We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
52
41
23
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
41
23
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorewasher and dryerroad noisethe polynesian cultural centerhighly recommend this unitkey fobclean unitprivate beachbbq areasnorkel gearboogie boardshonolulu areagranite countertopsking size bednight lifelounge chairsfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 142 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family of five recently stayed in a corner unit on the 4th floor. The condo was small, but comfortable. We loved the view from the wrap around lanai! The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. The living room was comfortable, with a large TV including cable and, much to our delight, Netflix! The sofa was a sleeper sofa, and two of our group slept on that. It was not in the best of shape and rather uncomfortable; it could use replacing. We were able to get a rollaway bed for our teenage daughter. It was also not the most comfortable, but it worked. The bedroom has a large king size bed. That bed was extremely comfortable. However, the bedroom was hot and humid. The ceiling fan was broken, so the owner provider a small standup fan. It helped, but the bedroom does not get the wonderful ocean breezes that the living room had. So, it was a tradeoff - comfortable bed or nice cool air. The bedroom also faces the street, so there was a lot of traffic noise, particularly from the bus stop across the street. The biggest problem for our family of 5 was that the bathroom was extremely small. There was barely enough room for one person to turn around in there. It had a toilet and a shower. The sink was in the hall outside the bathroom, and all this was right outside the door of the bedroom. It made for some tight manuevering amongst our family. The beach is literally steps from the building. It was beautiful and mostly empty. There is a reef offshore, so the water was really calm; it felt safe. But we were there in the summer when the waves are not big on the North Shore. The pool on the premises was nice too. The parking was puzzling. Our parking space was about as far away from the condo as you could get. It seems that the spaces were not assigned in any relation to where the condo was located in the building. Oh well. We had a lovely experience and would probably stay here again, in spite of the small bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful clean all the comforts of home! Beautiful view washer dryer in condo dishwasher king size bed all beach stuff designated parking spot pool beach. Location is perfect. Quiet and private beach wow nothing bad to say at all. Eat at shrimp trucks along the way North shore tacos reasonably priced and fresh excellent food. Stayed in Pauls vacation rentals 612.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamanthaW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are CURRENTLY staying in a Penthouse Condo here at Pat's at Punaluu, Hawaii. We are on the 8th floor corner unit. Punaluu is located on the Windward side or east side of Oahu. About 40 minutes from Waikiki Beach and certainly out of the major traffic or tourists and mass people. Pats at Punaluu is a peaceful, yet a desirable place to stay. We are here for a full month. The views from the condo building/complex is spectacular. The beach is pristine, with very little people on the beach at any one time. There is a large corral reef that serves as a breakwater for the ocean, so large waves are not here. The breezes that flow though the condo are excellent, thus no air-conditioning is needed. The grounds are very well kept. The pool area is never crowded at all, and looks very nice. Keep in mind the building is 40 years old, and each condo is independently owned, so once you open the door to the unit it may be a surprise. Our surprise was awesome, a beautiful completely modern remodeled unit. The building has lock boxes upon arrival to find keys, and each condo has a designated parking stall. Elevators are good and easy to use, and entry is by electronic key, so if you don’t have a key, the elevators won't work. The condo building is conveniently located to shopping, major highways and the road to Punaluu Route 83 is a coastal drive from the island south to the north. Easy access from the airport via Likelike Highway 63 to Coastal road Route 83. If your a causal tourist and looking to relax, without the mass amount of traffic and people this is a good choice. We have been here for 7 days and still have another 23 days to go, and no disappointments. The condos have cooking facilities, and Costco or Walmart is not that far away for extended stay shopping for groceries. Local supermarkets are expensive, be prepared. Gas for rental cars is currently $4.31 per gallon around the island. Be prepared for that. Punaluu is a short 2 to 30 minute drive from some of the finest beaches on the North Shore of the Island. There are so many beach areas to choose from within 20 miles of the condos. Most have bathroom facilities. Pats at Punaluu is a great place to stay. My only caveat is to do your research on the condo rental. Some condo's rent for $1500 per month, while others are priced at $3300 per month. Some priced at daily rates of $155.00 per night, and most owners will cut the daily rental rate for an extended stay. You get what you pay for. We opted for the more expensive modern fully remodeled penthouse condo unit. A few photos are attached. The building is total self-service, no maid service, no desk clerks, no room service. There is a guard on duty in parking lot at night.. it's like apartment living. Be prepared for that. There are lots of small restaurants and plenty of road side fruit stands and food trucks along the coastal Route 83 north to the North Shore area. Golf courses are close and plenty of beaches to choose from that are never crowded. Bedrooms are facing the main road, so it can get noisy at night, but you get used to it quickly. Big thing about these rentals, some units are not in good shape, while other owners have remodeled the condo unit to bring it up to current modern standards. You get what you pay for here. Great location, and one of only 2 ….6 to 9 story buildings on the east side of the island north of the H3 to the North Shore. It’s prime location. We are a retired couple ages 61 and 63 respectively. Did include any inside photos of the unit, but you can find rental information on the VRBO website, where we found our 1 bedroom Penthouse unit. It's been great, and after 30 days, I am sure we will NOT want to leave.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the condo you plan to rent with photos and lots of questions to the owner. I think that this is the most important aspect to what you are renting. It's apartment style living here at Pat's, but so peaceful and quiet. Spectacular views from all units. Suggest 3rd floor or higher.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank formularacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in unit 605. the place was as advertised. I saw plenty of pictures and knew what I was getting. they call it a 1 bedroom, but it is really a bed tucked into an alcove. We were not looking for luxury we were looking for something to get us on the north shore away from the commercialism of Honlulu and Wakiki. It was clean, the unit was well appropriated, had a wonderful view of the ocean, right on the beach. It was myself and my son, I slept in the bed and although it was a bit warm, it had a ceiling fan and was quite comfortable without covers. My son slept on the pull out couch and said it was comfortable (did not look it to me but he like it).

We cooked breakfast in and packed lunch for most days. thanks to the owners (each unit is separately owned) they had a cooler and automatic ice maker so we could easily take everything with us. Saved a bunch on food.

We only spent a little time on the beach at the unit. We wanted to go snorkling where we knew there were fish. My son did hours of research and I used Oahu revealed that helped out a lot to know where to go.

We had the best vacation and would definitely visit again.

My advise to all who have posted negatives, and who are looking at this location, do your research, get pictures so you know what you are getting.

Also, there was no smell and nothing going on that ruined anything about our vacation.

Room Tip: Do your homework. These are condo units owned by different families. I got what I expected and was very pleased. You can't find anything for the price of this quality near Wakiki. Also note, the majority of rentals on any Hawaiian island do not have any AIR CONDITIONING so don't expect it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrd24gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in unit 214 and really couldn't have been happier with our stay at Pat's. Our condo had a wonderful view of the ocean and our patio was deep enough to enjoy it without being blown away by the evening breeze. The kitchen was well-equipped and there was plenty of room for everyone to help with dinner after a busy day of sight-seeing. The drive didn't really bother us as this stretch of highway is super gorgeous!! We're a family of four and felt comfortable with the amount of space and amenities provided. My kids loved the pool, the beach out front of our building was very nice (we nearly had it to ourselves!), and Lisa made herself very available if we should need her. Also loved knowing that there was a friendly security guard patroling the premises at night. Would highly recommend staying here to families with kids and for those of us who just can't stomach staying in the city or in a big resort!

Room Tip: Hint: Unit 214 is directly above the pool. Great if you want to keep an eye on your own kids who are spending time there, but not so great if you mind hearing other people's kids squeals as they play! The pool's hours are limited - 10am-8pm - and are strictly enforced.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerwannabe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews