We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,789)
Filter reviews
3,789 results
Traveler rating
1,291
1,583
651
168
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,291
1,583
651
168
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room themed restaurant extra toilet main restaurant toilet and sink banana plantation italian night free bus large balcony pool area evening entertainment self service las americas c block sea view man made beach lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 3,789 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2018

This is a great hotel, let down by the location. Although there is a courtesy bus, it is not owned by the hotel and is far too infrequent.
The wine on offer for all inclusive is very good, as are all the drinks including the many cocktails.
All hot beverages come from strategically placed machines and are available 24/7. I would advise taking your own MUG.
The restaurants are good, well managed and with good food selections.
This Hotel has more Guests than pool spaces. You need to get to the pool before 7.30am to place your towel if you want a bed for the day, but only if you intend using it!!
The early evening entertainment starts at 8.30pm and was very good, much better than the SHOWTIME entertainment which starts at 9.30pm. However, as with the pool spaces, The Terrace Bar where this is held, has far too few tables and chairs.
One solution would be to rearrange the area so that the evening entertainment could be in the main bar and the Terrace becomes part of the Pool space?
There is plenty of space in the Reception area to introduce a Piano Bar. This also would be an improvement.
Also the floor area around the pool is starting to crack up and bits of concrete are waiting to injure your feet.
Room Tip, choose 'pool view block C', especially if you like late afternoon sun on your balcony. Take a jug for collecting wine to take to your room, as wine, although plentiful, comes from a tap.
I hope this helps.

Room tip: C Block, Pool View for afternoon Sun
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quizereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

I have recently returned from a week staying at Riu Buena Vista with family to celebrate my husband and my 60th birthdays. What a lovely hotel. Staff, rooms and food were excellent. Evening entertainment was okay but with a family of 13 we made our own entertainment. Very well catered for, Great value for money. Will certainly return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank soniah53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

The location of the hotel is excellent. the rooms are large, clean and the balconies are a bonus! The staff are helpful, friendly and well presented
On the other hand, the food was poor; the menu is very limited: some of the chefs slopped out the food onto serving platters which was not only unappealing, but unprofessional.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Riu Buena Vista for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us and our TripAdvisor community.

While we appreciate learning of the positive highlights from your visit like our location, your guestroom and our friendly staff, we are very disappointed to learn that we were not able to meet your taste with our passionately prepared gastronomy.

We can assure you that we strive to improve our service daily in order to offer all our guests in house and future guests a pleasant stay. Certainly, we will share your opinion to our restaurant manager.

Perhaps you would like to choose for your next vacation, one of our other hotels from RIU´s portfolio in Tenerife or neighboring Canary Islands, among which are completely newly renovated hotels. On our official RIU website you can find accurate details on our hotels, rooms and services. Of course, our RIU call center for Ireland is at your disposal and can assist you in choosing accommodation that will meet your needs for an ideal vacation, with help and advice.

It is our most sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our worldwide available hotels in the future, so that we can provide a more satisfactory experience.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Buena Vista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 3 currently staying in this hotel. The hotel delivers everything it says and is one of the best overall hotels we have stayed in for this price range.
BUT there is a serious issue with communal areas, there is just not enough space for the number of guests.
Attached are photos (not great as it is still dark at this time!) from this morning at 6.30am. By 7.30 you will not get a sunbed. And by 7am you will only get a sunbed that is in the sun from midday. You will have seen other reviews referring to this, the hotel has more sun beds, these get put out along path ways close to the pool! There is a lovely grass area by the snack bar and sea that would be much better for beds and would be a quiet relaxing area. There is also a roof tearfce with beds located away from the pool but it is not a nice space to sit. Also there is no quiet pool, both pools are really attached, balls and floats are allowed in both even though the signs say they are not. There closeness also means you hear the music at both pools. Not so issue for us but if you want peace and quiet it will not deliver this.
In the evening it is much the same, there are not enough tables outside on the terrace.

One final point the description of the al la carte restaurant is wrong by TUI it is themed buffet restaurant. But you can go as many nights as you like and the food is good.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank Compass22109554554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear Compass22109554554,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall experience, and even more as you said ours was one of the best overall hotels you stayed in for its price range. We feel honored!

First of all, we would like thank you for the positive feedback that you wrote in your review, such as our honesty regarding previous advertisement and our good gastronomic offer.

Second of all, we regret that due to the high occupancy your comfort might have been bothered at some point and would like to apologize if this made your stay less relaxing. Be sure we will forward your suggestions to our Management team for a proper follow up and to take actions in the future if needed.

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the near future to bring you another great memory to look back at!

Greetings!

Hotel Riu Buena Vista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is fine if you want to sunbathe for a week or swim. We had a lazy week enjoying good selection of food and drinks. Bedroom was ok not massive. No view apart from another hotel. Room was clean. Usual thing people up early to put towels on loungers which I don't agree with. Either your there or your not.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews