We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shore Gate House B&B
Nearby Hotels
The Corner House Hotel(Annan)(Great Value!)
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$61
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
$89
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
$70
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
168
23
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolway firthwall walkperfect endstayed herebreakfast was deliciousgreat hostsnearby pubreceived a very warm welcomelovely roomtop floornice sizehadrian's cyclewaystart endkings armsgreat showerexcellent accommodationshower room
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 191 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here on our final night of walking Hadrians Wall - and were very warmly welcomed by Theresa upon our arrival. The room was warm and comfortable and had a nice view of the beach/sea. The bathroom shower was a little temperamental but we eventually figured it out!

Would recommend this B&B to anyone ending or starting the Hadrians Wall walk... Or just staying in Bowness!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank The_jagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A nap on the bed with the window open listening to the waves—exactly what we needed. The owners were friendly and accommodating, everything was clean and great. A great little inn. Best end to a hike ever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Theresa and Alan could not be more friendly. The welcome very warm, and the breakfast great! There B&B is delightfully situated and if you want to overlook the Solway and like cats you will be in seventh heaven. The Room I stayed in was very clean, modern and functional and, for a very cold night in March, fairly warm. The compactness of the ensuite was slightly challenging with very narrow spacesaver basin and rather tight toilet but it was immaculate with very nice modern shower. The lack of heating in the bathroom, single glazing and condensation, although apparent in very cold weather would be of absolutely no consequence in the main visitor season. The house has a lovely character as has the nearby Kings Arms with its welcoming landlord, log fire and excellent food. Theresa recommended that I ring them in advance in order to book a meal which was really helpful.
For couples wanting to stay in this delightful old village right on the shore of the Solway I am sure this place is ideal. For the single traveller, however, the 2014 single occupancy bed & breakfast rate of £58 does not in my opinion equate to the standard of accommodation and is possibly designed to deter singles in preference to the couples bookings which they obviously prefer.
Theresa and Alan are a delightful couple, and I fully understand that if you can fill with couples why not.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Roj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Theresa and Alan were fantastic, friendly hosts. Breakfasts were epic! Room was great with stunning views across the Solway Firth in beautiful pink morning light. As it was out of season the Kings Arms weren't serving food, but Theresa very kindly arranged for them to provide me with evening meal anyway!

Room Tip: As mentioned by others North-facing rooms have amazing views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D4vidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My daughter and I could not have wished for a better finish to an exhausting holiday walking Hadrian's Wall. Theresa and Alan made us feel so welcome and it was almost like being part of the family. Room was immaculate and breakfast superb. We also very much enjoyed the atmosphere at the local pub, The King's Arms, where once again the atmosphere was so welcoming. All in all, a lovely community.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from north-facing rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews