We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non - Apres Ski”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torgon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Les Cretes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Non - Apres Ski”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a Hotel/ Time share resort and as such the rooms are warm, cosy, clean and spacious as you would hope, the location too (high up in the Mountain) is somewhat remote and private which is sometimes nice as its not too busy. The problem is the Resort reception/ Bar and Restaurant is like a morgue. Internet is provided only in Reception and as such would not be a chore if you could get complimentary coffee but coffee is (not complimentary) only served when its convenient to the Madame in charge of the Bar / Restaurant as are any other requests. The skiing is subject to poor visibility here and so skiing all day is not always an option and the alternative is to sit in your room or sit in the empty reception. The Restaurant is the ONLY option short of going into nearby Torgon (Car/ Taxi) and the food fare is extremely limited and pricey therefore most chose to eat elsewhere. Having got a drink from the bar i was informed i could not sit in the Reception area 'comfy sofas' (just 5 feet away) i could only sit at the bar (although i could sit in the Reception 'Comfy Sofas' if i provided my my own drinks.......whether there is some dispute between Resort Owners and Bar/ Restaurant owners remains to be seen either way it doesnt encourage a good atmosphere for people who go to great lengths and pay a great deal for their stay here (to arrive here involves extensive travel by car/ Taxi/ Bus as it is very remote.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
33
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aogashima-mura, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

in a resort as Les Cretes, you can see the value of the 45 minute uphill drive from the valley- to the mountain.. as you cannot get any further with your car you just park it, and let your board do the rest. Excellent location, Perfect if its wintertime so you can start your trip with the ski lifts which can drive you through the borders of France to Avoriaz and other villages between the Switzerland and France boarders on a 650km ski terrain!! Thats why my trip to Les Cretes was very good, because it was what you exactly wanted after coming back from a really tiring day to strengthen for the next one - Recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean rooms; excellent kitchen. Microwave, standard oven, coffee-percolator, gas stove, tea kettle, crockery and cutlery were all provided. Clean sheets and pillows, and sparkling clean toilets. However, the place encourages DIY culture - carry out your own garbage; make your own sheets except once in 3 days.

This Hotel is located 45 mins bus ride up a winding hill from nearest railway station in a town called Aigle. We were there in summer - when the village (Torgon) is almost dead - only one hotel open, and one store open. While the view is great, the only way you can really enjoy this place is to go early morning to Aigle and take a day-trip to some planned location. From Aigle, you can take day trips to almost anywhere in Switzerland. The limiting factor is that the last bus from Aigle to Torgon leaves around 6 pm. If you miss the last bus to Torgon, taxi (horrendously expensive - don't even think of it) is the only alternative.

The bus costs nothing extra if you have the Swiss Travel System Pass - and indeed, the beautiful bus rides with a dozen hair-pin bends that we took between Aigle and Torgon itself is so much value that we felt that travel in the rest of Switzerland was free.

The Swiss travel system works like Swiss watches - perfectly on time, all the time. So you can plan to take day trips to as far as Zurich. We took day-trips to Chamonix (actually in France, but accessible using Swiss Pass), Broc, Interlaken, Montreux, Lausanne, Luzern, Vevey and Geneva besides Mt Pilatus and a glacier. We travelled using the 8-day pass of the Swiss travel System, paid in rupees in India. We touched breathtakingly beautiful towns like Gstaad, Freiburg, Bulle, as well on the way.

The trips may take a large part of the time, but they are definitely a major part of the experience - Switzerland is picture-postcard perfect almost everywhere - so much that we stopped clicking photos finally! We used every mode of transport - the intra-regional, inter-regional and narrow-gauge trains, ski-lifts, cable cars, gondola lifts, cog railway, cruises on Lake Geneva and at Interlaken - each of these were experiences. Plus, we gorged on beer (relatively cheap), cheese and chocolates that we bought at the Caillers-Nestle factory at Broc.

Since we returned by 7 pm every evening, we used the free wi-fi (accessible from our rooms) to begin a download of movies of our choice using peer-to-peer torrents, transferred it to USB and enjoyed the movie on the large TV in the room, every evening! Could also catch up on FB, Email, etc. - at no extra cost.

Cost-related tips
Do not shop at Aigle railway station - everything is expensive. Cheese is inexpensive at the only tore in Torgon, which is open only from around 9 am to 6 pm - which means that if you are taking the day trips as we suggested, you will never see the store open!
Cheapest are the Denner and Coop stores. Not everything is cheap - meat is reasonably priced, some cheeses are cheap, and beer is most reasonable - a six-pack of 330ml cans cost as much as 2 beer bottles cost in Mumbai.
We lived mostly on sandwiches with a variety of fillings, because dining out is frightfully expensive. We love bread anyway, so we made virtue out of a necessity, as it were.
Flavoured yoghurt is reasonably priced, especially if you buy them from the Coop stores that you can find in most Swiss towns.
Vegetarians - beware. Pack ready-to-eat packets and carry it with you. You can microwave and have them. Carrying rotis and theplas from home is not a bad idea for the first three days of the trip. Excellent vegetables available in most supermarkets, but they look so perfect that we thought it must be GM in some way.

Room Tip: All rooms have views on both sides of the building, so not much to choose. But the best view is abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Rajesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Nice, clean comfortable and quiet. with a picturesque scenery BUT
THE LINEN (PILLOWS , SHEETS, TOWELS, TABLECLOTHS) NEED IMMEDIATLY REPLACEMENT.
There are no dvd player, radio am/fm player.
You will need car for visiting Aigle (30-35min) nearest station and for explore the area. From Aigle you can travel by train to Ceneva (approx.2hours), Lausanne(approx.1 hours) , Sion e.t.c. (you can buy Regional Pass “Lake Geneva Alps” 99€ for 2 days free travel by train and boats, and 50% discount for cableways etc www.myswitzerland.com).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greece_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

The resort is neat with good rooms and average furniture. Amenities in the kitches are good. The surrounding is beautiful with ski slopes right behind the resort. You can hear wonderful sound of cowbells in the morning and evening. Ski lifts are at a distance of 100 mtrs. Curteous staff members always providing what you ask with no questions asked. Very helpful in explaining the processes generally. Cheerful place.

Resort needs to look into provisions for the residents because it is a very secluded kind of place. Nearest station is Aigle which is about 40 minutes drive from the resort - you have to walk uphill (very pleasant walk) for about 5-10 minutes to get to the bus-stop (it is not a resort shuttle - you have to pay for the transport each day - you can use your rail pass here). Most restricted part we felt was the return timing of the bus from Aigle station to resort - the last bus left station at 6:20 PM which is too early for any tourist to return to a VERY QUIET base after exploring the beautiful Switzerland places - so we travelled a lot by trains all across Lusanne, Montraux, Zermatt, Basel, Interlaken, Grindelwald etc etc etc but we got very little time to enjoy in these destinations as we had to get back to catch this bus at AIGLE station at 6:20... there is no other mode of transport if we miss this except ofcourse taking a taxi at an absorbitent cost which you normally can't afford to pay for weeks at stretch on a holiday.

One more aspect where the resort can be more active - the linen including pillows need immediate attention. The cotton or whatever material is being used as filler is curling and turning into small pebbles which is not a comfortable situation at all while sleeping so we learnt to sleep without pillows.....

Other than that, the resort was located at a beautiful place and the surroundings were extremely relaxing. The apartment was large, airy and clean. Bathroom size was decent as well. Every gadget was working efficiently - no hassels at all.

Cheers - Promila Arun

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Promila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torgon
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
3.3 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
8.7 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Torgon
Hotel de Torgon
#1 of 1 in Torgon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.7 mi away
Castel Club Leysin Parc Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Cretes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Cretes

Property: Residence Les Cretes
Address: La Jorette, Torgon, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Torgon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Torgon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing