We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Sennybridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Cannot fault this place whatsoever. Nothing was too much trouble. For £65 per couple per night b/fast included cannot go wrong. You want fresh homemade bread - no problem, you want a Welsh favourite (BaraBrith) made the day before for you - no problem. The reviewer who gave this 1 star - NUTS ! Compare this with a run of the mill Premier Inn and the Inn would lose Big Time.
Everything in the room for you - dressing gown, hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, chilled water machine, bubble bath, soap dispensers, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, enough bed linen and pillows for an army, you name it's there !
4 poster bed with 42" tv on wall - try getting that elsewhere for this price. Whichever idiot voted this 1 star "Rynlyn" obviously must stay in the Ritz on a regular basis.

Definitely coming back here again, superb and Thank -You Very Much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 444CJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
73
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely stay very good hosts. Room 2 was very very nice. We went as a couple enjoyed very much. I just have to comment on the last review. . I don't know what your on about we stayed there and our needs were more that fulfilled. We had a choice of white and Brown bread which is all you need so I don't know y they said that. Any way Thankyou very much and we will def b revisiting if possible

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdarker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Although on the surface seemed a nice place, it lacked the professional feel. Room advertised as having fridge, tv and DVD player as part of the amenities in the room, only item was tv. All crockery was dirty so had to clean before using. HDTV no choice of bread for breakfast. So if you didn't like granary bread or happened to be allergic then it was tough. Glasses, cutlery on breakfast table were dirty, pot of strawberry jam had a layer of mould on the top of it and small caramelised biscuits were 3 months out of date. So all in all would not recommend this place and will most definitely not be going back. Certainly doesn't live up to its 4 star rating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thanks so much! Loved the room, first time I have ever slept in a four poster bed (not even in hotel!!!) - I want you to come decorate my house :0) - and loved the fact you had essentials in the bathroom for your guests - if I had of known would have halved my luggage :0)

You are a fab couple who made my husband and I feel so welcome and the breakfast was delicious - Definitely would love to come back and have already recommended to our friends.

Such good value for money - thank you so much again :0)

Nuala and Colin
P.S we went on the chair lift in the IOW and yes you weren't kidding very scary :0)

Room Tip: Great rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Marilyn and I stayed two night 17/18 July it is a superb location for exploring south wales. Lyndon and Mandy were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel part of the family. The rooms are spotless and there is everything that you would need in the room to just turn up in just the clothes you are wearing. Breakfast is fantastic, you can play pool or darts or just relax in the beautiful lounge. It really is a first class establishment that just feels like home. And to top it off Lyndon is a Wolves fan need I say more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wow i do not not know where to start.....firstly i will say how welcome we were made to feel by such a friendly, accommodating couple, after spending 5 nights in central London this was just heaven! Our room was so beautiful with a lovely 4 poster bed and all the extras you would not find anywhere else....we could not want for anything even if we tried. Tastefully decorated, warm and inviting the effort that has been put into this place is quite heartwarming! I have to say there is nothing "average" about this place and anyone who says so must be blind or just unappreciative! Breakfast was also just lovely we even got to try black pudding!Thank you for a great stay!! Highly reccommend this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is like the Ritz of the b&b world without having to pay the the cost. You will want for nothing at Castle Lodge. Owners so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. They have thought of everything that you are ever likely to need away from home. Even down to 4 different types of sweeteners for your morning cuppa. This was our second time there, and will keep going back there for our trips to the Brecons. 11 out of 10. Perfect stay. Thanks very much. Can't recommend it highly enough. Tim & Trudie

Room Tip: Only two rooms, but have now stayed in both. Both excellent. Love the four posters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennybridge
10.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
7.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Usk & Railway Inn
Usk & Railway Inn
#1 of 3 in Sennybridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge B&B

Property: Castle Lodge B&B
Address: Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Sennybridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sennybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Castle Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing