We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best kept secret in the Brecon Beacons”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Boingjimg...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stop trawling through dog friendly ,self catering reviews! This is the best kept secret hide out in the Breacon Beacons. The cottage itself is a gem, plenty of wood for the wood burning fire, duck and hen eggs fresh from the farm or the one up the road,walks right from your door with breathtaking views and the wonderfully friendly laid back owner Hugh and his equally friendly chilled out dog Oscar. Every day we had a different walk with our collie dog who was surely in dog heaven !! Lovely hot and powerful shower, and very comfy beds. We could not fault it.On top of this,as this is an equestrian farm, you can say hello to all the beautiful liveried horses. We were lucky with the weather but even if it had been pouring with rain, the cottage is full of books and games. Highly recommended. Enjoy. We will be back next year.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage itself, its position, the owner and his dog Oscar
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rusticale...
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a hidden valley - pure bliss!”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having not been to the Brecon Beacons since I was young, I took what felt like a bit of a gamble when I booked Gilfach Barn at the last minute, for a short break with my wife and two children. I didn't know quite what the Beacons would be like, especially in August, and I couldn't tell for sure what Gilfach would be like or if it would suit us.

As it turned out, within minutes of arriving at Gilfach, we were all very taken with the place. Hugh, the owner, greeted us warmly, and throughout the duration of the stay was always on hand if we needed anything or had any questions to ask. He is a perfect gentleman and is very kind. Hugh's dog, Oscar, is absolutely wonderful, and a huge added attraction for children, since he really is the perfect family dog. My children couldn't wait to get back to the cottage at the end of each day to see him and play with him!

The cottage itself is clean and very well equipped. It is also very homely and comfortable. The fire is a big bonus, and we enjoyed it every evening, in spite of it being August! There are plenty of books, maps, DVDs and board games too. Sitting outside on one evening, with the BBQ going, was simply a wonderful experience, since the calm of the place just absorbs into your soul. Also, the walk up to the top of the hill is well worth doing, as the view from the top is beautiful.

The location of Gilfach is very good for the Beacons, sitting in a very tranquil valley just outside the village of Sennybridge. Within half an hour one can drive to any number of different spots to start a walk. Sennybridge has a couple of shops from which to buy groceries, or Brecon is about 15 minutes drive away, where there is a Morrisons.

All in all I am very happy to recommend Gilfach Barn for either a couple or a family, or perhaps 2 or 3 friends, as a wonderful place to get away from it all. If you want tranquility, this is where you'll find it, with kind Hugh and the lovely Oscar thrown into the bargain too!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, the home comforts, the fire, Oscar the dog, and Hugh.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yaxtcolu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing