordered a shrimp cocktail, this was good. For main course I ordered lasagna with beef. I did not find the beef, and after eating 1/4 of the food, it was cold (I think this kitchen runs with microwaves). For desert I ordered Belgian waffles and hot chocolate and one baily. After some waiting time, I was handed the waffles, and was informed the chocolate will be ready in one minute. After eating the waffles (it took at least 10 min.), I was leaving my table, the waiter came with the hot chocolate, but still no Baily, so I cancelled these two drinks and asked for the bill.

Restaurant staff claims that they are not related to the hotel, this is seperate business. But on the bill the hotel name is written.

You are not able to charge the food to your room, and you pay upfront for the hotel.

To my knowledge there is no laundry service avail.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Have stayed in a few Premier Inns and this one was as good as any we have stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff, on check-in requested a room at the front due to the train line at the rear and although we were originally in a rear room we got swapped with a family who hadn't arrived and got moved without a problem.
Nice breakfast which was replaced regularly so was always freshly cooked, nice view from room and a great nights sleep!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8dingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Room 305 on 3rd floor has fantastic views over the Medway.

Ask for rooms at the front, a railway line is at the back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tip: Make sure you reques a room on the car park side away from the railway.

I did not and hear the train, though upon request they were able to move me to the opposite side of the hall

Good nights sleep, spotless and new. Breakfast was nice with costa coffee and buffet breakfast. Local area 2 min walk 2 bars, Frankie and Bennys, a mexican and a cinemax

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Travelled down for a midweek wedding at Cooling Castle Barns with 9 other people and stayed for two nights.

Lovely new Premier Inn and a great location overlooking the River Medway. Make sure you get a room at the front (two very active railway tracks at the back that start at 05:30am !!!). We knew this before travelling so had requested front facing rooms.

Rooms and the rest of the hotel were spotless and all the staff couldn't be more helpful, resolving several minor issues very quickly with no complains at all (extra bedding in one room and unplanned reservations for dinner).

What let them down was the restaurant at night as the quality of the food was very poor. We were not going to eat at the hotel but chose to after seeing the appetising menu, sadly we were very disappointed...

My partner had the Beef Lasagne, this arrived and was very very dry, most likely it had been reheated from earlier or overcooked. The pasta was dry and no real sauce to speak of. I had the Stilton, Walnut and toasted tart which was supposed to have 'a creamy bechamel base'. The tart was VERY VERY dry and fell apart, the sauteed potatoes served with it looked they had been sauteed the day before.

Both dishes were mentioned to the waiter who said he would 'mention it to the kitchen'. This was the last we heard of the matter..!!.

There are three more restaurants within a two minute walk from here (A Mexican called Chiquitos which looked nice, a Frankie & Benny's and something else) so I would suggest you use these instead of Premier Inn.

The Premier Inn breakfast though was 110%, eat as much as you like for £7.99 and loads of choice. We had this on both days and enjoyed it.

Great hotel unless you dislike purple :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room (noisy railway at rear)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal_Chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strood
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Address: Chariot Way | Chariot Way, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the River Medway in Rochester Medway Valley Leisure Park, two miles from the town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing