We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Usk & Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Usk & Railway Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sennybridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hosts were lovely & the locals friendly. The room was immaculate & the bed was the most comfortable we'd found on our trip. Breakfast was good. Would definately stay there again if in that part of Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSG_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Usk & Railway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here on business. Lovely welcome from the Owners. Meals were generous and tasty, local food, and it was no trouble when I wanted a change from the given Menu. The food prices do not appear hiked up for the visitor either which is good. The bedrooms are really comfortable and it is clear that the guest has been fully considered in this regard. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the booking to the actual stay, a lovely immaculate conversion has been carried out, giving excellent accommodation, and so helpful owners - nothing too much trouble, and a top class breakfast.
Obviously a very good and popular establishment with the friendly locals making us welcome. A definate one to remember and book again - Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRSPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for one night last weekend and was well chuffed.

Friendly staff, great food and a fantastic room with a comfy bed.

The fact that there were so many locals enjoying themselves made it clear to me that this is a well run establishment.

I stayed in room 1 which had a king size bed which was warm and cozy. The room Its self looked as if it had just been recently refurbished and was very clean and tidy as was the rest of the building.

The location is good for getting out and about to see the Brecon beacons.

Great value for money, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinness100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of friends, and found it to be very good, food was excellent, rooms were very good,spacious and clean with a very modern feel as was the ensuite, packed lunches were provided in leiu of breakfast as we were away at 5 am , there was a misunderstanding over our booking, and the landlady was very accomodating and put the customer first,

We would definatly stay here again,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great location. The interiors of the room were as immaculate as the outside.
Nice powerful Shower, telly, etc. Couple of bottles of Bottled water were kept each day of our stay.
They have a pub on the ground floor which is open till late(11PM) so very late check-in is possible which was a must for us as we were traveling from London after work.
We stayed in room 2 and it had great views of the mountain.

Room Tip: Room 2 definitely has very good views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaksFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Went to motorcycle trip to Wales on spring. While in Brecon Beacons area after the sunset, searched what's nearby and based on good reviews decided to try Usk & Railway. They had a room available, so checked in and spend a good evening in the pub, had a good night sleep in a spotless, large, modern, luxurious room and in the morning had an awesome, huge English breakfast to start a day. Expect to pay slightly more compared to cheapest B&B options, but its still very reasonable and makes a good deal. Friendly owners really have got it right and deserve their positive feedback, so I will join the choir of appraisals here and happily recommend Usk & Railway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennybridge
7.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
10.3 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Castle Lodge B&B
Castle Lodge B&B
#2 of 3 in Sennybridge
129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#15 of 43 in Brecon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Usk & Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usk & Railway Inn

Address: High Street, Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8RS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Sennybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sennybridge
Price Range: $100 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned at the centre of Sennybridge Village, within the beautiful Brecon Beacons National Park, the fully refurbished Usk & Railway Inn is the ideal base for all there is to do and see. Whether you are on holiday, working, cycling, walking or just hanging out, we have rooms, good food, drink or just a coffee. We have free Wifi available, so you can even surf!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Usk & Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing