We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Quaint and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
Save
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, Quaint and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay a Pat's. If you prefer a crowd, an active nightlife, and name brand shopping, this side of the island is not for you. I read a review that described the area as the 'wild west of the island.' We prefer to think of it as quaint. Pat's is indeed an older building, but it is well kept. We noticed, that there has been a great deal of work done on the building's appearance since we stayed here two years ago. The pool is small, but clean and well kept and the lawn area just above the beach is very well manicured with beautiful plants. We've have not issues with the management or with the smell that other reviewers mention. To us the property is conveniently located with plenty to do just a few miles north or south. There are plenty of eating places, grocery stores, a large pharmacy, and even a small theatre just up the road in Lanie. Most of all it is about the views. Many people pay huge money to have a nearly private beach with the views that Pat's offers. Most days we were the only ones, or one of two or three couples/families on the beach. The beach is protected by a reef, so there are not rough waves and some decent snorkeling. The units are owned individually, so it is crucial that you do your homework to select a quality unit. We stayed in unit 310 this time. It was exactly as described with an very nice kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The owner was very easy to work with and we were very pleased. Do be aware that the third floor balconies have a concrete wall about 3 1/2 to 4 ft tall. This was our only regret about the unit. The balconies are larger than other floors, but you cannot sit down and enjoy the view. We would likely consider the 4th or 5th floor next time we visit Pat's, which we hope to do again. The only reason that I have given it a less than perfect score is that I am honest about it not being a 'luxary' building. Overall, we consider this area and these condos an affordable hidden gem that allows us to enjoy a piece of paradise a very reasonable price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City Ut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in unit PH 12 (VRBO # 134630) which is an 8th floor corner unit. The view was spectacular with sliding doors on both the front and side. The beach, while narrow, is peaceful, and uncrowded – some days just us! As previous reviewers of this unit have mentioned the unit was upgraded probably within the last several years. It appears well cared for. It is a one BR with a king bed and one bath.
Most of the reviews we read on this unit concentrated on all its good features. However there are a few issues you may want to be aware of.
• The bath is located off a small hall that leads to the BR. In this hall are a stackable washer /dryer and a one sink small vanity. The room housing the toilet and shower tub combination is VERY tight. The door to this room opens in, exacerbating the tightness. There are no holding rails in the shower/tub. The light switch for the hall vanity is the same for the light for this room which can be annoying if you need to use the room during the night. The exhaust fan runs 24/7.
• The owner has used three drawers in the BR and half the closet for “unit” related storage which reduces the amount of room a guest has available.
• There are ceiling fans in the living area and BR, which while very nice for providing air, are also not very friendly to a tall person!
• There is very limited place to hang wet towels or bathing suits. A few hooks are needed.
• The higher the floor the narrower the balcony, thus, the balcony is only about as wide as a walkway. There are a few straight back wooden chairs on it, as well as a very small table.
• The unit did have several beach chairs in good condition, a few coolers, 4 beach towels, a beach bag and some snorkeling equipment available for use. All beach umbrellas were broken beyond use when we arrived.
• The remote for the TV needs help! You could not arrow down channels and often it refused to acknowledge/accept you had entered a channel. Having to arrow up from channel 8 to 100 something, for example, was a pain.
• For the most part the unit was clean, while not spotless. Some of the linens were showing some age, including a beach towel with paint spots on it. The bed had dark colored patterned sheets -a lighter color would have provided more assurance they were clean and unstained, especially after finding a previous guest’s nightwear in a drawer!
We found the unit met our needs for the most part. It is a beach property that gets a lot of use.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the ocean but since they are individually owned quality will vary. North en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our family stayed in unit #416, corner unit with wrap around lanai on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean. Absolutely perfect!! We cannot say enough about the accomodations and the area. The calm, clear reefed waters of the ocean just steps in front of the property and mighty, plush green mountains behinds us. Breathtaking! Watched the sun rise every morning, coffee and camera in hand, from the chairs on the lanai. Such a daily treat. Rented from Kathy, who was a joy to deal with. Very friendly, professional and helpful. (Thank you Kathy for sharing your beautiful home with us!) She gave us info on eateries and activities in the area. The town is in what our family considers the "real Hawai'i". Sleepy, plush with greenery, random bicycle rider here and there on Kamehameha Hwy, which doesn't go faster then 45 mph. Far enough away from the concrete and city of Waikiki and Honolulu to feel hidden in the beauty of the island, yet not too far that you can't jump in your car and drive down in aprrox 40 minutes. We had a designated parking space, never worried about parking. Elevators and stairs available. Bbqs available outside. The building itself in an older building, yet very well kept and apropos to the area. Kathy's unit #416 is updated, even with full modern kitchen w/dishwasher and washer/dryer, stocked with everything you could need...pots, pans, rice cooker, toaster, coffee maker, etc. Being the corner unit, it has large sliders on both sides of the lanai, making a wonderful constant breeze through the entire unit. We slept with them open and enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean, which you could hear even in the bedroom. Outdoor activity items stocked too, including boogie board, snorkel gear, beach towels and beach chairs. And if there is something you need, there is a market within 5 minutes walking distance. Not to mention a shrimp truck, shaved ice and sandwich shop there, too. There is a grocery store less then 10 minutes drive up the highway. Giovanni's shrimp truck, bbq truck and grilled corn stand up the road, as well. About a 15 minute drive South to Kualoa Ranch, where we rode ATVs, horses and more. 30 minute drive North to Wale'iwa Town and Waimea Falls and less then 10 minute drive to the Polynesian Cultural Center. We had an absolutely awesome 9 day stay here and we will definitely return to this beautiful gem!
Mahalo Punalu'u for the beautiful family memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsCherisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The property is in a nice area. The local restaurants are good and nearby. The beach is good and the beach is good as well. The room I stayed in was advertised as ocean-view, not even close unless you stand on a chair on the balcony. The air-conditioning works very hard to keep it in the upper 70's in your room, which is disappointing. The random cockroach enjoys your place. The cleaning lady was quite aware of it when we told her about it when we left. All in all I would not stay there again even if it was half the price I paid for the week. Its not about the random dirtiness, its the truthfulness of the advertisement and the lack of care for the room your in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgilbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The accomodation was great and location fabulious. It is a older concrete constucted condominium complex on the water. We stayed 7 nights at the Sunset from Heidi Hawaii. It was a completely different experience from a stay in the city, about one hours drive north east of the airport in the county of Punaluu. The beach was great and the food trucks and restaurants in the area were fantastic. Papa ole, Shrimp Shack... yummy. Overall a great way to get away from it all and mingle among the locals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank in2tiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good place to stay. Clean. Made for a good rest and the beach is great. The bedroom is a bit dreary and no view of the ocean. It also gets pretty hot in the bed room as it is not near the living room and deck. The bed room ceiling fan also doesn't have a pull cord to adjust the fan speed so this adds to the hot room. Over all a good place to stay but I think our kids had a better experience in the living room sleeping by the ocean waves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5WaysfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

All though the building is quite old, very well maintained. The suite we stayed in on floor #5 had new appliances with 2 door fridge, ceramic stove top, oven, and microwave. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was huge! Separate bedroom with king bed, tv, and windows that opened. If you're a light sleeper the highway noise is noticeable & does go all night. Intrigued me as the where the people were travelling to all night long!! The ocean is just feet from your lanai. The grounds are kept immaculately! A vehicle is handy but sure you could manage with public transportation as there's a bus stop across the street. You're about an hour from Honolulu, minutes from huge waves of Sunset Beach, close to Waimea Falls, and many food trucks very close by. In fact, there's an excellent Thai truck across from condo. The food trucks offer great food choices at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front; we stayed in 510. Dealing with owner was very easy!! Lots of info given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackocalgary_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaluu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Property: Pat's at Punalu'u
Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Punaluu
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing