We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
52
41
23
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
41
23
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorewasher and dryerroad noisethe polynesian cultural centerhighly recommend this unitkey fobclean unitprivate beachbbq areasnorkel gearboogie boardshonolulu areagranite countertopsking size bednight lifelounge chairsfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 142 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This older building is right next to the Hwy and each unit has it's main bedroom on the Hwy side so the problem I had was that there was always road noise in the bedroom.
Otherwise it's a car driva away from all attractions and better beaches. The beach behind the hotel is narrow and after midday the sun is behind the hotel shading the beach, the pool has the same problem. Ocean there has a strong current and not safe for small kids.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank familyman1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We rented #314 from Hawaiian Beach Rentals. The condo unit is beautiful inside--all new furnishings and decor throughout. The owner renovated it and it shows--everything shines! The living room offers air conditioning. The bedroom is decorated in true Hawaiian royal style. The condo building is on the beach. We particularly loved the ocean view from the patio and enjoyed both sun and moon rises over the ocean. The unit's owner kindly provides beach towels, snorkel gear, ice chest and even chairs for the beach. As others have said, however, the exterior of the building shows wear. That didn't bother me, but there is a smell at the front of the building which is noticeable each time you arrive or leave the unit's parking spot. Thankfully, the smell is restricted to the front only. Despite that, we enjoyed our stay! The beach at the back is beautiful and peaceful. Often, you'll have it to yourself. While walking one late afternoon, we saw a turtle sunning itself on the sand. The manager for the unit is also very responsive. My husband asked for an additional fan for the bedroom (which it turned out we did not need). All-in-all, we had a great time! My husband commented the condo unit was a find!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We rented a condo in this building and were immediately impressed with the view when we walked in. The condo and building are older but well kept and if you come with realistic expectations you will be thankful for the tranquillity alone. We wanted to actually feel like we had a relaxing vacation and this place will offer this as you are no where near the pure craziness of Waikiki.
There are little corner stores within walking distance ( 5 minutes) for general sundries and larger foodmarkets like Foodland about 15 minutes away in Laie to the North.There are a lot of small shops along the way that may be of interest for clothing ,beach accessories, local artists or what have you.
The Northshore is especially cool and can take anywhere from 20-30 minutes to reach depending on traffic.
We spent a lot of time driving all over the island and visiting points of interest and when we were done it was pure bliss to walk into our condo,kick off our shoes and listen to the ocean pounding right outside our lanai.
Our condo was 610 and it came with all the things you could possibly think of and we were very happy with our choice. I think it needs a little updating but it certainly didn't make or break our vacation. If I have one complaint it would be our neighbor who happens to be a permanent resident and has company late into the wee hours. The constant slamming of their door at all hours got a bit jarring on my nerves. I went to the the manager and before I got a couple of words out they asked if it was condo 611 and immediately went up there.
All in all I would return and recommend this place, cheers :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

This Rewiev is related to unit 416 rented by DISCOUNT HAWAII CONDOS:
Our unit was just great, a corner unit with large corner lanaii, clean and big enough. Very fresh thanks to corner location. I can imagine that not-corner units may have problems with high temperature..
The condo is in realy quite part of island, exactly what we was looking for - a comfortable, very quite place for a stay to relax from bussy days of the everyday work. You are in real paradise, the beach is just steps away. However the parkin lot was full every evening, the beach and pool was empty most of the time, the condo is very quite and clean.
I can not say a bad word about the management of the place - clean, quite.
The price for staying out of the Honolulu is the fact that you need to spend quite a lot of time if you want to travel anywhere in the island becouse of low speed limits (most of places 35 mph) so you will need aprox 1 hour to get to HNL, Pearl or south part of the island. Keep this in mind. Anyway, however we need to travel more by car, we was very happy to take this place becouse this was a real Hawaii. We have stayed in Waikiki too, this is just comercial place, in Punaluu you will find a real Hawaii.
Weather:
Keep in mnd that this place is probably one of the most windy part of the island, futhermore, large mountains are just behind your doors.
During our stay 3-12 November, we had only two +/- sunny days, remaining days was cloudy and was raining quite a lot, and, it was very windy. We found HNL area much more sunny during this days.

In overal, I would recomend this place for people who are looking for a quite, real relaxing place. No frills, just relax. Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We were so excited for our first trip to Hawaii only to have our excitement drain the minute we pulled in to the parking lot. We were told we would be able to get in to the condo early, only to be rudely told by the cleaning lady that we weren't allowed in until 4:00pm. Once we were able to get in to the "one bedroom" condo we saw that it really was a studio as the privacy screen was broken, so our friend slept on the day bed (without covers, as the blankets had womens hair on them, and we were unable to wash them as the unit was out of laundry soap...) and my husband and I slept 10 feet away... We weren't able to cook as the kitchen smelled badly of natural gas so we had to turn off the gas to the stove completely. We had to scour the dishes before use, because they were stored under the sink, which smelled horridly of mildew. The unit was photographed well, and well reviewed. Which is why we booked it, but it was actually so much smaller than presented, the paint was peeling, and the unit was extremely run down. We were truly in the middle of no where, which is what we wanted as we had planned to grocery shop and cook for ourselves. Once we discovered that wasn't possible it made meals very difficult as it was 30+ minutes to the nearest town, Haleiwa (amazing town btw). We will never recommend this place again. Ever.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank brienmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews